Let Communities Lead – A global advocacy initiative for community energy transitions

Bolivien Marcelino Guedes
Bolivien Davi Francois
Bolivien Davi Francois

Community-based and inclusive renewable energy systems in underserved and marginalized communities are advancing rapidly around the world. The global initiative “Let communities lead” is an advocacy effort for increased empowerment, local ownership, and self-governance capacities. The initiative is launched by the Center for Energy and Society of the Arizona State University (ASU) and the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

Locally planned, clean energy investments in communities are long-term investments in food security, socioeconomic opportunities, health and shelter, climate adaptation, community resilience, security and human rights, democracy, and much more. This can be achieved by empowering communities to take the lead in planning their energy futures.

Therefore, the initiative calls on the global leadership gathering at COP26 to enable substantive progress on community energy transitions.

Collection of best practices from all over the world

The “Let communities lead” initiative will collect stories from the ground in order to create a repository of best practices and design principles of community energy systems. The stories will narrate challenges and barriers communities have faced and overcome in the process of generating social and economic as well as ecological benefits according to multiple Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Stories are welcome from all regions/countries and from individuals or entities with direct knowledge of community-based energy projects.

Worldwide action network

The global coalitions formed through this initiative will be the launching pad for a funding proposal to create a worldwide action network for sustainable community futures. We want to facilitate knowledge sharing, rapid exchange of expertise and skills, and the potential for formulating and deploying community energy projects at a global scale.

We will provide information through:

  • a web page as a continually updated database of stories from practice,
  • a short report with stories, distilled key lessons and insights for strategic actions,
  • a virtual launch event to catalyze the conversation to coincide with the COP26 meeting.

If you are interested to know more or to participate in this initiative, please get in contact with Saurabh Biswas (sbiswa18∂asu.edu) and Davi Ezequiel François (davi.francois∂kit.edu).

Let Communities Lead – Eine globale Advocacy-Initiative für die kommunale Energiewende

Bolivien Marcelino Guedes
Bolivien Davi Francois
Bolivien Davi Francois

Kommunale und inklusive erneuerbare Energiesysteme in unterversorgten und marginalisierten Gemeinden sind weltweit auf dem Vormarsch. Die globale Initiative „Let communities lead“ engagiert sich für mehr Empowerment, lokale Eigenverantwortung und Selbstverwaltungskapazitäten. Die Initiative wird vom Center for Energy and Society der Arizona State University (ASU) und dem Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) gestartet.

Lokal geplante, saubere Energieinvestitionen in Gemeinden sind langfristige Investitionen in Ernährungssicherheit, sozioökonomische Chancen, Gesundheit und Schutz, Klimaanpassung, Resilienz von Gemeinden, Sicherheit und Menschenrechte, Demokratie und vieles mehr. Dies lässt sich erreichen, indem Gemeinden in die Lage versetzt werden, die Führung bei der Planung ihrer Energiezukunft zu übernehmen.

Daher ruft die Initiative die globale Führungsriege auf der COP26 dazu auf, substanzielle Fortschritte bei der kommunalen Energiewende zu ermöglichen.

Sammlung von Best Practices aus aller Welt

Die Initiative „Let communities lead“ wird Geschichten aus der Praxis zusammentragen, um eine Sammlung von Best Practices und Gestaltungsprinzipien kommunaler Energiesysteme zu erstellen. Die Geschichten werden die Herausforderungen und Hindernisse aufzeigen, die Gemeinden überwinden mussten, um soziale und wirtschaftliche sowie ökologische Vorteile im Sinne der Nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele (SDGs) zu erzielen.

Willkommen sind Geschichten aus allen Regionen/Ländern und von Einzelpersonen oder Einrichtungen, die direkte Kenntnisse über kommunale Energieprojekte haben.

Weltweites Aktionsnetzwerk

Die globalen Koalitionen, die durch diese Initiative entstehen, werden die zur Erarbeitung eines Finanzierungsvorschlags bilden, um ein weltweites Aktionsnetzwerk für eine nachhaltige kommunale Zukunft zu schaffen. Wir wollen die gemeinsame Nutzung von Wissen, den schnellen Austausch von Expertise und Fähigkeiten sowie das Potenzial für die Entwicklung und Umsetzung kommunaler Energieprojekte auf globaler Ebene erleichtern.

Informationen werden wir über folgende Formate anbieten:

  • Webseite in Form einer ständig aktualisierten Datenbank mit Geschichten aus der Praxis,
  • Kurzbericht mit Geschichten, wesentlichen Erkenntnissen und Einsichten für strategische Maßnahmen,
  • virtuelle Auftaktveranstaltung, um die Diskussion zeitgleich mit dem COP26-Treffen zu starten.

Wenn Sie an weiteren Informationen interessiert sind oder an der Initiative teilnehmen möchten, wenden Sie sich bitte an Saurabh Biswas (sbiswa18∂asu.edu) und Davi Ezequiel François (davi.francois∂kit.edu).