Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Citizen science: Pilot project on type 1 diabetes launched at ITAS

Self-developed systems promise a better quality of life for type 1 diabetics. In a pilot project of the Helmholtz Association, researchers support those affected in evaluating their technology themselves.
do-it-yourself system for automatic regulation of blood glucose levels
Components of a do-it-yourself system for automatic regulation of blood glucose levels. (Photo: Silvia Woll)

Type 1 diabetes as a chronic condition is associated with constant self-monitoring and the risk of hyper- and hypoglycemia. It is difficult for those affected to cope with potentially severe acute and long-term health consequences, even with the help of modern technological systems.

An alternative are so-called artificial pancreas systems or (hybrid) closed-loop systems. A group of affected individuals and their relatives have come together to make self-developed technologies for automated insulin delivery freely available, since these are far more efficient than the commercial versions.

Involving those affected in research

The citizen science project “Impacts of technical systems on the personal quality of life of people with type 1 diabetes”, in short “TeQfor1,” aims to involve citizens with type 1 diabetes in scientific research. Over the next two years, TeQfor1 will provide users of these DIY technologies with an approach to enable a scientifically sound evaluation of their systems according to their own criteria. The background is that so far there are hardly any scientific studies on their effectiveness (e.g., improvement of blood glucose levels and quality of life).

One of the specific tasks of ITAS is to enable citizen scientists to share and discuss their own criteria for quality of life. The participants can access the expertise of the project team at any time and obtain advice on emerging methodological and other questions relating to the evaluation of the technologies.

Project partners in the pilot project funded by the Helmholtz Association are the Institute for Diabetes Research and Metabolic Diseases (IDM) at Helmholtz Zentrum München and the GECKO Institute for Medicine, Informatics and Economics at Heilbronn University. ITAS coordinates the scientific and technical work within the project. (22.10.2019)

Further links and information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Citizen Science: Pilotprojekt zu Typ-1-Diabetes

Selbstentwickelte Systeme versprechen eine bessere Lebensqualität für Menschen mit Typ-1-Diabetes. In einem Pilotprojekt der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft unterstützen Forschende die Betroffenen dabei, ihre Technologie selbst zu bewerten.
Do it yourself-System zur automatischen Regulierung des Blutzuckerspiegels
Bestandteile eines Do it yourself-Systems zur automatischen Regulierung des Blutzuckerspiegels. (Foto: Silvia Woll)

Typ-1-Diabetes geht als chronischer Zustand mit ständiger Selbstkontrolle und gesundheitlich riskanten Über- und Unterzuckerungen einher. Die Betroffenen können die potenziell schweren akuten und langfristigen Schädigungen auch mithilfe moderner technologischer Systeme nur schwer in den Griff bekommen.

Eine Alternative sind so genannte künstliche Bauchspeicheldrüsen-Systeme (englisch: (hybrid) closed-loop systems). Eine Gruppe von Betroffenen und ihren Angehörigen hat sich zusammengefunden, um selbstentwickelte Technologien zur automatisierten Insulinabgabe frei zur Verfügung zu stellen, da diese weit effizienter sind als die kommerziell angebotenen Versionen.

Betroffene in Forschung einbeziehen

Das Citizen-Science-Projekt „TeQfor1 – Auswirkungen technischer Systeme auf die eigene Lebensqualität von Menschen mit Typ-1-Diabetes“, kurz „TeQfor1“, will nun betroffene Bürgerinnen und Bürger in die wissenschaftliche Forschung einbinden. In den kommenden beiden Jahren stellt TeQfor1 Nutzenden dieser DIY-Technologien einen Ansatz zur Verfügung, um eine wissenschaftlich fundierte Bewertung ihrer Systeme nach ihren eigenen Kriterien zu ermöglichen. Hintergrund hierfür ist, dass es bislang kaum wissenschaftliche Studien gibt, die deren Wirksamkeit (z.B. Verbesserung von Blutglukosewerten sowie Lebensqualität) untersuchen.

Zu den Aufgaben des ITAS gehört es, die Bürgerwissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler in die Lage zu versetzen, sich über ihre eigenen Kriterien von Lebensqualität auszutauschen. Die Teilnehmenden können jederzeit auf die Expertise des Projektteams zugreifen und sich zu aufkommenden methodischen und anderen Fragen zur Beurteilung der Technologien beraten lassen.

Projektpartner in dem von der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft geförderten Pilotprojekt sind das Institut für Diabetesforschung und Metabolische Erkrankungen (IDM) des Helmholtz Zentrums München sowie das GECKO Institut für Medizin, Informatik und Ökonomie der Hochschule Heilbronn. Im Projektverbund koordiniert das ITAS die wissenschaftlichen und technischen Arbeiten. (22.10.2019)

Weiterführende Links oder Dokumente: