Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Land of Ideas: Big Data research receives award

The ABIDA project is one of the laureates of the nationwide "Landmarks in the Land of Ideas" competition 2016. The prize was awarded for the approach to assess the impacts of Big Data across disciplinary boundaries and together with citizens.
Land der Ideen-Logo
Source: Deutschland - Land der Ideen
ABIDA - Assessing Big Data-Team am ITAS
The ABIDA project team at ITAS (from left to right): Johannes Reiß, Laura Bittner, Reinhard Heil, Christina Merz, René König, Anika Hügle and Carsten Orwat. (Picture: ITAS)

The global data volume is growing and analysed by increasingly complex algorithms. What does this mean for each and every one of us? Researchers try to answer this question in the ABIDA – Assessing Big Data project which is co-ordinated by ITAS and the Institute for Information, Telecommunication, and Media Law at the University of Münster.

One characteristic of ABIDA is the exchange of knowledge between the specialist disciplines. Scientists from the fields of ethics, sociology, economics, law, and political sciences bring in their own disciplines’ findings on Big Data to evaluate the new technology together.

They also focus on the assessment of future developments and the preparation of options for action. ITAS contributes its long-term experience with technology assessment tools here. The concepts of monitoring, in-depth studies, expert workshops, and focus groups are applied, but also citizens are strongly involved. What do they know and think about Big Data and what are the concerns and possibilities they associate with the technology? Three citizen conferences and one public survey make them an active part of this project.

The project was now awarded a prize for this approach in the science category of the nationwide innovation contest "Landmarks in the Land of Ideas", in 2016 under the theme: "CommUnityInnovation – Acting in concert". "ABIDA highlights the opportunities and risks of Big Data from different perspectives. At the same time, ABIDA shows how citizens can be involved in scientific processes – and why this makes sense", explains the jury. (13.07.2016)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Land der Ideen: Big Data-Forschung ausgezeichnet

Das Projekt ABIDA ist Preisträger im bundesweiten Wettbewerb „Ausgezeichnete Orte im Land der Ideen“ 2016. Prämiert wurde der Ansatz, Auswirkungen von Big Data über Disziplingrenzen hinweg und gemeinsam mit Bürgerinnen und Bürgern zu untersuchen.
Land der Ideen-Logo
Quelle: Deutschland - Land der Ideen
ABIDA - Assessing Big Data-Team am ITAS
Das ABIDA-Projektteam am ITAS (von links nach rechts): Johannes Reiß, Laura Bittner, Reinhard Heil, Christina Merz, René König, Anika Hügle und Carsten Orwat. (Foto: ITAS)

Die globale Datenmenge wächst und wird von immer komplexeren Algorithmen ausgewertet. Was das für jeden einzelnen bedeutet? Dieser Frage gehen Forscherinnen und Forscher im Projekt ABIDA –Assessing Big Data nach, das das ITAS gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Informations-, Telekommunikations- und Medienrecht der Universität Münster koordiniert.

Charakteristisch für ABIDA ist der Wissensaustausch zwischen den Fachdisziplinen. So bringen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus den Bereichen Ethik, Soziologie, Ökonomie sowie der Rechts- und Politikwissenschaften ihre disziplinären Erkenntnisse zu Big Data ein, um gemeinsam die neue Technologie zu bewerten.

Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei auch die Abschätzung künftiger Entwicklungen und die Erarbeitung von Handlungsoptionen. Das ITAS bringt hier seine langjährige Erfahrung mit Instrumenten der Technikfolgenabschätzung ein. Zum Einsatz kommen Monitoring, Vertiefungsstudien, Expertenworkshops und Fokusgruppen aber auch die enge Einbindung von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern. Was denken und wissen sie über Big Data und welche Befürchtungen und Möglichkeiten verbinden sie mit der Technologie? Insgesamt drei Bürgerkonferenzen und eine Bevölkerungsumfrage machen Bürgerinnen und Bürger zum aktiven Teil des Projektes.

Für diesen Ansatz wurde das Projekt nun in der Kategorie Wissenschaft im bundesweiten Innovationswettbewerb „Ausgezeichneter Ort im Land der Ideen“ geehrt, der 2016 unter dem Jahresthema: „NachbarschafftInnovation – Gemeinschaft als Erfolgsmodell“ stattfindet. „ABIDA beleuchtet die Chancen und Risiken von Big Data aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven. ABIDA zeigt gleichzeitig, wie Bürger in wissenschaftliche Prozesse eingebunden werden können – und warum dies sinnvoll ist“, so die Begründung der Jury. (13.07.2016)

Weiterführende Links: