Institute for Technology Assessment and  Systems Analysis (ITAS)

Armin Grunwald appointed to the German Ethics Council

The head of ITAS will henceforth advise the Federal Government and the German Bundestag as a member of the renowned council of experts. With his work, he wants to contribute to the responsible shaping of scientific and technological progress.
Armin Grunwald in Ethikrat aufgenommen
New member of the Ethics Council: Armin Grunwald (Photo: S. Göttisheim/KIT)

Wolfgang Schäuble, President of the German Bundestag, appointed Armin Grunwald to the German Ethics Council. Following a proposal of the Federal Government, the philosopher of technology and expert in technology assessment is now one of the 26 members of the panel.

“Contributing to a just society”

“The German Ethics Council is of great significance and highly visible in many ongoing social debates. It is an honor for me to be asked to work with them,” explained Armin Grunwald upon his appointment. “In this position, I would like to commit myself in particular to a responsible shaping of scientific and technological progress and to ensuring that its results contribute to a just and solidarity-based society, in Germany but also worldwide.“

Duties of the German Ethics Council

Since 2008, the experts of the German Ethics Council have been advising the Federal Government and the German Bundestag on ethical, social, scientific, medical, and legal issues related to research and developments, in particular in the field of life sciences. Their duties also include the promotion of societal discourse on the different topics they work on.

Armin Grunwald will attend a plenary meeting of the Council for the first time on 25 February 2021. In a public hearing, the panel will address the social impacts of digitalization and the associated ethical questions regarding the relation between humans and machines. (18.02.2021)

Further information:

Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS)

Armin Grunwald in Deutschen Ethikrat aufgenommen

Der Leiter des ITAS berät künftig als Mitglied des renommierten Sachverständigenrats die Bundesregierung und den Deutschen Bundestag. Mit seiner Arbeit möchte er dort zur verantwortlichen Gestaltung des wissenschaftlich-technischen Fortschritts beitragen.
Armin Grunwald in Ethikrat aufgenommen
Neues Ethikrat-Mitglied: Armin Grunwald (Bild: S. Göttisheim / KIT)

Bundestagspräsident Wolfgang Schäuble hat Armin Grunwald in den Deutschen Ethikrat berufen. Auf Vorschlag der Bundesregierung ist der Technikphilosoph und Experte für Technikfolgenabschätzung ab sofort Teil des 26 Mitglieder umfassenden Gremiums.

„Beitrag zu gerechter Gesellschaft“

„Der Deutsche Ethikrat hat eine hohe Bedeutung und Sichtbarkeit in vielen laufenden gesellschaftlichen Debatten. Es ist für mich eine Ehre, dort mitarbeiten zu dürfen“, erklärte Armin Grunwald zu seiner Berufung. „Ich möchte mich in der Funktion vor allem dafür engagieren, dass der wissenschaftlich-technische Fortschritt verantwortlich gestaltet wird und dass seine Ergebnisse zu einer gerechten und solidarischen Gesellschaft beitragen, in Deutschland aber auch weltweit.“

Aufgaben des Deutschen Ethikrats

Der Deutsche Ethikrat berät seit 2008 als Sachverständigenrat die Bundesregierung und den Deutschen Bundestag zu ethischen, gesellschaftlichen, naturwissenschaftlichen, medizinischen und rechtlichen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Forschung und den Entwicklungen insbesondere auf dem Gebiet der Lebenswissenschaften. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehört auch die Förderung gesellschaftlicher Diskussion zu den jeweils bearbeiteten Themen.

Erstmals wird Armin Grunwald am 25. Februar 2021 an einer Sitzung teilnehmen. Das Gremium beschäftigt sich dann in einer öffentlichen Anhörung mit den gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung und den damit verbundenen ethischen Fragen des Verhältnisses von Mensch und Maschine. (18.02.2021)

Weitere Informationen: