Institute for Technology Assessment and  Systems Analysis (ITAS)

Study: Consequences of the corona pandemic

Which long-term consequences will the corona pandemic and the measures we are taking to counter it have for our society? In an ITAS project, experts on future issues were asked to evaluate 21 theses. The first interim results are now available.
„Gesellschaftliche Folgen der Corona-Krise – eine Zeitstudie“
Temporary closure with long-term consequences? (Source: Edwin Hooper/Unsplash)

How will the corona pandemic change everyday life, and which tasks result from it for policymakers? The once again high infection rates and the associated measures have given new impetus to the debate about the pandemic and its consequences. In an ITAS project in summer 2020, researchers from three research groups asked experts on future issues to rate and comment on 21 theses as part of an online survey entitled “Social Consequences of the Corona Crisis”. The first interim results are now available and can be accessed online (PDF German).

Long-term impacts on climate protection, social interaction, and the role of science

The visualization of the interim results shows the experts’ assessments of the individual theses with regard to their “probability of occurrence”, “political relevance”, and “duration”. The spectrum ranges from topics such as “Climate Protection”, “Solidarity and Altruism”, or “Deceleration and Sufficiency” to the “Role of Science”, “Digital Participation”, or “Consequences of Distancing”. The project team is currently working intensively on the qualitative and more in-depth quantitative evaluation of the data material. (08.12.2020)

Further links and information:

Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS)

Studie: Folgen der Corona-Krise

Welche langfristigen Folgen für unsere Gesellschaft haben die Corona-Pandemie und die Maßnahmen, mit denen wir ihr begegnen? Das ITAS hat Expertinnen und Experten für Zukunftsfragen gebeten, 21 Thesen zu bewerten. Erste Zwischenergebnisse liegen nun vor.
„Gesellschaftliche Folgen der Corona-Krise – eine Zeitstudie“
Vorübergehende Schließung mit langfristigen Folgen? (Quelle: Edwin Hooper / Unsplash)

Wie wird die Corona-Pandemie unseren Alltag verändern und welche Aufgaben ergeben sich daraus für die Politik? Mit erneut hohen Infektionszahlen und den damit einhergehenden Maßnahmen hat die Debatte um die Pandemie und deren Folgewirkungen weiter Fahrt aufgenommen. In einem ITAS-Projekt über drei Forschungsgruppen hinweg haben Forschende im Sommer 2020 im Rahmen der Online-Umfrage „Gesellschaftliche Folgen der Corona-Krise“ Expertinnen und Experten für Zukunftsfragen gebeten, 21 Thesen zu bewerten und zu kommentieren. Erste Zwischenergebnisse liegen nun vor und stehen online (PDF) zur Verfügung.

Langzeitfolgen für Klimaschutz, soziales Miteinander und die Rolle der Wissenschaft

Die Visualisierung der Zwischenergebnisse zeigt, wie die befragten Expertinnen und Experten die einzelnen Thesen hinsichtlich deren „Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit“, „politischer Relevanz“ und „Dauer“ einordnen. Das Spektrum reicht dabei von Themen wie „Klimaschutz“, „Solidarität und Altruismus“, „Entschleunigung und Suffizienz“ bis hin zur „Rolle der Wissenschaft“, „Digitalen Teilhabe“ oder „Folgen der Distanzierung“. Derzeit arbeitet das Projektteam intensiv an der qualitativen sowie tiefergehenden quantitativen Auswertung des Datenmaterials. (08.12.2020)

Weiterführende Links: