Institute for Technology Assessment and  Systems Analysis (ITAS)

TATuP “Climate-neutral and intelligent cities in Europe”

Although often called for, urban transformation is a long time coming. The new TATuP issue explores how integrative approaches that combine smart technologies with social innovations could make European cities more sustainable.
CoverTATuP issue 1/2021 “Climate-Neutral and Smart Cities in Europe”
TATuP issue 1/2021

Smart urban futures are very popular in Europe and are being tested and promoted in many places – with innovative and smart technologies, at various spatial levels, and in individual sectors such as energy or transport. However, the big change is yet to come, as the editors of the current TATuP issue “Climate-neutral and intelligent cities in Europe” state.

Cordula Kropp, Astrid Ley, Sadeeb Simon Ottenburger, and Ulrich Ufer are convinced that the necessary transformation cannot be achieved by technical means alone. Rather, approaches are needed that combine socio-cultural innovations with robust technical solutions. The issue discusses what paths to climate-neutral cities in Europe might look like, using the example of the energy transition in the building sector, the urban mobility transition, or collaborative paths to the smart city.

Interview: Urban digitalization and financial capitalism

The future of urban life is also the focus of the TATuP interview with sociologist and urban researcher Saskia Sassen. The Columbia University professor shares her views on the potentials and pitfalls of urban digitalization. She places special emphasis on the risks of financial capitalism and the exploitation of urban resources.

The articles in the “Research” section deal with reversibility as a concept for technology assessment and with a new TA approach to early technology assessment embedded in innovation processes. Also in the current TATuP: a debate on “converging infrastructures” and their importance for TA institutions as well as reviews and news from the TA community. (07.04.2021)

Further links:

Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS)

TATuP „Klimaneutrale und intelligente Städte in Europa“

Obwohl vielfach gefordert, lässt die urbane Transformation noch auf sich warten. Die neue TATuP-Ausgabe untersucht, wie integrative Ansätze, die intelligente Technologien mit sozialen Innovationen kombinieren, Europas Städte nachhaltiger machen könnten.
Cover von TATuP-Ausgabe 1/2021 „Klimaneutrale und intelligente Städte in Europa“
TATuP-Ausgabe 1/2021

Smarte urbane Zukünfte stehen in Europa hoch im Kurs und werden vielerorts getestet und gefördert – mithilfe innovativer und intelligenter Technologien, auf verschiedenen räumlichen Ebenen sowie in einzelnen Sektoren wie Energie oder Verkehr. Der große Wandel steht aber noch bevor, wie die Herausgeberinnen und Herausgeber des aktuellen TATuP-Themas „Klimaneutrale und intelligente Städte in Europa“ feststellen.

Nur technisch sei die notwendige Transformation nicht zu bewerkstelligen, so die Überzeugung von Cordula Kropp, Astrid Ley, Sadeeb Simon Ottenburger und Ulrich Ufer. Vielmehr brauche es Ansätze, die soziokulturelle Innovationen mit belastbaren technischen Lösungen kombinieren. Wie Wege zu klimaneutralen Städten in Europa aussehen könnten, diskutiert die Ausgabe unter anderem am Beispiel der Energiewende im Gebäudebereich, der urbanen Mobilitätswende oder kollaborativer Pfade zur Smart City.

Interview: Urbane Digitalisierung und Finanzkapitalismus

Auch im TATuP-Interview mit der Soziologin und Stadtforscherin Saskia Sassen steht die Zukunft urbanen Lebens im Mittelpunkt. Die Professorin von der Columbia University teilt dabei ihre Sicht auf die Potenziale und Fallstricke der urbanen Digitalisierung. Einen besonderen Fokus legt sie dabei auf die Risiken des Finanzkapitalismus und der Ausbeutung urbaner Ressourcen.

Die Artikel in der Rubrik „Forschung“ befassen sich mit Reversibilität als Konzept zur Technikbewertung und mit einem neuen TA-Ansatz zur frühzeitigen, in Innovationsprozesse eingebetteten Technikbewertung. Ebenfalls in der neuen TATuP: eine Debatte über „konvergierende Infrastrukturen“ und deren Bedeutung für TA-Institutionen sowie Rezensionen und Nachrichten aus der TA-Szene. (07.04.2021)

Weiterführende Links: