Institute for Technology Assessment and  Systems Analysis (ITAS)

Roadmap for the battery research of the future

On the way to a climate-friendly society, the demand for innovative battery storage systems increases. The European research initiative BATTERY 2030+ has presented a roadmap for new concepts. Researchers from ITAS are also involved.
Im Projekt BATTERY 2030+ sollen KI-Systeme selbstständig neue Versuche planen und auswerten. (Quelle: Daniel Messling, KIT)
In the BATTERY 2030+ project, AI systems will independently plan and evaluate new experiments. (Source: Daniel Messling, KIT)

How can Europe produce high-performance battery storage systems in the future that are also sustainable, safe, and inexpensive? In a roadmap, the European research initiative BATTERY 2030+ shows what properties batteries of the future must have and what steps are necessary for their development.

Milestones for new battery technologies

The research institutes and companies from all over Europe involved in Battery 2030+ focus on three milestones in their roadmap: A joint materials development facility will use data mining and artificial intelligence (AI) to significantly accelerate the search for new materials. A second step is to make batteries significantly more reliable and durable by using integrated sensors and “self-healing powers.” Finally, Battery 2030+ aims to substantially increase the sustainability of future batteries. To this end, parameters such as resource-saving manufacturability, recyclability, as well as critical raw materials and toxicity will be incorporated directly into the development process.

ITAS expertise on sustainability and future issues

ITAS scientists are directly involved in the project through the research platform CELEST (Center for Electrochemical Energy Storage Ulm & Karlsruhe). The Institute’s research group RESET contributes in particular its expertise in questions of sustainability and future aspects to the formulation and implementation of the roadmap. Marcel Weil, head of the group RESET as well as of the research group “Resources, Environment & Sustainability” at Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU), was one of the authors of the roadmap for the future recycling of batteries. (06.05.2020)

Further links and information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Roadmap zur Batterieforschung der Zukunft

Auf dem Weg zur klimafreundlichen Gesellschaft steigt der Bedarf an innovativen Batteriespeichern. Die europäische Forschungsinitiative BATTERY 2030+ hat eine Roadmap für neue Konzepte vorgelegt. Auch Forschende des ITAS sind daran beteiligt.
Im Projekt BATTERY 2030+ sollen KI-Systeme selbstständig neue Versuche planen und auswerten. (Quelle: Daniel Messling, KIT)
Im Projekt BATTERY 2030+ sollen KI-Systeme selbstständig neue Versuche planen und auswerten. (Quelle: Daniel Messling, KIT)

Wie lassen sich in Europa künftig leistungsstarke Batteriespeicher herstellen, die gleichzeitig nachhaltig, sicher und günstig sind? Die europäische Forschungsinitiative BATTERY 2030+ zeigt in einer Roadmap, welche Eigenschaften Batterien der Zukunft haben müssen und welche Schritte zu ihrer Entwicklung nötig sind.

Meilensteine für neue Batterietechnologien

Die an Battery 2030+ beteiligten Forschungsinstitute und Unternehmen aus ganz Europa nehmen in ihrer Roadmap drei Meilensteine in den Blick: Eine gemeinsame Anlage zur Materialentwicklung soll mithilfe von Data Mining und Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) die Suche nach neuen Materialen entscheidend beschleunigen. Als zweiten Schritt sollen Batterien mit integrierten Sensoren und „Selbstheilungskräften“ deutlich zuverlässiger und ausdauernder werden. Schließlich verfolgt Battery 2030+ das Ziel, die Nachhaltigkeit von zukünftigen Batterien deutlich zu erhöhen. Parameter wie ressourcensparende Herstellbarkeit, Recyclingfähigkeit sowie kritische Rohstoffe und Toxizität sollen dazu direkt in die Entwicklung einfließen.

ITAS-Expertise zu Nachhaltigkeit und Zukunftsfragen

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des ITAS sind über die Forschungsplattform CELEST (Center for Electrochemical Energy Storage Ulm & Karlsruhe) direkt an dem Vorhaben beteiligt. Die Forschungsgruppe RESET des Instituts bringt bei Formulierung und Umsetzung der Roadmap insbesondere ihre Expertise in Fragen zur Nachhaltigkeit und Zukunftsaspekten ein. Marcel Weil, Gruppenleiter von RESET sowie der Forschungsgruppe „Ressourcen, Umwelt & Nachhaltigkeit“ am Helmholtz Zentrum Ulm, war einer der Autoren der Roadmap zum zukünftigen Recycling von Batterien. (06.05.2020)

Weiterführende Links oder Dokumente: