Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

International Summer School on Open Science

This year’s ITAS Summer School in San Sebastián deals with the ambivalences of “open science” in times of social and scientific change. PhD students are welcome to apply until 15 March 2020.
Venue of the Open Science Summer School: Palacio de Miramar in San Sebastián
Venue of the Open Science Summer School: Palacio de Miramar in San Sebastián
Venue of the Summer School: Palacio de Miramar in San Sebastián. (Source: Wikimedia)

Digital transformation, globalization, the environmental and climate crisis, and new forms of terrorism – our society is facing a multitude of challenges. In politics and science, exclusionary and regressive reactions (e.g., protectionism, excellence science) compete with open and participatory concepts of open science for solving current challenges.

But what does open science really mean in terms of civil society participation in science? How “open” are science and policy systems in which practices of “open science” or of “open innovation” are developed? Furthermore, what are the limits of open science in different cultural and institutional contexts?

These and similar questions will be addressed at the Summer School taking place from 27 to 31 July 2020 in Donostia/San Sebastián, Spain. Together with the University of the Basque Country and RWTH Aachen University, ITAS is organizing this year’s event entitled “‘Open science’: ambivalences and tensions – New borderlands between science, technology and society.”

Offer for PhD students

All PhD students in different stages of their dissertation projects are welcome to apply. A wide range of learning formats will be offered: lectures by established researchers, workshops, and poster presentations – a week full of discussions about open science. (04.02.2020)

Further links and information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Internationale Summer School zu Open Science

Die diesjährige Summer School des ITAS in San Sebastián befasst sich mit den Ambivalenzen von „Open Science“ in Zeiten gesellschaftlichen wie wissenschaftlichen Wandels. Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden können sich bis zum 15. März 2020 bewerben.
Veranstaltungsort der ITAS-Summer School "Open Science" in San Sebastian
Veranstaltungsort der Summer School "Open Science" in San Sebastian
Veranstaltungsort der Summer School: Palacio de Miramar in San Sebastián. (Quelle: Wikimedia)

Digitale Transformation, Globalisierung, Umwelt- und Klimakrise sowie neue Formen des Terrorismus – unsere Gesellschaft sieht sich mit einer Vielzahl von Herausforderungen konfrontiert. In Politik und Wissenschaft konkurrieren exkludierende und regressive Reaktionen (z.B. Protektionismus, Exzellenzwissenschaft) mit offenen und partizipativen Konzepten der Open Science um die Lösung aktueller Herausforderungen.

Doch was bedeutet Open Science in Bezug auf die Beteiligung der Zivilgesellschaft an der Wissenschaft tatsächlich? Wie „offen“ sind Wissenschafts- und Politiksysteme, in denen Praktiken der „Open Science“ oder auch „Open Innovation“ entwickelt werden? Des Weiteren, welche Grenzen werden einer offenen Wissenschaft in verschiedenen kulturellen und institutionellen Kontexten gesetzt?

Diese und ähnliche Fragen beschäftigen die für den Zeitraum vom 27. bis 31. Juli 2020 im spanischen Donostia / San Sebastián geplante Summer School. Gemeinsam mit der Universität des Baskenlandes und der RWTH Aachen organisiert das ITAS die diesjährige Ausgabe mit dem Titel „Open science: ambivalences and tensions – New borderlands between science, technology and society“.

Angebot für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden

Alle PhD-Studierenden in verschiedenen Bearbeitungsphasen ihrer Dissertation sind herzlich eingeladen, sich zu bewerben. Auf sie wartet eine Fülle an Lernformaten: Vorträge von etablierten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, Workshops und Poster-Präsentationen – eine Woche voller Diskussionen über Open Science. (04.02.2020)

Weiterführende Links oder Dokumente: