Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Designing Sustainable Urban Futures

Cities have great potential to become sustainable habitats. Challenges, concepts and approaches along the way are described in an anthology edited by researchers of ITAS and the Florida Institute of Technology.
Designing Sustainable Urban Futures Sammelband mit Beiträgen zur nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung unter anderem über das Quartier Zukunft
Source: KIT Publishing

Cities are known as huge energy consumers, producers of greenhouse gases and waste, as anonymous places of coexistence marked by segregation, with masses of cars and people moving around. The book "Designing Sustainable Urban Futures – Concepts and Practices from Different Countries" looks at urban spaces from a completely different perspective. It argues that many cities of the 21st century, despite social and environmental problems, have great potential to offer its residents a jointly used and resource efficient habitat.

The authors of the anthology discuss concepts and alternative approaches to sustainability-oriented cities from the perspective of various disciplines. With contributions from Europe, Asia and the US, they demonstrate the diversity of contexts and challenges for designing sustainable habitats. It becomes evident that cities are particularly worth living in if they combine multifunctional structures, a well-integrated transport infrastructure and democratic urban development processes.

A key finding of the publication is that sustainable city futures require a strong focus on human needs, environment and health as well as the joint design of creative spaces for sustainable practices. What such a space might look like is shown in the contribution on the Karlsruhe real laboratory District Future – Urban Lab. Other contributions analyze, among other things, the potential of cohousing for community-based and ecological district development as well as the transformation of existing structures to compact and community-based living arrangements for older people.

The recently published book is based on contributions to the international symposium on "Sustainable Urban Development at Different Scales", organized by ITAS in cooperation with the Florida Institute of Technology and the Budapest University of Technology and Economics in 2014. (31.10.2016)

Bibliographic data

Albiez, Marius; Banse, Gerhard; Lindeman, Kenyon C.; Quint, Alexandra (eds.)
Designing Sustainable Urban Futures. Concepts and Practices from Different Countries. Karlsruhe: KIT Publishing 2016
Publisher information and PDF download

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Designing Sustainable Urban Futures

Städte haben großes Potenzial, nachhaltige Lebensräume zu sein. Herausforderungen, Konzepte und Ansätze auf dem Weg dorthin beschreibt ein von Forscherinnen und Forschern des ITAS und des Florida Institute of Technology herausgegebener Sammelband.
Designing Sustainable Urban Futures Sammelband mit Beiträgen zur nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung unter anderem über das Quartier Zukunft
Quelle: KIT Publishing

Wir kennen Städte als enorme Energiekonsumenten, Treibhausgas- und Abfallproduzenten, als anonyme und von Segregation gezeichnete Orte des Nebeneinanders, durch die sich massenhaft Autos und Menschen bewegen. Das Buch „Designing Sustainable Urban Futures – Concepts and Practices from Different Countries“ will urbane Räume aus einer gänzlich anderen Perspektive zeigen. Es vertritt die These, dass viele Städte des 21. Jahrhunderts trotz sozialer und ökologischer Probleme über großes Potenzial verfügen, ihren Bewohnerinnen und Bewohnern einen gemeinschaftlich genutzten und ressourcenschonenden Lebensraum zu bieten.

Die Autorinnen und Autoren des Sammelbands setzen sich dafür aus der Sicht ganz unterschiedlicher Disziplinen mit Konzepten und alternativen Ansätzen für auf Nachhaltigkeit ausgerichtete Städten auseinander. Sie demonstrieren mit Beiträgen aus Europa, Asien und den USA die Vielfalt von Kontexten und Herausforderungen für die Gestaltung nachhaltiger Lebensräume. Dabei zeigt sich, dass Städte dann besonders lebenswert sind, wenn sie multifunktionale Strukturen, eine gut integrierte Verkehrsinfrastruktur und demokratische Stadtentwicklungsprozesse vereinen.

Nachhaltige Stadtzukünfte, so ein zentrales Ergebnis der Publikation, erfordern einen starken Fokus auf menschliche Bedürfnisse, Umweltfreundlichkeit und Gesundheit sowie die gemeinsame Gestaltung kreativer Freiräume für nachhaltige Praktiken. Wie ein derartiger Freiraum aussehen kann, zeigt ein Beitrag über das Karlsruher Reallabor Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt. Weitere Beiträge analysieren unter anderem das Potential von CoHousing für eine gemeinschaftsorientierte und ökologische Quartiersentwicklung sowie die Transformation von Bestandsstrukturen hin zu kompakten und gemeinschaftsorientierten Wohnformen für ältere Menschen.

Das jetzt veröffentlichte Buch basiert auf Beiträgen zum internationalen Symposium „Sustainable Urban Development at Different Scales“, das im Jahr 2014 vom ITAS in Kooperation mit dem Florida Institute of Technology und der Budapest University of Technology and Economics durchgeführt wurde. (31.10.2016)

Bibliographische Angaben

Albiez, Marius; Banse, Gerhard; Lindeman, Kenyon C.; Quint, Alexandra (Hrsg.)
Designing Sustainable Urban Futures. Concepts and Practices from Different Countries. Karlsruhe: KIT Publishing 2016
Verlagsinformationen und PDF-Download