Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | KIT

Sustainability and environment

The growing world population, the trend towards urbanization and the rapid rise in production and consumption activities are the main reasons for the increasing use of scarce resources and the impairment of important ecosystem services. Together with phenomena like poverty, hunger, mass unemployment or an extremely uneven distribution of income, they are in many areas and regions symptoms of unsustainable production processes and consumption patterns. Considerable political and economic efforts are required to allow for the necessary and sometimes far-reaching changes which are a prerequisite for the realization of a sustainable development.

The research area "Sustainability and environment" mainly focuses on analyses in key areas of environmental research like land use, energy systems, water supply and sewage disposal as well as the increase of productivity of raw materials, on the development of adjusted measures for coping with existing problems in these areas and the conditions for the implementation of different possible solutions. The analyses concerning sustainability are carried out using the Integrative Concept of Sustainable Development of the Helmholtz Association (HGF) which has been developed under the direction of ITAS and is since then used for different national and international projects and consultations. Based on the postulate of inter- and intragenerational justice, it covers ecological, economic, social, and institutional aspects.

The research concentrates on questions regarding the use of renewable and non-renewable resources in the context of technologies, products, etc. as well as on strategies for more sustainability in these areas. Also the role of culture, cultural change and education with respect to the treatment of natural goods and a sustainable development is analyzed. Areas of research are urban agglomerations as well as rural areas on a local, regional, national, and global level. The use and further development of methods and instruments play a crucial role for the realization of these works. Various quantitative (like process chain analyses, simulation modeling, life cycle assessment) and qualitative methods (like the Delphi method, expert interviews, focus groups, stakeholder workshops) are being applied. Special emphasis is put on the scenario method to be able to deal with the complexities and uncertainties of future studies in an appropriate way. The research projects are organized in the two key topics described in the following.

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Nachhaltigkeit und Umwelt

Die wachsende Weltbevölkerung, der Trend zur Urbanisierung und der rasante Anstieg der Produktions- und Konsumaktivitäten sind wesentliche Ursachen für den steigenden Verbrauch begrenzter Ressourcen sowie für Beeinträchtigungen wichtiger Ökosystemdienstleistungen. Zusammen mit den Phänomenen Armut, Hunger, Massenarbeitslosigkeit oder extreme Ungleichverteilung von Einkommen sind dies Symptome einer in vielen Bereichen und Regionen nicht nachhaltigen Wirtschafts- und Lebensweise. Um die erforderlichen, teilweise weit reichenden Veränderungen zur Realisierung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung zu ermöglichen, bedarf es erheblicher politischer wie auch wissenschaftlicher Anstrengungen.

Der Forschungsbereich „Nachhaltige Entwicklung und Umwelt“ beschäftigt sich schwerpunktmäßig mit Analysen in Schlüsselbereichen der Umweltforschung wie Flächennutzung, Energiesysteme, Wasserver- und Abwasserentsorgung und Steigerung der Rohstoffproduktivität, mit der Erarbeitung angepasster Maßnahmen zur Bewältigung bestehender Probleme in diesen Bereichen sowie mit den Realisierungsbedingungen von unterschiedlichen Lösungsoptionen. Dabei werden die nachhaltigkeitsbezogenen Analysen unter Verwendung des Integrativen Konzepts nachhaltiger Entwicklung der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft (HGF) durchgeführt, das federführend vom ITAS entwickelt worden ist und seither in verschiedensten Projekt- und Beratungskontexten national und international Anwendung findet. Basierend auf dem Postulat der inter- und intragenerativen Gerechtigkeit umfasst es ökologische, ökonomische, soziale und institutionelle Aspekte.

In den Forschungsarbeiten stehen Fragen der Nutzung von erneuerbaren und nicht-erneuerbaren Ressourcen im Kontext von Technologien, Produkten usw. sowie Strategien für mehr Nachhaltigkeit in diesem Bereich im Vordergrund. Daneben werden die Rolle der Kultur, des kulturellen Wandels und des Bildungssektors für den Umgang mit Naturgütern und für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung untersucht. Räumlicher Betrachtungsgegenstand sind städtische Agglomerationen wie auch ländliche Räume auf lokaler, regionaler, nationaler und auch globaler Ebene. Für die Durchführung der Arbeiten spielen der Einsatz und die Weiterentwicklung von Methoden und Instrumentarien eine wesentliche Rolle. Zur Anwendung kommen verschiedene quantitative (z. B. Prozesskettenanalysen, Simulationsmodellierungen, Life-Cycle Assessment) und qualitative Methoden (z. B. Delphi-Verfahren, Experteninterviews, Fokus-Gruppen, Stakeholder-Workshops). Besondere Bedeutung kommt der Szenario-Methode zu, um in angemessener Weise mit den Komplexitäten und Unsicherheiten bei Zukunftsbetrachtungen umgehen zu können. Die in Projektform organisierten Forschungsarbeiten finden in den beiden nachfolgend skizzierten Schwerpunkten statt.