Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Innovation processes and impacts of technology

This research area focuses on the assessment of the impacts of new technologies which are considered to have a significant potential to both change existing technological, economic, and social structures and contribute to achieving important goals of society. Those technologies, often also called key technologies, are analyzed in the context of innovation processes, especially with regard to the conditions in which they are developed and the intended and unintended impacts of their widespread application. Only this reference, the concept of research and technology development as social processes, allows a statement on technology impacts and the possibilities of technology design.

Technologies, technological products, and techniques do not originate on their own but are the result of numerous perspectives, interests, and interactions between various parties (researchers and developers, political decision-makers, entrepreneurs, users, the general public) who co-operate in varying constellations during the different phases of the innovation process. Both real and anticipated impacts of technology can become problematic at every single stage of such a process, demands for strategic knowledge and knowledge for decision-making processes might arise and influence the decisions of the actors.

The research questions pursued in this research area stand in the tradition of technology assessment with explicit references to foresight and socio-scientific technology and innovation research. Primarily investigated are:

  • Structural patterns of innovation processes and parameters influencing the course of innovation, especially regarding their relation to intended and unintended impacts of technology,
  • societal processes of formation and design of new technologies including the role of technology visions, discourses, and media,
  • interrelations between technological inventions and societal innovation processes (especially with regard to non-economic, i.e. cultural or social, factors),
  • governance of new technologies, political technology design, and the establishment of priorities in technology and research politics as well as
  • questions on the methods of early detection of technology impacts.

The scientific results are applied to disciplinary and interdisciplinary scientific discourses and used in the practice of technology assessment as scientific policy advice.

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Innovationsprozesse und Technikfolgen

Im Mittelpunkt der Arbeiten des Forschungsbereiches stehen die Folgenabschätzung von neuen Techniken, denen ein erhebliches Potential zur Veränderung bestehender technischer, ökonomischer und sozialer Strukturen sowie zur Erreichung gesellschaftlich bedeutender Ziele zugeschrieben wird. Untersucht werden solche – oftmals auch als Schlüsseltechnologien bezeichnete – Techniken im Kontext von Innovationsprozessen vor allem im Hinblick auf ihre Entstehungsbedingungen wie auf die intendierten und nichtintendierten Folgen ihrer verbreiteten Anwendung. Erst über diesen Bezug, über ein Verständnis von Forschung und Technikentwicklung als soziale Prozesse, lässt sich etwas über Technikfolgen und über Möglichkeiten zur Technikgestaltung aussagen.

Techniken, technische Produkte und Verfahren, entstehen nicht selbstläufig, sondern sind das Ergebnis vielfältiger Perspektiven, Interessen und Interaktionen unterschiedlicher Beteiligter (Forscher und Entwickler, politische Entscheidungsträger, Unternehmer, Anwender, allgemeine Öffentlichkeit), die in verschiedenen Phasen des Innovationsprozesses in wechselnden Konstellationen zusammenwirken. An jedem Punkt eines solchen Prozesses können – reale wie antizipierte – Technikfolgen problematisch werden, eine Nachfrage nach Orientierungswissen und Wissen für Entscheidungsprozesse entstehen und die Entscheidungskalküle der Handelnden beeinflusst werden.

Im Rahmen des Forschungsbereichs verfolgte Forschungsfragen stehen in der Tradition der Technikfolgenabschätzung mit deutlichen Bezugspunkten zur Technikvorausschau (Foresight) und zur sozialwissenschaftlichen Technik- und Innovationsforschung. Vorrangig werden untersucht:

  • Strukturmuster von Innovationsprozessen und Einflussfaktoren auf Innovationsverläufe, insbesondere in deren Bezug zu intendierten und nicht-intendierten Technikfolgen,
  • gesellschaftliche Prozesse der Entstehung und Gestaltung neuer Techniken einschließlich der Rolle von Technikvisionen, Diskursen und Medien.
  • Zusammenhänge zwischen technischen Inventionen und gesellschaftlichen Innovationsprozessen (insbesondere auch in Bezug auf außerökonomische, z.B. kulturelle und soziale Faktoren),
  • Governance neuer Techniken, politische Technikgestaltung und Prioritätensetzung in der Technik- und Forschungspolitik, sowie
  • Methodenfragen der Früherkennung von Technikfolgen.

Die wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse werden in die disziplinären und interdisziplinären wissenschaftlichen Diskurse eingespeist und in der Praxis der Technikfolgenabschätzung als wissenschaftlicher Politikberatung angewandt.