Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Energy - resources, technologies, systems

The development of a sustainable energy system is one of the main challenges of today’s society. This includes the necessity to pursue and harmonize different goals, from environmental and climate compatibility to security of supply and cost effectiveness to equal access.

We are looking for solutions which are characterized by technological reliability, techno-economic efficiency, environmental compatibility, and a high level of social acceptance. When innovative technologies are incorporated into the energy system, a number of interdependencies have to be considered: Natural gas and synthetically produced gases like biogas, hydrogen, and syngas, for example, can be used both materially and energetically.

Achieving sustainability through constructive future-oriented technology assessment

Against this background, scientists of the research area Energy carry out systems analyses and scientific assessments of energy technologies which are still under development and sometimes even competing.

As “constructive technology assessment” (constructive TA, CTA) these analyses shall provide a guideline for the further development of technologies towards more sustainability.

The related work is always carried out in co-operation with technical R&D partners. The analyses focus on the environmental, economic, social, and spatial implications of the respective technologies. Research typically includes the whole life cycle from the provision of primary energy sources and raw materials to conversion technologies and finally to the use of the end products.

Dealing with uncertainty and risk

The development of technologies is per se as future-oriented as the transformation of the whole energy system. It is therefore always carried out under uncertain or completely unknown conditions. Society plays an important role here. The future regulations regarding the operation of wind turbines are, for example, only partly known. Thus another goal of the research in this research area is to analyze the relevance and effects of existing uncertainties and the related risks in the context of the energy transformation.

Variety of methodological approaches

Most of the analyses of the investigated technologies are based on the life cycle and consider different indicators to cope with the complex implications of innovative technologies. The research area uses process-based methods, like environmental life cycle assessment (LCA) or techno-economic life cycle costing (LCC), but also approaches, integrating the different perspectives, e.g., life cycle sustainability assessment (LCSA). Depending on the research question, also other methods, like the material flow approach (MFA), are used. All methods are adapted by the research area to the respective problem and further developed in various ways.

Especially approaches from the field of future research are used and further developed for the analyses of the energy system transformation. This aims at future developments which can be examined in a method-based way regarding possible, probable, and desirable “energy futures”. The researchers use different methods like trend extrapolation, computer simulations, Delphi methods and (quantitative) surveys, scenarios, roadmaps, or expert interviews. This is accompanied by the use and further development of the cross-impact balance (CIB) approach.

Work in the research area Energy focuses on:

  • Energetic and material use of biomass
  • Innovative process engineering: Efficiency technologies – power to X – hydrogen
  • Regional energy and material flow management
  • Energy futures

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Energie - Ressourcen, Technologien, Systeme

Die Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen Energiesystems gehört zu den zentralen Herausforderungen der Gegenwart. Dabei gilt es unterschiedliche Ziele zu verfolgen und in Einklang zu bringen, von der Umwelt- und Klimaverträglichkeit über die Versorgungssicherheit und Wirtschaftlichkeit bis hin zur Zugangsgerechtigkeit.

Gesucht werden Lösungen, die sich durch technische Zuverlässigkeit, techno-ökonomische Effizienz, Umweltverträglichkeit und ein hohes Maß an gesellschaftlicher Akzeptanz auszeichnen. Bei der Einbindung innovativer Technologien in das Energiesystem müssen vielfältige Interdependenzen berücksichtigt werden: So lassen sich beispielsweise Erdgas und synthetisch erzeugte Gase wie Biogas, Wasserstoff und Synthesegas sowohl stofflich als auch energetisch nutzen.

Nachhaltigkeit durch konstruktive zukunftsorientierte Technikbewertung

Vor diesem Hintergrund führen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Forschungsbereichs Energie für in Entwicklung befindliche, ggf. konkurrierende, Energietechnologien Systemanalysen und wissenschaftlich basierte Bewertungen durch. Diese sollen als „konstruktive Technikbewertung“ (Constructive TA, CTA) Orientierung für die Weiterentwicklung von Technologien in Richtung mehr Nachhaltigkeit geben. Die Arbeiten werden dazu stets in Kooperation mit technischen F&E-Partnern durchgeführt. Im Fokus der Analysen stehen die umweltbezogenen, ökonomischen, sozialen und räumlichen Implikationen der jeweiligen Technologien. Die Untersuchungen umfassen typischerweise den gesamten Lebensweg, beginnend mit der Bereitstellung von Primärenergieträgern und Rohstoffen über Konversionstechnologien bis hin zur Nutzung der Endprodukte.

Umgang mit Unsicherheiten und Risiken

Die Entwicklung von Technologien ist per se ebenso zukunftsgerichtet wie die Transformation des gesamten Energiesystems. Sie findet deshalb immer unter unsicheren oder gänzlich unbekannten Randbedingungen statt. Hierbei spielt die Gesellschaft eine wichtige Rolle. So sind beispielsweise die zukünftigen Regelungen hinsichtlich des Betriebs von Windkraftanlagen nur bedingt bekannt. Ein weiteres Ziel der Forschung im Forschungsbereich ist es daher, die Relevanz und die Wirkungen der bestehenden Unsicherheiten und der damit verbundenen Risiken im Kontext der Energietransformation zu analysieren.

Vielfalt methodischer Ansätze

Die Analysen der untersuchten Technologien erfolgen vorwiegend lebenswegorientiert und berücksichtigen unterschiedliche Indikatoren, um den komplexen Implikationen innovativer Technologien gerecht zu werden. Der Forschungsbereich nutzt hierzu prozessbasierte Methoden, wie zum Beispiel das umweltbezogene Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) oder das techno-ökonomisch orientierte Life Cycle Costing (LCC), aber auch integrierende Erweiterungen dieser, wie zum Beispiel die lebenswegbasierte Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung (Life Cycle Sustainability Assessment, LCSA). Je nach Fragestellung kommen auch weitere Methoden, wie zum Beispiel der Materialflussansatz (MFA), zum Einsatz. Alle Methoden werden vom Forschungsbereich problemorientiert adaptiert und vielfach weiterentwickelt.

Für die Analysen der Transformation des Energiesystems werden primär Ansätze aus dem Bereich der Zukunftsforschung genutzt und weiterentwickelt. Ziel ist es dabei, zukünftige Entwicklungen methodenbasiert hinsichtlich möglichen, wahrscheinlichen und wünschbaren „Energiezukünften“ untersuchbar zu machen. Dabei nutzen die Forschenden unterschiedlichste Methoden, wie Trendextrapolation, Computersimulationen, Delphi-Verfahren sowie (quantitative) Befragungen, Szenarien und Roadmaps oder auch Experteninterviews. Hinzu kommt die Anwendung und Weiterentwicklung der Cross-Impact Bilanzanalyse (CIB).

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte im Forschungsbereich Energie sind:

  • Biomasse zur energetischen und stofflichen Nutzung
  • Innovative Verfahrenstechnik: Effizienztechnologien – Power to X – Wasserstoff
  • Regionales Energie- und Stoffstrommanagement
  • Energiezukünfte