Institute for Technology Assessment and  Systems Analysis (ITAS)

Crowd working in Germany

From food delivery services to simple click jobs: online platforms have created an extremely flexible job market. An ITAS working paper analyzes this development and provides an overview of initiatives to represent crowd workers in Germany.
Crowdworking in Deutschland
Source: KIT

In recent years, a variety of online platforms have emerged, which are often considered to disrupt the branches in which they operate. “Uber” has revolutionized the taxi industry all around the globe, “Upwork” allows companies to hire freelancers on demand, and “Lieferando”’s customers get live updates on the exact location of their ordered pizzas.

“These platforms certainly provide innovative customer experiences, but at the same time they establish new forms of digital work by acting as intermediaries between clients and workers,” says Linda Nierling, who leads the German part of a research project on crowdwork funded by the European Commission.

Controversial debates on working conditions

The phenomenon referred to as crowdwork has been controversially debated in recent years. Some claim that it comes with poor working conditions, while others uphold the benefits of flexibility and efficient digital matching for the workers. “Therefore, it is necessary to ask how far collective action and interest representation of crowdworkers can succeed in improving their working conditions,” states Linda Nierling.

Systematic analysis of current evidence on crowdwork

Together with her ITAS colleagues Bettina Krings and Leon Küstermann, she now presents the results of the first phase of the European research project. The working paper offers a comprehensive overview of the German crowdwork landscape, with a special focus on interest representation of crowd workers.

The researchers also provide a systematic analysis of the current conceptual and empirical evidence on crowdwork. “Profound empirical evidence is still much needed since, despite a growing number of empirical studies, there is uncertainty about how to conceptualize crowdwork and the extent to which it has already disrupted employment relations in Germany,” points out co-author Bettina Krings. (16.11.2020)

Bibliographic data:

Nierling, Linda; Krings, Bettina-Johanna; Küstermann, Leon
The Landscape of Crowd Work in Germany. An overview of the scientific and public discourse. Karlsruhe: KIT Scientific Working Papers 2020, 67 S., ISSN: 2194-1629
Full text

Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS)

Crowdworking in Deutschland

Von Fahrdiensten bis hin zu Klick-Jobs: Online-Plattformen haben einen äußerst flexiblen Arbeitsmarkt geschaffen. Ein ITAS-Arbeitspapier analysiert diese Entwicklung und gibt einen Überblick über Initiativen, die Crowdworker in Deutschland vertreten.
Crowdworking in Deutschland
Quelle: KIT

In den letzten Jahren ist eine Vielzahl von Online-Plattformen in unterschiedlichen Branchen entstanden, die dort unterschiedliche Funktionen übernehmen: Im Bereich der Mobilität revolutioniert „Uber“ das Taxigewerbe rund um den Globus, über „Upwork“ werden Aufträge an spezialisierte IT-Fachkräfte vermittelt, und die Kundinnen und Kunden von „Lieferando“ erhalten Live-Updates über den genauen Standort ihrer bestellten Pizzen.

„Diese Plattformen bieten zweifellos innovative Kundenerfahrungen, gleichzeitig etablieren sie dadurch neue Formen digitaler Arbeit, denn die Plattformen übernehmen eine vermittelnde Funktion zwischen „Kunden“ bzw. „Auftraggebern“ und denen, die als Crowdworker tätig sind“, sagt Linda Nierling, die den deutschen Teil eines von der Europäischen Kommission geförderten Forschungsprojekts zu Crowdwork leitet.

Kontroverse Debatten über Arbeitsbedingungen

Die Veränderungen des Arbeitsmarktes durch das als Crowdwork bezeichnete Phänomen wurden in den letzten Jahren intensiv in Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft und Politik diskutiert. So können mit Crowdwork einerseits viele Vorteile einhergehen wie eine höhere Flexibilität oder ein effizientes digitales Matching von Angebot und Nachfrage. Andererseits können mit Crowdwork schlechtere Arbeitsbedingungen einhergehen. „Man muss daher untersuchen, welche kollektiven Maßnahmen und welche Formen der Interessenvertretung von Crowdworkern zur Verbesserung ihrer Arbeitsbedingungen beitragen können“, erklärt Linda Nierling.

Systematische Analyse aktueller Erkenntnisse über Crowdwork in Deutschland

Gemeinsam mit ihren ITAS-Kollegen Bettina Krings und Leon Küstermann stellt sie nun in einem Working Paper die Ergebnisse der ersten Phase des europäischen Forschungsprojekts vor. Das Arbeitspapier bietet einen umfassenden Überblick über die deutsche Crowdwork-Landschaft, mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt auf der Interessenvertretung von Crowdworkerinnen und Crowdworkern.

Die Forschenden liefern zudem eine systematische Analyse der aktuellen konzeptionellen und empirischen Debatte über Crowdwork. „Fundierte empirische Erkenntnisse werden nach wie vor dringend benötigt, da trotz einer wachsenden Zahl empirischer Studien Unsicherheit darüber herrscht, wie Crowdwork konzeptionell zu fassen ist und inwieweit sie die Arbeitsbeziehungen in Deutschland dadurch bereits beeinflusst sind“, betont Koautorin Bettina Krings. (16.11.2020)

Bibliographische Angaben:

Nierling, Linda; Krings, Bettina-Johanna; Küstermann, Leon
The Landscape of Crowd Work in Germany. An overview of the scientific and public discourse. Karlsruhe: KIT Scientific Working Papers 2020, 67 S., ISSN: 2194-1629
Volltext