Institute for Technology Assessment and  Systems Analysis (ITAS)

Final storage project pursues transdisciplinary approach

Repository research has a long tradition at ITAS. Based on their previous work, in the project TRANSENS the institute’s experts now deal with the question of how citizens can be better involved in independent repository research.
Logo of the TRANSENS project
The TRANSENS project pursues a transdisciplinary approach

TRANSENS is the first interdisciplinary research project on the disposal of radioactive waste in Germany – with the ITAS team playing a central role within this research association. The experts of the research group “Endlagerung als soziotechnisches Projekt“ (Final storage as socio-technical project) are particularly interested in questions of dialogue, justice, and capacity to act with regard to the site selection process started in 2017.

“The challenging question of how to safely dispose of nuclear waste cannot be solved from a scientific point of view alone,” explains Peter Hocke, deputy spokesman of the research association and head of the ITAS team. According to him, the decision-making process during site selection for a final repository is not only influenced by technical challenges, such as the intended retrievability of the waste, but also by social discourses and existing conflicts.

Research of transdisciplinary nature

The ITAS team has lead responsibility for the TRANSENS workpackages “Handlungsfähigkeit und Flexibilität in einem reversiblen Verfahren” (HAFF; Capacity to act and flexibility in a reversible procedure) and “Dialoge und Prozessgestaltung in Wechselwirkung von Recht, Gerechtigkeit und Governance” (DIPRO; Dialogues and process organization in the interplay of law, justice, and governance). The whole research work is characterized by the transdisciplinary approach, which means it is always aimed at the interested public and other stakeholders involved in the search for a final repository.

Over the next five years, the aim of the TRANSENS research association is to develop new perspectives for the socio-technical processes related to radioactive waste disposal. At the same time, application-oriented basic research is advanced to be able to contribute to solving further societal and technological questions related to the very diverse challenges of radioactive waste disposal. A total of 17 affiliated partners also aim at promoting the younger generation of researchers to secure the scientific competence which is important for dealing with radioactive waste.

TRANSENS is funded by the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy and the Volkswagen Foundation in cooperation with the state of Lower Saxony. The research association is managed by Clausthal University of Technology. (20.12.2019)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Endlager-Projekt verfolgt transdisziplinären Ansatz

Die Endlagerforschung am ITAS hat Tradition. Darauf aufbauend beschäftigen sich Fachleute des Instituts nun im Projekt TRANSENS mit der Frage, wie Bürgerinnen und Bürger besser in die unabhängige Endlagerforschung einbezogen werden können.
Logo des Projekts TRANSENS
Logo des Projekts TRANSENS, in dem transdisziplinär rund um Endlager geforscht wird.

Erstmals wird in Deutschland transdisziplinär zur Entsorgung radioaktiver Abfälle geforscht – an zentraler Stelle mit dabei ist das ITAS-Team. Die Expertinnen und Experten aus der Forschungsgruppe „Endlagerung als soziotechnisches Projekt“ beschäftigen sich dabei insbesondere mit Fragen von Dialog, Gerechtigkeit und Handlungsfähigkeit in dem 2017 gestarteten Standortauswahlverfahren.

„Der anspruchsvollen Fragestellung, wie radioaktive Abfälle sicher zu entsorgen sind, ist allein wissenschaftlich nicht beizukommen“, so Peter Hocke, der stellvertretende Sprecher des Forschungsverbunds und Leiter des ITAS-Teams. Gesellschaftliche Diskurse und bestehende Konflikte, so Hocke, prägen die Entscheidungsfindung der Standortsuche für ein Endlager ebenso wie technische Herausforderungen, etwa die angestrebte Rückholbarkeit der Abfälle.

Forschung mit transdisziplinärem Charakter

Das ITAS-Team ist federführend verantwortlich für die TRANSENS-Arbeitspakete „Handlungsfähigkeit und Flexibilität in einem reversiblen Verfahren“ (HAFF) und „Dialoge und Prozessgestaltung in Wechselwirkung von Recht, Gerechtigkeit und Governance“ (DIPRO). Die Forschungsarbeit hat durchweg transdisziplinären Charakter, bezieht also stets die interessierte Öffentlichkeit und weitere Akteure der Endlagersuche mit ein.

Das Gesamtprojekt TRANSENS will in den kommenden fünf Jahren neue Perspektiven auf die soziotechnischen Prozesse in Zusammenhang mit der nuklearen Entsorgung erarbeiten. Gleichzeitig wird dabei die anwendungsorientierte Grundlagenforschung vorangetrieben, um auch bei weiteren sozialen und technischen Fragestellungen zur Bearbeitung der sehr verschiedenen Herausforderungen bei der nuklearen Entsorgung beizutragen. Ziel der insgesamt 17 Verbundpartner ist es zudem, den für die nukleare Entsorgung wichtigen Nachwuchs zu fördern und so wissenschaftliche Kompetenz zu erhalten.

Gefördert wird TRANSENS vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie und der Volkswagenstiftung zusammen mit dem Land Niedersachsen. Die Leitung des Forschungsverbundes liegt bei der TU Clausthal. (20.12.2019)

Weiterführende Links: