Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | KIT

Discussion paper on “socio-technical futures”

Technology visions, future scenarios, development models: Different imaginations of the future are getting more and more attention in public discourse. Researchers now put the question how TA should deal with this development up to debate.
Diskussionspapier „Soziotechnische Zukünfte“

Currently there is a wide range of concepts about the future of technology and society. It ranges from visions of a completely calculable world (Big Data) to simulations of regional and locally organized forms of energy production (energy transition) to new democratic forms of collectively produced knowledge and goods (Open Source, Open Design). Many of these “socio-technical futures” might be quite speculative, but they nevertheless play an important role in technology development and innovation processes. So there are reasons why the interest in technology-based concepts of the future is growing in politics, sciences, the economy, and society.

Technology assessment should address these concepts theoretically and methodologically in a more substantiated way and reflect more strongly on its own role in their assessment and organization. This is the conclusion of more than 20 researchers from the humanities and social sciences from universities and TA institutions in France, Germany, the Netherlands, and Austria. They presented their motivations and suggestions for such a program in the discussion paper “Technology assessment of socio-technical futures”. It was published in the series of discussion papers of the Institute of Technology Futures (ITZ/KIT) and is available online.

The paper emanated from the workshop “Die Gegenwart technischer Zukünfte – Theoretische und methodische Herausforderungen der Technikfolgenabschätzung“ (The present of technical futures – theoretical and methodological challenges of technology assessment) held in March 2016 in Karlsruhe in which all the authors participated. The workshop was initiated by the project “Visions as socio-epistemic practices” led by ITAS scientist Andreas Lösch and jointly organized by ITAS and the Institute of Technology Assessment (ITA) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. (24.01.2017)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Diskussionspapier zu „Soziotechnischen Zukünften“

Technikvisionen, Zukunftsszenarien, Entwicklungsleitbilder: Im öffentlichen Diskurs wächst die Aufmerksamkeit für Zukunftsvorstellungen aller Art. Die Frage, wie TA mit dieser Entwicklung umgehen sollte, stellen Forschende jetzt zur Debatte.
Diskussionspapier „Soziotechnische Zukünfte“

Die Bandbreite gegenwärtiger Vorstellungen der Zukunft von Technik und Gesellschaft ist groß. Sie reicht von Visionen einer vollständig berechenbaren Welt (Big Data) über Simulationen regionaler und dezentral organisierter Formen von Energieerzeugung (Energiewende), bis hin zu neuen demokratischen Formen kollektiver Produktion von Wissen und Gütern (Open Source, Open Design). Viele dieser „Soziotechnischen Zukünfte“ sind zwar äußerst spekulativ, spielen aber eine große Rolle in Technikentwicklungs- und Innovationsprozessen. Nicht umsonst wächst das Interesse an technikbasierten Zukunftsentwürfen in Politik, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.

Die Technikfolgenabschätzung sollte sich theoretisch und methodisch fundierter mit diesen Entwürfen befassen und ihre eigene Rolle bei deren Bewertung und Gestaltung stärker reflektieren. Zu diesem Schluss kommen über 20 geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Forscherinnen und Forscher aus Universitäten und TA-Institutionen in Frankreich, Deutschland, den Niederlanden und Österreich. Ihre Begründungen und Vorschläge für ein solches Programm haben sie in dem Diskussionspapier „Technikfolgenabschätzung von soziotechnischen Zukünften“ dargestellt. Es ist in der Reihe für Diskussionspapiere des Instituts für Technikzukünfte (ITZ/KIT) erschienen und hier online verfügbar.

Hervorgegangen ist das Papier aus dem Workshop „Die Gegenwart technischer Zukünfte – Theoretische und methodische Herausforderungen der Technikfolgenabschätzung“ im März 2016 in Karlsruhe, an dem alle Autorinnen und Autoren mitgewirkt haben. Angestoßen wurde der Workshop von dem Projekt „Leitbilder und Visionen als sozio-epistemische Praktiken“ unter Leitung des ITAS-Wissenschaftlers Andreas Lösch. Das ITAS organisierte die Veranstaltung gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung (ITA) der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (ÖAW). (24.01.2017)

Weiterführende Links: