Institute for Technology Assessment and  Systems Analysis (ITAS)

Medicine and health: New project on data use

Digital health technologies generate “data treasures”, but their use raises ethical, legal, and social questions. ITAS will pursue these questions in cooperation with the University of Freiburg. In July, the project partners met for the kick-off event.
Medicine and health: New project on data use
How should we handle data from fitness trackers and other health innovations? (Source: FitNish Media/Unsplash)

The use of data from consumer health technologies, such as, e.g., fitness trackers, and (electronic) patient records holds great potential for innovation in the healthcare sector. However, the use of this data also raises ethical and legal questions, for example regarding data protection and data ownership.

On 16 July 2020, ITAS started the DaDuHealth project in cooperation with partners from the University of Freiburg. The researchers investigate the conflicts between opportunities for scientific progress and patient well-being on the one hand and risks such as data misuse and other challenges of digitalization in the healthcare sector on the other hand.

Focus on social trends

ITAS particularly focuses on the social contexts of data generation and data processing. This includes, for example, the interests of the different actors of health data platforms or the connection with social trends such as self-optimization, DIY/hacking, and commercialization of medicine. The partners work, among other things, on ethical/legal questions and take part in a data and training experiment in running or cycling.

The project results will be presented, among others, in the form of a public fair (“Data World”) at the end of the project term, where both data magic and data “horror stories” can be experienced to provoke thought. (26.08.2020)

Further information:

  • Project page "Data Access and Data Use in Medical Institutional and Consumer Health Settings. An Ethical, Legal, and Social Analysis" (DaDuHealth) on the ITAS website

Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS)

Medizin und Gesundheit: Neues Projekt zu Datennutzung

Digitale Gesundheitstechnologien generieren „Datenschätze“, doch deren Nutzung wirft ethische, rechtliche und soziale Fragen auf. Diese untersucht das ITAS künftig mit der Universität Freiburg. Im Juli konnten sich die Projektpartner zum Kick-off treffen.
Wie umgehen mit den Medizin und Gesundheit: Neues Projekt zu Datennutzung
Wie umgehen mit den Daten von Fitness-Trackern und anderen Gesundheitsinnovationen? (Quelle: FitNish Media/Unsplash)

Die Nutzung von Daten aus Gesundheitstechnologien für Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher (Consumer Health Technologies), wie zum Beispiel Fitnessarmbändern und aus (elektronischen) Patientenakten birgt großes Innovationspotenzial im Gesundheitssektor. Zugleich wirft die Datennutzung jedoch ethische und rechtliche Fragen, beispielsweise zu Datenschutz und -eigentum, auf.

Am 16. Juli 2020 startete das ITAS nun gemeinsam mit den Partnern von der Universität Freiburg in das Projekt DaDuHealth. Die Forschenden beschäftigen sich darin mit dem Spannungsfeld zwischen Chancen für wissenschaftlichen Fortschritt und Patientenwohl einerseits und Risiken wie Missbrauch von Daten und anderen Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung im Gesundheitsbereich andererseits.

Gesellschaftliche Trends im Fokus

Das ITAS nimmt insbesondere die sozialen Kontexte der Datengenerierung und -verarbeitung in den Blick. Dazu gehören etwa die Interessen der verschiedenen Akteure von Gesundheitsdatenplattformen oder der Zusammenhang mit gesellschaftlichen Trends wie Selbstoptimierung, DIY/Hacking und Kommerzialisierung der Medizin. Die Partner arbeiten unter anderem an den ethisch-rechtlichen Fragen und nehmen selbst an einem Daten- und Trainingsexperiment im Lauf- oder Radsport teil.

Die Ergebnisse des Projekts werden am Ende der Laufzeit unter anderem in Form eines öffentlichen Jahrmarkts („Data World“) zur Schau gestellt, der Daten-Magie und -„Schrecken“ gleichermaßen erlebbar machen und zum Nachdenken anregen soll. (26.08.2020)

Weiterführende Informationen:

  • Projektseite "Datenzugang und Datennutzung in der medizinischen Versorgung und im Bereich Gesundheit und Freizeit. Eine ethische, rechtliche und soziale Analyse" (DaDuHealth) im ITAS-Webauftritt