Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

RRI project PRISMA: conclusion and outlook

How can research and innovation projects in industry be designed economically, sustainably, and responsibly at the same time? The European PRISMA project with the participation of ITAS has developed practical guidelines.
PRISMA - Piloting Responsible Research Innovation in Industry: A roadmap for transformative technologies
PRISMA is a project on responsible research and innovation (RRI)
Participants at a stakeholder dialogue in Berlin
Participants at a stakeholder dialogue in Berlin organized by ITAS.

Whether it’s the Internet of Things, autonomous vehicles, or nanotechnology – companies often work on technical innovations that can have a huge impact on people, societies, and the environment. Developing products that are safe, ethically sound, sustainable, and geared to people’s needs – this is what responsible research and innovation (RRI) is all about. The idea is that companies act in accordance with their social responsibility from the beginning to the end of an innovation or research project.

Practical methodology for roadmap development

The PRISMA project, funded by the European Commission, dealt with RRI in an industrial context. In eight industrial pilot projects, researchers from the Netherlands, Italy, Great Britain, and Germany developed a methodology for RRI roadmaps. To this end, ITAS organized several stakeholder dialogues in which the work in the pilot projects was discussed with research institutions, associations, and other groups.

This methodology helps companies develop strategies for socially responsible innovations.  “Innovation and economic success can go hand in hand with corporate social responsibility and sustainability,” says Maria João Maia, project manager at ITAS. With the results of the PRISMA project, this has become easier for companies in practice: “The consistent implementation of the methodology helps design research and innovation projects more forward-looking and responsible – from prototyping to market entry.”

Responsible research and innovation soon to become a standard?

After the project was successfully completed in July 2019 and the results were presented at a final conference, the partners are continuing the work due to high demand from industry: The next step is to transform the developed roadmap into a standard. A workshop is planned for the beginning of 2020. If you have questions or are interested, please contact Maria João Maia. (17.12.2019)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

RRI-Projekt PRISMA: Abschluss und Ausblick

Wie können Forschungs- und Innovationsvorhaben in der Industrie gleichzeitig wirtschaftlich, nachhaltig und verantwortungsbewusst gestaltet werden? Das europäische PRISMA-Projekt hat mit Beteiligung des ITAS Richtlinien für die Praxis entwickelt.
Futuristisches Bild von einer Frau, darüber der Schriftzug PRISMA - Piloting Responsible Research Innovation in Industry: A roadmap for transformative technologies
Das RRI-Projekt PRISMA
Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des vom ITAS organisierten Stakeholder-Dialogs in Berlin.
Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des vom ITAS organisierten Stakeholder-Dialogs in Berlin.

Ob Internet der Dinge, autonome Fahrzeuge oder Nanotechnologie – häufig arbeiten Unternehmen an technischen Innovationen, die für Menschen, Gesellschaften und die Umwelt sehr große Auswirkungen haben können. Produkte so zu entwickeln, dass sie sicher, ethisch vertretbar, nachhaltig und an den Bedürfnissen von Menschen ausgerichtet sind – darum geht es bei Responsible Research and Innovation (RRI). Die Idee ist, dass Unternehmen von Anfang bis Ende eines Innovations- oder Forschungsprojektes im Einklang mit ihrer gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung handeln.

Praxisnahe Methodik zur Roadmap-Entwicklung

Mit RRI im industriellen Kontext befasste sich das von der Europäischen Kommission geförderte Projekt PRISMA. In acht industriellen Pilotprojekten haben Forschende aus den Niederlanden, Italien, Großbritannien und Deutschland eine Methodik für RRI-Roadmaps entwickelt. Das ITAS organisierte dafür mehrere Stakeholder-Dialoge, in denen die Arbeit in den Pilotprojekten mit Forschungseinrichtungen, Verbänden und anderen Gruppen reflektiert wurde.

Diese Methodik hilft Unternehmen, Strategien für gesellschaftlich verantwortliche Innovationen zu entwickeln. „Innovation und wirtschaftlicher Erfolg können mit Corporate Social Responsibility und Nachhaltigkeit Hand in Hand gehen“, betont Maria João Maia, Projektleiterin am ITAS. Mit den Ergebnissen des PRISMA-Projekts sei dies für Unternehmen in der Praxis leichter geworden: „Die konsequente Umsetzung der Methodik hilft, Forschungs- und Innovationsprojekte vorausschauender und verantwortungsvoller zu gestalten – vom Prototyping bis zum Markteintritt.“

Responsible Research and Innovation bald als Norm?

Nach dem das Projekt im Juli 2019 erfolgreich beendet wurde und die Ergebnisse bei einer Abschlusskonferenz vorgestellt wurden, führen die Partner die Arbeit aufgrund großer Nachfrage seitens der Industrie fort: Die entwickelte Roadmap soll im nächsten Schritt in eine Norm umgewandelt werden. Anfang 2020 ist hierzu ein Workshop geplant. Bei Fragen und Interesse, wenden Sie sich gerne an Maria João Maia. (17.12.2019)

Weiterführende Informationen: