Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

ITAS Urban Transition Lab to be extended

The Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts funds the establishment of the Karlsruhe Transformation Center for Sustainable Futures and Cultural Change (KAT) to consolidate the transdisciplinary ITAS activities in Karlsruhe.
Reallabor des ITAS
Remains the center and origin of all real-world lab activities in ITAS: the Future Space in Karlsruhe’s Oststadt. (Photo: KIT)

 

ITAS scientists have been committed to a transformation towards sustainable ways of life and business in Karlsruhe for several years. In the context of their transdisciplinary real-world lab projects District Future – Urban Lab and Urban Transition Lab 131 they initiate and study real-life transformation processes and societal learning processes. They accompany, for instance, the energy transition within the district and the introduction of new mobility systems or climate-friendly forms of consumption.

Funded by the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts, the researchers can now institutionalize and align their transdisciplinary activities to long-term goals. The Ministry supports the conception and development of the “Karlsruhe Transformation Center for Sustainable Futures and Cultural Change” with EUR 480,000. KAT takes up the task to close the gap between knowledge and action and support the cultural change towards more sustainability and the related technological, social, and institutional conversion of society in the long term.

Apart from continuing the already existing real-world lab activities, project heads Oliver Parodi and Andreas Seebacher and their team want to extend their range of tasks with the newly founded Transformation Center. Education, advice, and transdisciplinary fundamental research shall complement the portfolio of the existing Urban Transition Lab. Also the ITAS knowledge gained over the last years on the theoretical and conceptual further development of the “real-world lab” format will be included. (26.01.2018)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

ITAS-Reallabor wird ausgebaut

Das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg fördert den Aufbau des Karlsruher Transformationszentrums für nachhaltige Zukünfte und Kulturwandel (KAT), um die transdisziplinären ITAS-Aktivitäten in Karlsruhe zu verstetigen.
Reallabor des ITAS
Bleibt Mittel- und Ausgangspunkt der Reallaboraktivitäten des ITAS: Zukunftsraum in der Karlsruher Oststadt. (Foto: KIT)

Seit mehreren Jahren engagieren sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des ITAS in Karlsruhe für eine Transformation zu nachhaltigen Lebens- und Wirtschaftsweisen. In den transdisziplinären Reallaborprojekten Quartier Zukunft − Labor Stadt und Reallabor 131: KIT findet Stadt initiieren und beobachten sie reale Veränderungs- und gesellschaftliche Lernprozesse. Sie begleiten etwa die Energiewende im Quartier und die Einführung neuer Mobilitätssysteme oder klimafreundlicher Konsumformen.

Gefördert vom Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst Baden-Württemberg können die Forschenden ihre transdisziplinären Aktivitäten nun langfristig ausrichten und institutionalisieren. Mit 480.000 Euro finanziert das Ministerium die Konzeption und Entwicklung des „Karlsruher Transformationszentrums für nachhaltige Zukünfte und Kulturwandel“. Das KAT tritt an, die Lücke zwischen Wissen und Handeln zu schließen und langfristig den Kulturwandel zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit und den damit verbundenen technischen, sozialen und institutionellen Umbau der Gesellschaft zu unterstützen.

Neben der Weiterführung bereits laufender Reallaboraktivitäten will das Team um die Projektleiter Oliver Parodi und Andreas Seebacher mit dem entstehenden Transformationszentrum sein Aufgabenspektrum ausbauen. Bildung, Beratung sowie transdisziplinäre Grundlagenforschung sollen das Portfolio des bestehenden Reallabors ergänzen. Einfließen werden dabei die in den letzten Jahren am ITAS erarbeiteten Erkenntnisse zur theoretischen und konzeptionellen Weiterentwicklung des Formats „Reallabor“. (26.01.2018)

Weiterführende Informationen: