Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

KIT supports new Transformation Center

The successful urban transition lab “District Future – Urban Lab” plans to establish a “Transformation Center for Sustainable Futures and Cultural Change” in Karlsruhe. The project is funded by the KIT with 150.000 euros in the next year.
Zukunftsraum des Reallabors 131: KIT findet Stadt
In front of the Future Space, the heart of the urban transition lab (Photo: Behrendt / KIT)

Closely connecting science and society – this is exactly what the “Karlsruhe Transformation Center for Sustainable Futures and Cultural Change” (short: KAT) is about. The new project will be established at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology within the next years.

The KAT will be based on the two award-winning ITAS projects “District Future – Urban Lab” and “Urban Transition Lab 131”, which focus on transformative and transdisciplinary research – with a spatial focus on the Oststadt of Karlsruhe.

The KAT aims to generate knowledge and contribute to research on the “great transformation”, which is strongly recommended by the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU). The goal is to support the long-term process of cultural change towards sustainable future by transforming our society – technically, socially and institutionally.

The follow-up funding allows the research project “District Future” to continue its work. Also, the “Future Space for Sustainability and Science”, which opened in 2015 and has become the spatial and communicative “heart” of the real-world lab, can be continued. (14.12.2017)

Further links and information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

KIT fördert Aufbau von Transformationszentrum

Ausgehend von dem erfolgreichen Reallaborprojekt „Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt“ soll in Karlsruhe ein „Transformationszentrum für nachhaltige Zukünfte und Kulturwandel“ entstehen. Das KIT fördert den Aufbau im kommenden Jahr mit 150.000 Euro.
Zukunftsraum des Reallabors 131: KIT findet Stadt
Vor dem „Zukunftsraum“, dem Herzstück des Karlsruher Reallabors (Foto: Behrendt / KIT)

Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft eng miteinander zu verschränken – darum geht es beim Aufbau des „Karlsruher Transformationszentrums für nachhaltige Zukünfte und Kulturwandel“ (KAT), das in den nächsten Jahren am KIT entstehen soll.

Ausgangspunkt der Entwicklung des KAT sind die preisgekrönten Projekte „Quartier Zukunft − Labor Stadt“ und „Reallabor 131: KIT findet Stadt“, mit denen das ITAS seit mehreren Jahren transformative und transdisziplinäre Forschung in der Karlsruher Oststadt betreibt.

Das KAT soll sowohl Wissen als auch Beiträge für die „große Transformation“ erarbeiten, die der Wissenschaftlichen Beirat der Bundesregierung Globale Umweltveränderungen (WBGU) dringend empfiehlt. Ziel ist es, langfristig den Kulturwandel zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit und den damit verbundenen technischen, sozialen und institutionellen Umbau unserer Gesellschaft zu unterstützen.

Die Anschlussförderung bedeutet auch die Weiterführung des Forschungsprojekts „Quartier Zukunft“ und des seit 2015 in der Oststadt angesiedelten „Zukunftsraums für Nachhaltigkeit und Wissenschaft“, dem räumlichen und kommunikativen Herzstück des Reallabors. (14.12.2017)

Weiterführende Links: