Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Navigation aid for the blind and visually impaired

More participation through digital technology – this is the aim of the BMBF project TERRAIN with new human-machine interfaces. Researchers at ITAS address, among other things, the issue of social acceptance of this technology.
The TERRAIN project wants to extend the mobility of visually impaired people considerably with a portable electronic assistance system. (Photo: KIT)
The TERRAIN project wants to extend the mobility of visually impaired people considerably with a portable electronic assistance system. (Photo: KIT)

Moving around independently in urban and congested living environments is often difficult and risky for blind or visually impaired people. The TERRAIN project ("Autonomous mobility for blind and visually impaired people in the urban space through audio-tactile navigation"), which is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), aims at providing them with an individual lifestyle and health-promoting mobility. In this context, scientists at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) develop in co-operation with two companies man-machine interfaces which can be adapted to the individual symptoms of the respective users. Apart from a high ease of use, the prevention of any stigmatizing effects for those affected is also a priority.

ITAS focuses on the aspect of "user involvement" in the project process. User studies and a requirements analysis form the basis for a technology development which is geared to the end user to realize a technology which provides an actual support for the blind and visually impaired. An inter- and transdisciplinary expert group co-ordinated by ITAS also contributes to the development-related technology assessment by answering technological, economic, ethical, social, and legal questions. In addition, researchers also focus on possible societal impacts of technology and its acceptance in public space. Citizens who are affected by this technology are asked about their opinion and perception of this technical assistance in a workshop. (18.08.2016)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Navigationshilfe für Blinde und Sehgeschädigte

Mehr Teilhabe durch digitale Technik – dieses Ziel verfolgt das BMBF-Projekt TERRAIN mit neuen Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen. Forscherinnen und Forscher des ITAS beschäftigen sich unter anderem mit der gesellschaftlichen Akzeptanz der Technologie.
Das Projekt TERRAIN will mit einem tragbaren elektronischen Assistenzsystem den Bewegungsspielraum Sehgeschädigter deutlich erweitern. (Bild: KIT)
Das Projekt TERRAIN will mit einem tragbaren elektronischen Assistenzsystem den Bewegungsspielraum Sehgeschädigter deutlich erweitern. (Bild: KIT)

Sich selbstständig in urbanen und verkehrsreichen Lebensräumen zu bewegen, ist für blinde und sehgeschädigte Menschen oft schwierig und riskant. Ihnen einen individuellen Lebensstil und gesundheitsfördernde Mobilität zu ermöglichen, ist das Ziel des vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte Vorhabens TERRAIN („Selbständige Mobilität blinder und sehbehinderter Menschen im urbanen Raum durch audio-taktile Navigation“). Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) entwickeln dabei zusammen mit zwei Unternehmen Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen, die sich individuell an die Symptomatik der jeweiligen Nutzer anpassen lassen. Neben einem hohen Bedienkomfort liegt das Augenmerk auch darauf, stigmatisierende Effekte für die Betroffenen auszuschließen.

Die Aufgaben des ITAS stehen dabei unter dem Motto der „Nutzereinbindung“ in den Projektprozess. Nutzerstudien und eine Anforderungsanalyse bilden die Grundlage, um eine am Endanwender orientierte Technikentwicklung zu ermöglichen und so eine Technik zu realisieren, die tatsächlich eine Unterstützung für blinde und sehbehinderte Menschen darstellt. Zur entwicklungsbegleitenden Technikfolgenabschätzung trägt auch ein vom ITAS koordinierter inter- und transdisziplinärer Expertenbeirat bei, der technische, ökonomische, ethische, soziale und rechtliche Fragestellungen beantwortet. Darüber hinaus richten die Forscherinnen und Forscher den Blick auf mögliche gesellschaftliche Folgen der Technik und ihre Akzeptanz im öffentlichen Raum. Bürgerinnen und Bürger als von der Technik betroffene werden in einem Workshop zu ihren Bewertungen und Wahrnehmungen der technischen Assistenz befragt. (18.08.2016)

Weiterführende Links: