Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Aristotle’s virtue ethics for today’s innovators

Martin Sand received the Best Paper Award at this year’s Philosophy of Management conference. His paper "The virtues and vices of innovators" impressed the jury because of its philosophical clarity and distinct practical relevance.
Kreativität als Tugend: Apple-Gründer Steve Jobs
Creativity as virtue: Apple founder Steve Jobs in drawing of Graziano Origa (Source: Origafoundation / Wikimedia CC BY-SA 3.0)

At this years’ Best Paper Award at the Philosophy of Management conference in Oxford, Martin Sand succeeded against 40 competitors. In his awarded paper "The virtues and vices of innovators", which was presented in the Philosophy of Innovation track, Sand, philosopher and junior scientist at ITAS, emphasizes the relevance of virtue ethics for the current debate on responsible research and innovation (RRI). He focuses on the role of innovators and argues for a more extensive development of virtues such as creativity, eagerness, and moderation. The significance of his analysis is exemplified through the biographies of Steve Jobs and the protagonist of Mary Shelly’s novel Frankenstein.

The jury praised the paper for its practical relevance and argumentative clarity. Sand makes Aristotle fruitful for the innovation discourse in an impressive manner. Approximately 70 participants from a variety of disciplines visited the 11th conference of the series on 14-17 July 2016 which was organized by the University of Greenwich. The conference committee included, amongst others, Vincent Blok, Assistant Professor at University Wageningen, who organized the track Philosophy of Innovation, the editor of Philosophy of Management Paul Griseri from the University of Middlesex and Wim Vanderkerckhove from the University of Greenwich who was the main organizer of the conference.

The award includes a 500€ Springer book voucher. The paper will be published in a special issue of Philosophy of Management. (28.07.2016)

Further links and information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Aristoteles’ Tugendethik für Innovatoren von heute

Martin Sand hat den Best Paper Award der diesjährigen Philosophy of Management Konferenz gewonnen. Sein Artikel „The virtues and vices of innovators“ überzeugte die Juroren vor allem durch seine philosophische Klarheit und einen deutlichen Praxisbezug.
Kreativität als Tugend: Apple-Gründer Steve Jobs
Kreativität als Tugend: Apple-Gründer Steve Jobs gezeichnet von Graziano Origa (Quelle: Origafoundation / Wikimedia CC BY-SA 3.0)

Bei der diesjährigen Verleihung des Best Paper Awards der Philosophy of Management Konferenz in Oxford konnte sich Martin Sand gegenüber 40 Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern durchsetzen. In seinem prämierten Artikel „The virtues and vices of innovators“, der im Track Philosophy of Innovation präsentiert wurde, stellt Sand, Philosoph und Nachwuchswissenschaftler am ITAS, die Relevanz der Tugendethik für die gegenwärtige Diskussion um die verantwortungsvolle Gestaltung von Innovationsprozessen heraus. Er fokussiert dabei auf die Rolle der Innovatoren und argumentiert für eine stärkere Ausprägung von Tugenden wie Kreativität, Beharrlichkeit und Mäßigung. Die Bedeutung dieser Herangehensweise wird anhand der Biografie von Steve Jobs und des Protagonisten aus Mary Shellys Novelle Frankenstein verdeutlicht.

Die Juroren lobten den Artikel für seine besondere Praxisrelevanz und argumentative Klarheit. Sand mache in eindrucksvoller Weise Aristoteles für den Innovationsdiskurs fruchtbar. Zur elften Auflage der Konferenz, die von der Universität Greenwich organisiert wurde, reisten vom 14. bis 17. Juli 2016 circa 70 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer aus den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen an. Zum Konferenzkomitee gehörten unter anderem Vincent Blok, Assistenzprofessor in Wageningen, der den Track Philosophy of Innovation leitete, der Herausgeber des Journals Philosophy of Management Paul Griseri von der Universität Middlesex und Wim Vanderkerckhove, von der Uni Greenwich, der als Hauptverantwortlicher die Konferenz organisierte.

Der Preis ist mit einem 500€ Springer-Buchgutschein dotiert. Der Artikel erscheint voraussichtlich noch in diesem Jahr in einer Special Section von Philosophy of Management. (28.07.2016)

Weiterführende Links: