Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Urban sustainability experiments selected

The District Future project was looking for ideas for “SustainabilityExperiments” in Karlsruhe until mid-June. The four winning teams can now put their concepts to the test in the urban space. The kick-off event will take place on Monday, 4 July 2016.
news_2016_033_Dein_NachhaltigkeitsExperiment
Graphics: District Future / ITAS

How can we live a good life in the city today – and at the same time respect the world we are part of, the world that surrounds us, and the world to come? The ITAS urban development project District Future – Urban Lab explores the question how a good life can be achieved by taking sustainability into account. The focus is on trying out new strategies for the future, in co-operation of science and urban society.

"Your SustainabilityExperiment", the most recent initiative of the transdisciplinary District Future team, will also put the future to the test. In co-operation with the Bürgerstiftung Karlsruhe, the researchers were looking for people from Karlsruhe with experimental ideas to bring forward a culture of sustainability in their district.

Its focus should be on the community aspect and the slow movement: "Sustainability aims at community, sustainability needs community. A profound change can only be achieved with a strong sense of community", explains project head Oliver Parodi. "It also takes us some time to become aware of the consequences of our own actions. Therefore slowing down is a central element for the creation of a culture of sustainability."

For the next nine months, the winning teams can put all their efforts into realizing their SustainabilityExperiments in the district. This undertaking is funded with a total of 12,000 euros; District Future provides the scientific support.

These experimental concepts were selected by the jury:

BEDS & BEES. "Snack beds" for people and bees shall be planted in the district and tended together.

CREATIVE SALON. The experiment provides space and time for creativity and invites people in for music, singing, and play-acting.

OSTSTADT HAUNT. A regular venue in Karlsruhe’s Oststadt for the young and the old, newcomers and long-time residents: The experiment wants to provide a place for encounter, neighborly help, and the exchange of sustainability knowledge.

SECOND FUTURE. A second-hand label is planned to make sustainable purchase decisions visible.

On Monday, 4 July 2016, at 6 p.m. the opening event "Your SustainabilityExperiment: KICK-OFF!" will take place at the future space in Rintheimerstraße 46. Those who want to learn more about the selected SustainabilityExperiments are very welcome!

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Urbane Nachhaltigkeits-Experimente ausgewählt

Das ITAS-Projekt Quartier Zukunft hat bis Mitte Juni nach Ideen für „NachhaltigkeitsExperimente“ in Karlsruhe gesucht. Vier Gewinnerteams können jetzt ihre Konzepte im Stadtraum erproben. Eine Auftaktveranstaltung findet am Montag, 4. Juli 2016, statt.
Gewinner von Dein NachhaltigkeitsExperiment des ITAS-Projekts Quartier Zukunft
Grafik: Quartier Zukunft / ITAS

Wie kann man heute in der Stadt gut leben – und dabei Mitwelt, Umwelt und Nachwelt achten? In der Karlsruher Oststadt geht das Stadtentwicklungsprojekt Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt des ITAS der Frage nach, wie gutes Leben unter dem Vorzeichen der Nachhaltigkeit gelingen kann. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei das Ausprobieren neuer Zukunftsstrategien, im Miteinander von Wissenschaft und Stadtgesellschaft.

Die Zukunft erproben will auch „Dein NachhaltigkeitsExperiment“, die jüngste Initiative des transdisziplinären Quartier Zukunft-Teams. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Bürgerstiftung Karlsruhe suchten die Forscherinnen und Forscher Menschen aus Karlsruhe, die mit Experimentideen eine Kultur der Nachhaltigkeit in ihrem Quartier voranbringen können.

Der Fokus sollte dabei auf den Themen Gemeinschaft und Entschleunigung liegen: „Nachhaltigkeit zielt auf Gemeinschaft, Nachhaltigkeit braucht Gemeinschaft. Nur in Verbundenheit lässt sich ein tiefgreifender Wandel gestalten“, so Projektleiter Oliver Parodi. „Außerdem braucht man Zeit, um sich über die Folgen des eigenen Handelns bewusst zu werden. Darum ist auch Entschleunigung zentral, wenn es um das Schaffen einer Kultur der Nachhaltigkeit geht.“

Ab jetzt dreht sich für die vier Gewinnerteams neun Monaten lang alles darum, ihre „NachhaltigkeitsExperimente“ im Quartier Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen. Die Umsetzung ihrer Ideen wird mit insgesamt 12.000 Euro unterstützt und vom Quartier Zukunft wissenschaftlich begleitet.

Diese Experimentkonzepte konnten die Jury überzeugen:

BEETE & BIENEN. „Naschbeete“ für Menschen und Bienen sollen im Quartier errichtet und gemeinschaftlich gepflegt werden.

KREATIV-SALON. Raum und Zeit für Kreativität stehen im Mittelpunkt des Experiments, das zu Musik, Gesang und Theaterspiel einlädt.

OSTSTADT-TREFF. Ein fester Treffpunkt in der Karlsruher Oststadt für Jung und Alt, Zugezogene und Alteingesessene: Das Experiment will Begegnungen, Nachbarschaftshilfe und den Austausch von Nachhaltigkeitswissen ermöglich.

SECOND FUTURE. Geplant ist ein Secondhand-Label, das nachhaltige Kaufentscheidungen sichtbar macht.

Am Montag, 4. Juli 2016, um 18:30 Uhr findet die Auftaktveranstaltung „Dein NachhaltigkeitsExperiment: KICK OFF!“ im Zukunftsraum in der Rintheimerstraße 46 statt. Alle, die mehr über die ausgewählten „NachhaltigkeitsExperimente“ erfahren wollen, sind herzlich eingeladen! (30.06.2016)

Weiterführende Informationen: