Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Synthetic Biology – Conference and Festival in Amsterdam

In contrast to classic genetic engineering, synthetic biology opens up advanced possibilities to design or re-design organisms. The related societal aspects are subject of the SYNENERGENE Forum on 24 and 25 June 2016.
SYNENERGENE Forum „Synthetic Biology – Visions of the Future” 24. bis 25. Juni 2016

With the help of synthetic biology, researchers and companies strive for more effective methods to re-design natural organisms and generate completely new biological systems. Applications range from the use of microorganisms for a more sustainable production of fuels and new forms of therapy using specifically designed bacteria to the creation of new artificial forms of life.

Much is still a matter of basic research, but the potentially groundbreaking innovations already raise questions about the future development of this research field:

  • What are the opportunities of synthetic biology to solve societal challenges and how realistic are the corresponding expectations?
  • Which negative implications for the environment and society could result from its application?
  • How can we contribute in a responsible way to its future development?

These questions will be discussed at the SYNENERGENE Forum "Synthetic Biology - Visions of the Future", which will be held in Amsterdam on 24 and 25 June 2016. The first day is organized like a conference with plenary and parallel sessions, addressing primarily experts and stakeholders. The second day will have the character of a festival, opening up the subject for the general public. The forum is organized by SYNENERGENE, an EU-funded "Mobilization and Mutual Learning Action Plan" coordinated by ITAS with the aim of contributing to responsible research and innovation in the field of synthetic biology. The experiences and results of the project which started in 2013 will be presented at the forum.

These include:

  • Visions of synthetic biology from science, industry, and art,
  • discussion of biosafety and biosecurity, risk assessment, and research funding,
  • proposals for future development of research and application,
  • discussion of the contribution of synthetic biology to cope with societal challenges, including representatives of civil society organizations, scientists, and biohackers,
  • a science café on novel vaccines, theatrical debates, and a short film program with artistic visions on synthetic biology.

Participation is free of charge. (11.05.2016)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Synthetische Biologie – Konferenz und Festival in Amsterdam

Im Gegensatz zur klassischen Gentechnik eröffnet die Synthetische Biologie weitergehende Möglichkeiten Organismen um- oder neuzugestalten. Die damit verbundenen gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen sind am 24. und 25. Juni 2016 Thema des SYNENERGENE Forums.
SYNENERGENE Forum „Synthetic Biology – Visions of the Future” 24. bis 25. Juni 2016

Mit der Synthetischen Biologie streben Forschende und Unternehmen nach wirksameren Methoden natürliche Organismen umzugestalten und komplett neue biologische Systeme herzustellen. Die Anwendungen reichen von der Nutzung von Mikroorganismen zur nachhaltigeren Produktion von Treibstoffe über neue Therapieformen mittels eigens entworfener Bakterien bis hin zur Schaffung neuer künstlicher Lebensformen.

Vieles ist bisher noch Grundlagenforschung, doch die potenziell weitreichenden Veränderungen werfen bereits jetzt Fragen nach der zukünftigen Entwicklung des Forschungsfelds auf:

  • Welche Chancen eröffnet die Synthetische Biologie mit Blick auf die anstehenden gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen und wie realistisch sind entsprechende Erwartungen?
  • Welche möglichen negativen Auswirkungen auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft können sich aus ihren Anwendungen ergeben?
  • Wie lässt sich ihre Zukunft verantwortlich gestalten?

Diese Fragen stehen im Mittelpunkt des SYNENERGENE Forums, das vom 24. bis 25. Juni 2016 unter dem Motto „Synthetic Biology – Visions of the Future” in Amsterdam stattfindet. Während sich der erste Tag als Konferenz mit Vorträgen und Diskussionsrunden in erster Linie an Experten und Stakeholder richtet, öffnet der zweite mit Festivalcharakter das Thema für die breitere Öffentlichkeit. Das Forum wird organisiert von SYNENERGENE, einem EU-geförderten und durch ITAS koordinierten „Mobilisation and Mutual Learning Action Plan“ mit dem Ziel, Ansätze für eine verantwortungsvolle Forschung und Entwicklung („Responsible Research and Innovation“) auf dem Gebiet der Synthetischen Biologie zu entwickeln und zu erproben. Die Erfahrungen und Ergebnisse des seit 2013 laufenden Projekts werden im Rahmen des Forums vorgestellt.

Dazu gehören unter anderem:

  • Zukunftsvisionen der Synthetischen Biologie aus Wissenschaft, Industrie und Kunst,
  • Diskussion von Sicherheitsfragen, Risikobewertung und Forschungsförderung,
  • Vorschläge zur zukünftigen Entwicklung von Forschung und Anwendung,
  • Diskussion des Beitrags der Synthetischen Biologie zur Lösung gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen, u.a. mit Vertretern zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen, Wissenschaftlern und Biohackern,
  • ein Science Café zu neuartigen Impfstoffen, theatrale Debatten und ein Kurzfilmprogramm mit künstlerischen Visionen zur Synthetischen Biologie.

Die Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung ist kostenlos. (11.05.2016)

Weitere Informationen: