Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Two China-Europe workshops in Beijing [18.10.2012]

Two China-Europe workshops on socio-technological change and multidisciplinary research were held in Beijing on September 6 and 7 2012. They were initiated by the Rathenau Instituut, ITAS, and the member institutions of the European project GEST (Global Ethics in Science and Technology) which attempts to promote a global debate and to create a global network of experts on the core socio-ethical issues related to the present grand S&T challenges.

The first workshop on "Grand Socio-technological Challenges", co-organized by two European TA institutes (Rathenau Instituut and ITAS) and the Chinese Academy of Science and Technology for Development (CASTED), was focused on societal aspects of the grand challenges both regions have to face. In this workshop the organizers intended to combine European and Chinese expertise on issues of risk-communication, participation and trust related to socio-technological challenges – such as an ageing society, global warming, increasing stress on food and other supplies – in the specific Chinese and European regions to explore the challenges they pose for STS policy. In this context, Linda Nierling, ITAS, held a lecture on "Ageing Society - Technical Solutions for a Societal Problem?".

The purpose of the second workshop on multidisciplinarity, which was co-organized together with a second Chinese research institution, the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), was to explore the possibilities of stimulating co-operation with the social sciences in the area of problem-oriented science and technology. Again Chinese and European expertise covered jointly cross-sectional S&T themes like designing multidisciplinarity or responsible research and innovation as well as multidisciplinary policy challenges like environmental management or urbanisation. The interdisciplinary research perspective led to discussions on major challenges China is going to face in policy areas such as urbanisation, ageing society and environmental management. In this context Michael Decker, ITAS, gave a talk on "Integrating knowledge across disciplinary boundaries. Challenges posed to interdisciplinary research".

Participants were Chinese and European, but also Indian, South African, Brazilian, and Japanese scientists and science policymakers from the fields of science policy studies, Foresight, and TA. Furthermore, representatives of the German and Dutch embassies as well as the European Commission participated in the workshops.

Both, organizers and participants confirmed their interest in continuing and intensifying their exchange and cooperation on a global level. As follow up activities s of these workshops two concise reports will be made for the relevant governmental bodies in China and the EU. In the EU the recommendations following from these reports will be directed to the Commissioner for Research and Innovation who is responsible for the new framework program Horizon 2020 and for the functioning of the European Research Council, which will hopefully lead to further research cooperation in these fields.

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

ITAS im Rahmen des GEST-Projekts in Peking [18.10.2012]

Am 6. und 7. September 2012 fanden in Peking zwei China-Europa-Workshops zu sozio-technologischem Wandel sowie zu multidisziplinärer Forschung statt. Initiiert wurden diese beiden Workshops vom Rathenau Instituut, ITAS und weiteren Projektpartnern des EU-Projekts GEST (Global Ethics in Science and Technology), welches darauf abzielt, eine globale Diskussion sowie ein weltweites Expertennetzwerk zu sozio-ethischen Kernthemen anzuregen und zu fördern, die im Zusammenhang mit großen wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Herausforderungen stehen.

Der erste Workshop zu „großen sozio-technologischen Herausforderungen“, der gemeinsam von zwei europäischen TA Instituten (Rathenau Instituut und ITAS) sowie der Chinese Academy of Science and Technology for Development (CASTED) organisiert wurde, fokussierte auf die sozialen Aspekte dieser großen Herausforderungen, denen sich die Gesellschaften beider Regionen gegenüber sehen. Die Organisatoren haben es verstanden, europäische und chinesische Expertise zu Fragestellungen der Risikokommunikation, der Partizipation und der Vertrauensbildung im Kontext großer sozio-technologischer Herausforderungen – wie etwa der alternden Gesellschaften, der globalen Erwärmung oder der zunehmende Knappheit von Nahrungsmitteln und anderen wichtigen Ressourcen – ins Gespräch zu bringen. Linda Nierling, ITAS, hielt in diesem Rahmen einen Vortrag zu „Ageing Society – Technical Solutions for a Societal Problem?“.

Ziel des zweiten Workshops zur Multidisziplinarität, der von der Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) als chinesischem Partner mitorganisiert wurde, war es, Wege für eine vertiefte Zusammenarbeit der Sozialwissenschaften im Bereich problemorientierter Wissenschaft und Technologie aufzuzeigen. Auch hier haben chinesische und europäische Experten gemeinsam Querschnittsthemen aus dem Wissenschafts- und Technologiebereich bearbeitet, etwa die Ausgestaltung von Multidisziplinarität, verantwortungsvolle Forschung und Entwicklung oder multidisziplinär angelegte politische Herausforderungen, wie Umweltmanagement oder Urbanisierung. Michael Decker, ITAS, hielt einen Vortrag zu „Integrating knowledge across disciplinary boundaries. Challenges posed to interdisciplinary research”.

Unter den Teilnehmern fanden sich nicht nur chinesische und europäische, sondern auch indische, südafrikanische, brasilianische und japanische Wissenschaftler und Politiker aus den Natur- und Technikwissenschaften sowie aus den Bereichen der Zukunftsforschung und der TA. Darüber hinaus nahmen auch Repräsentanten der niederländischen und der deutschen Botschaft sowie Vertreter der Europäischen Kommission teil.

Am Ende beider Workshops bestärkten sowohl Organisatoren als auch Teilnehmer ihr Interesse an einer Fortführung und Intensivierung des wissenschaftlichen Austauschs und der Zusammenarbeit auf globaler Ebene. Als Folgeaktion dieser beiden Workshops sollen zwei Kurzberichte für die beteiligten bzw. vertretenen Regierungsstellen abgefasst werden und den zuständigen Stellen in China und der EU präsentiert werden. In der EU werden die Politikempfehlungen aus diesen Berichten an den Kommissar für Forschung und Entwicklung weitergeleitet, der für die Gestaltung des neuen Rahmenprogramms Horizon 2020 sowie die Arbeitsweise des Europäischen Forschungsrats (ERC) zuständig ist, in der Absicht, die Forschungszusammenarbeit in den o.g. Feldern zu intensivieren.

Weiterführende Links: