Institute for Technology Assessment and  Systems Analysis (ITAS)

Not in my backyard: Acceptance of renewable energies

Why do local measures for the German energy transition meet resistance, despite great general approval? Findings by scientists of ITAS and TU Berlin have now been selected and disseminated as a policy brief by the European Commission.
Not in my backyard: Akzeptanz erneuerbarer Energien
Source: European Commission/Environment Directorate-General

Studies indicate a strong and constant public support for the energy transition in Germany. However, when implementing technologies like wind farms or electricity transmission lines, local protests are frequent. In order to overcome the NIMBY – ’not in my backyard’ — phenomenon, researchers from ITAS and the TU Berlin devised a social-psychological model to investigate the public’s attitude towards renewable energies.

Building on that, the researchers conducted a survey that focused on hydrogen fuel stations, biofuel production plants, and stationary battery storage facilities. The goal was to explore the respondents’ trust in industry and in municipality, as well as the perceived problems of the current energy system and their environmental self-identity (respondents’ general environmental concerns).

“Our findings reveal that social factors such as trust in the industry or the local authorities are very important for local implementation projects,” states Marcel Weil, leader of the ITAS research group Research for Sustainable Energy Technologies and co-author of the study. “In contrast, problems such as climate change and resource depletion are more relevant for the acceptance of new energy technologies in general.”

The results were initially published in the scientific journal Energy Policy and have now been disseminated Europe-wide in issue 551 of “Science for Environment Policy”, a news service published by the European Commission’s Environment Directorate-General. It is designed to help the busy policymaker keep up-to-date with the latest environmental research findings needed to design, implement, and regulate effective policies. (23.12.2020)

Further information:

Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS)

Not in my backyard: Akzeptanz erneuerbarer Energien

Warum stoßen einzelne Maßnahmen zur Energiewende in Deutschland trotz insgesamt großer Zustimmung vor Ort auf so viel Widerstand? Erkenntnisse von Forschenden des ITAS und der TU Berlin wurden jetzt für einen Policy Brief der EU-Kommission ausgewählt.
Not in my backyard: Akzeptanz erneuerbarer Energien
Quelle: Europäische Kommission/Generaldirektion Umwelt

Studien belegen, dass die Energiewende in Deutschland in der Öffentlichkeit eine starke und anhaltende Unterstützung erfährt. Wenn es jedoch um die Realisierung von neuen Technologien, wie z. B. den Bau von Windparks oder Stromleitungen geht, regt sich vor Ort häufig Widerstand. Um das sogenannte „Not in my backyard“-Phänomen, kurz NIMBY, zu überwinden, haben Forscherinnen und Forscher des ITAS und der TU Berlin ein sozialpsychologisches Modell entwickelt, um die Einstellung der Öffentlichkeit zu erneuerbaren Energien zu erforschen.

Darauf aufbauend führten die Forschenden eine Umfrage zum Thema Wasserstofftankstellen, Biokraftanlagen und stationäre Batteriespeicher durch. Sie wollten nicht nur das Vertrauen der Befragten in Industrie und Kommune erforschen, sondern auch die wahrgenommenen Probleme des derzeitigen Energiesystems und ihre ökologische Selbstidentität (die allgemeinen Umweltbedenken der Befragten) betrachten.

„Unsere Ergebnisse zeigen, dass soziale Faktoren wie das Vertrauen in die Industrie oder die lokalen Behörden sehr wichtig für die Umsetzung der Projekte vor Ort sind“, sagt Marcel Weil, Leiter der ITAS-Forschungsgruppe Forschung für nachhaltige Energietechnologien und Mitautor der Studie. „Im Gegensatz dazu sind Probleme wie Klimawandel und Ressourcenverknappung für die allgemeine Akzeptanz neuer Energietechnologien relevanter.“

Die Ergebnisse wurden zunächst in der Fachzeitschrift „Energy Policy“ veröffentlicht und sind nun in der Ausgabe 551 von „Science for Environment Policy“, einem Newsdienst der Generaldirektion Umwelt der Europäischen Kommission, europaweit verbreitet worden. Es soll den vielbeschäftigten Entscheidungsträgern helfen, sich über die neuesten Erkenntnisse der Umweltforschung auf dem Laufenden zu halten, die für die Gestaltung, Umsetzung und Regulierung wirksamer politischer Maßnahmen erforderlich sind. (23.12.2020)

Weitere Informationen: