Institute for Technology Assessment and  Systems Analysis (ITAS)

New TATuP issue on “Converging Infrastructures”

Digitalization allows networks for energy, mobility, and information to be linked ever more closely. How these “converging infrastructures” can be used for social transformation is addressed in the current TATuP.
New TATuP issue on “Converging Infrastructures”
TATuP 2/2020 "Converging Infrastructures"

The coupling of different sectors such as energy, transport, and heating or cooling promises a more efficient use of resources, reduced greenhouse gas emissions, and thus a significant contribution to the transformation toward a sustainable energy system. However, this requires profound social, organizational, and institutional integration. As the editors of the current Special Topic suggest, this could lead to manifold socio-technical problems.

Converging infrastructures exacerbate socio-technical problems

Against this background, the authors of the TATuP Special Topic “Converging Infrastructures” examine the opportunities and risks of converging infrastructures from a variety of perspectives. In addition to theoretical considerations for the analysis of socio-technical problems and possible approaches for TA, the authors compare, for example, technologies for the coupling of gas, electricity, and heating networks from an economic and ecological point of view. The focus is also on first results of a pilot project on residential buildings with smart energy supply in Austria, as well as on questions of data protection and democratic control using the example of the increasingly digitalized energy system in the Netherlands.

Interview on India’s Green Revolution

In the TATuP interview, Jack Loveridge explains how technology and international cooperation have contributed to India’s “Green Revolution”. The historian of technology from Harvard University’s Weatherhead Center for International Affairs specifically addresses the challenges related to population control, social and economic inequality, and environmental issues.

Also in the current TATuP: a study on the evaluation of care, therapy, and sex robots, a presentation of research results on 5G wireless communication and health effects, as well as reviews and news from the TA community.  (21.07.2020)

Further links:

Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS)

Neue TATuP-Ausgabe „Konvergierende Infrastrukturen“

Die Digitalisierung erlaubt es, Netzwerke für Energie, Mobilität und Information immer enger miteinander zu verknüpfen. Wie diese „konvergierenden Infrastrukturen“ zur gesellschaftlichen Transformation genutzt werden können, ist Thema der aktuellen TATuP.
TATuP Konvergierende Infrastrukturen
TATuP 2/2020 "Konvergierende Infrastrukturen"

Die Kopplung verschiedener Sektoren wie Energie, Transport und Wärme beziehungsweise Kühlung verspricht eine effizientere Ressourcennutzung, reduzierte Treibhausgasemissionen und somit einen bedeutenden Beitrag für die Transformation hin zu einem nachhaltigen Energiesystem. Dazu ist jedoch eine tiefgreifende soziale, organisatorische und institutionelle Integration notwendig. Diese, so die These der aktuellen Thema-Herausgeber, könne jedoch zu vielfältigen soziotechnischen Problemen führen.

Konvergierende Infrastrukturen verschärfen soziotechnische Probleme

Vor diesem Hintergrund beleuchten die Autorinnen und Autoren des TATuP-Themas „Converging Infrastructures“ aus vielfältigen Perspektiven die Chancen und Risiken konvergierender Infrastrukturen. Neben theoretischen Überlegungen zur Analyse soziotechnischer Probleme und Ansatzmöglichkeiten für die TA werden beispielsweise Techniken zur Kopplung von Gas-, Strom- und Wärmenetzen ökonomisch und ökologisch verglichen. Im Fokus stehen auch erste Ergebnisse eines Pilotprojekts zu Wohngebäuden mit intelligenter Energieversorgung in Österreich sowie Fragen des Datenschutzes und der demokratischen Kontrolle am Beispiel des zunehmend digitalisierten Energiesystems der Niederlande.

Interview zu Indiens Grüner Revolution

Wie Technologie und internationale Zusammenarbeit zu Indiens „Grüner Revolution“ beigetragen haben, erklärt Jack Loveridge im TATuP-Interview. Der Technikhistoriker vom Weatherhead Center for International Affairs der Harvard University geht dabei insbesondere auf die Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit Bevölkerungskontrolle, sozialer und wirtschaftlicher Ungleichheit sowie ökologischen Aspekten ein.

Außerdem in der neuen TATuP: eine Studie über die Bewertung von Pflege-, Therapie- und Sexrobotern, die Vorstellung von Forschungsergebnissen zu 5G-Mobilfunk und Gesundheit sowie Rezensionen und Neuigkeiten aus der TA-Szene. (21.07.2020)

Weiterführende Links: