Institute for Technology Assessment and  Systems Analysis (ITAS)

Paper on 3D printing: Technology assessment is needed

A statement by the German academies of science highlights research needs, potentials, and options for action in dealing with additive manufacturing processes. One of the authors is Rafaela Hillerbrand, professor of philosophy of technology at ITAS.
Papier zu 3D-Druck: Technikfolgen-Abschätzung notwendig
Source: Academies of Science

Additive manufacturing, usually referred to as 3D printing, is used privately, but especially also industrially. Here, the application areas range from construction, medicine, and cultural heritage to food production.

Additive manufacturing can be used in many ways

Where the manifold potentials of technology are, what its dissemination means for society, what should be further researched, and what options for action politics has, is discussed in a statement published by the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina in cooperation with the National Academy of Science and Engineering acatech and the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities. The Leopoldina Working Group „Additive Manufacturing“ of which the philosopher of science and technology Rafaela Hillerbrand from ITAS is a member, is largely responsible for the paper.

Need for accompanying research

While the study sees opportunities in the cheaper and more sustainable manufacture of products with improved properties, it also points to the need for further research. Since additive manufacturing affects many areas of society, further research on the acceptance and acceptability of additive manufacturing and an accompanying technology assessment are particularly needed.

The researchers also recommend developing intuitively operated software to expand the range of users of the processes. New quality standards and test procedures for product safety are also needed. In addition, engineers and skilled workers need to be better qualified to handle the new technology.

Already in 2016, the academies, led by acatech, had issued a statement on additive manufacturing, which focused primarily on industrial production, value-added networks, and business models. (23.06.2020)

Bibliographic data:

Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina, Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften, acatech – Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (Hg.)

Additive Fertigung. Entwicklungen, Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen. Halle (Saale) 2020, 89 S., ISBN: 978-3-8047-3636-8.

PDF-Download (Open Access)

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Papier zu 3D-Druck: Technikfolgen-Abschätzung notwendig

Eine Stellungnahme der Leopoldina beleuchtet Forschungsbedarf, Potenziale und Handlungsoptionen im Umgang mit Verfahren Additiver Fertigung. Eine der Autorinnen ist Rafaela Hillerbrand, Professorin für Technikphilosophie am ITAS.
Papier zu 3D-Druck: Technikfolgen-Abschätzung notwendig
Quelle: Wissenschaftsakademien

Additive Fertigung, meist als 3D-Druck bezeichnet, wird privat, insbesondere aber auch industriell eingesetzt. Ihre Anwendungsgebiete reichen vom Bauwesen, über Medizin und Kulturgutpflege bis hin zur Lebensmittelproduktion.

Additive Fertigung vielseitig einsetzbar

Wo die vielfältigen Potenziale der Technik liegen, was ihre Verbreitung für die Gesellschaft bedeutet, woran weiter geforscht werden sollte und welche Handlungsoptionen die Politik hat, diskutiert eine Stellungnahme, die die Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina in Zusammenarbeit mit acatech und der Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften herausgegeben hat. Maßgeblich für das Papier verantwortlich ist die Arbeitsgruppe „Additive Fertigung“ der Leopoldina, der die Wissenschafts- und Technikphilosophin Rafaela Hillerbrand vom ITAS angehört.

Bedarf an Begleitforschung

Während die Studie Chancen in der günstigeren und nachhaltigeren Herstellung von Produkten mit verbesserten Eigenschaften sieht, wird auch auf weiteren Forschungsbedarf hingewiesen. Da die additive Fertigung viele gesellschaftliche Bereiche berühre, sei insbesondere auch weitere Forschung zur Akzeptanz und Akzeptabilität Additiver Fertigung sowie eine begleitende Technikfolgenabschätzung notwendig.

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler empfehlen darüber hinaus, intuitiv handhabbare Software zu entwickeln, um den Nutzerkreis der Verfahren zu erweitern. Auch neue Qualitätsnormen und Prüfverfahren für die Produktsicherheit seien nötig. Zusätzlich müssten Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieure sowie Facharbeiterinnen und -arbeiter besser für den Umgang mit der neuen Technologie qualifiziert werden.

Bereits 2016 hatten die Akademien unter der Federführung von acatech eine Stellungnahme zur Additiven Fertigung herausgegeben, in der sie sich hauptsächlich auf die industrielle Produktion, Wertschöpfungsnetze und Geschäftsmodelle bezogen. (23.06.2020)

Bibliographische Angaben:

Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina, Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften, acatech – Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (Hg.)

Additive Fertigung. Entwicklungen, Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen. Halle (Saale) 2020, 89 S., ISBN: 978-3-8047-3636-8.

PDF-Download (Open Access)