Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Climate change: Carbon dioxide as a sustainable raw material

How sustainable are different approaches to use carbon dioxide as raw material instead of emitting it into the atmosphere? An ITAS team deals with this question in two projects funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).
Klimawandel: Kohlenstoffdioxid als nachhaltiger Rohstoff
The two projects want to avoid the emission of CO2 into the atmosphere and use it as a sustainable source of carbon instead. (Source: veeterzy/Unsplash)

High CO2 emissions are one of the main reasons for climate change. Around 90 percent result from the combustion of fossil fuels, for example in the energy sector and the industry. ITAS scientists want to improve this balance and utilize CO2 from industrial emissions as recyclable material. They pursue this goal together with their partners in two projects funded by the BMBF in the framework of the program “CO2 as a sustainable source of carbon – ways to an industrial use (CO2-WIN)“.

“Both projects aim at the photochemical recycling of CO2 into energetic and chemical value chains to reduce the impacts of climate change and the dependence from fossil fuels,” explains Andreas Patyk, project leader at ITAS. “The two projects pursue complementary approaches here to overcome the considerable obstacles to the industrial use of the basic concept, such as increasing the total yield and selectivity.“ 

In the CO2SimO project, the researchers develop a novel photoelectrochemical cell that can produce the important energy carrier methane as well as hydrogen peroxide as a valuable oxidant instead of the interfering oxygen.  The PRODIGY project avoids the formation of oxygen and enables the synthesis of higher products by adding suitable reactants to the photoreactor. ITAS is responsible for the R&D integrated sustainability assessments. To this end, the team assesses, among other things, environmental indicators, costs, and social aspects to provide the basis for the optimization of new processes. (04.05.2020)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Klimawandel: Kohlenstoffdioxid als nachhaltiger Rohstoff

Wie nachhaltig sind unterschiedliche Ansätze, Kohlendioxid aus Kraftwerken und Fabriken nicht in die Atmosphäre zu emittieren, sondern als Rohstoff zu nutzen? Mit dieser Frage beschäftigt sich ein Team des ITAS u.a. in zwei vom BMBF geförderten Projekten.
CO2 nicht in die Atmosphäre emittieren, sondern als nachhaltige Kohlenstoffquelle zu nutzen, ist Ziel der beiden Projekte. (Quelle: veeterzy / Unsplash)
CO2 nicht in die Atmosphäre emittieren, sondern als nachhaltige Kohlenstoffquelle zu nutzen, ist Ziel der beiden Projekte. (Quelle: veeterzy / Unsplash)

Die hohen CO2-Emissionen sind eine der Hauptursachen des Klimawandels. Rund 90 Prozent stammen aus der Verbrennung fossiler Rohstoffe, etwa in Energiewirtschaft und Industrie. Diese Bilanz zu verbessern und CO2 aus Industrieabgasen als Wertstoff nutzbar machen, ist Ziel von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern des ITAS gemeinsam mit Partnern in zwei Projekten, die das Bundesforschungsministerium im Programm „CO2 als nachhaltige Kohlenstoffquelle – Wege zur industriellen Nutzung (CO2-WIN)“ fördert.

„Ziel beider Projekte ist die photochemische Rückführung von CO2 in energetische und chemische Wertschöpfungsketten und damit, die Folgen des Klimawandels und die Abhängigkeit von fossilen Rohstoffen zu reduzieren“, sagt Andreas Patyk, Projektleiter am ITAS. „Dabei verfolgen die beiden Projekte komplementäre Ansätze, die erheblichen Hürden zur industriellen Nutzung des Grundkonzeptes zu überwinden, wie die Erhöhung von Gesamtausbeute und Selektivität.“ 

Im Projekt CO2SimO entwickeln die Forscherinnen und Forscher eine neuartige photoelektrochemische Zelle, die den wichtigen Energieträger Methan sowie Wasserstoffperoxid als wertvolles Oxidationsmittel an Stelle des störenden Sauerstoffs herstellen kann. Das Projekt PRODIGY vermeidet die Bildung von Sauerstoff und ermöglicht die Synthese höherer Produkte durch Zugabe von geeigneten Reaktionspartnern in den Photoreaktor. Das ITAS ist für die F&E-integrierten Nachhaltigkeitsbewertungen verantwortlich. Dafür prüft das Team unter anderem Umweltindikatoren, Kosten sowie soziale Aspekte und schafft damit die Grundlage für die Optimierung der neuen Prozesse. (04.05.2020)

Weiterführende Informationen: