Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

New TATuP issue on “Cybersecurity”

Modern societies depend on digital infrastructures and have to defend themselves against cyberattacks. The Special Topic of the current TATuP issue deals with the possibilities and risks of the employed technologies.
TATuP 1/2020 „Cybersicherheit“
TATuP 1/2020 “Cybersecurity”

The monetary costs that incur annually around the globe due to cyberattacks are constantly increasing. They almost correspond to the public budgets of entire states. Cyberattacks affect individuals, companies, public institutions, authorities, and governments alike. They affect an infrastructure that is vital for the functioning of modern societies.

Cybersecurity is essential, but guaranteeing it can lead to conflicts of interest. “Technologies for the creation of security and resilience of this infrastructure should therefore be subject to technology assessment,” explain the guest editors of TATuP 1/2020 “Cybersecurity. Threat, vulnerability, values, and damage.”

From autonomous vehicles to water supply

Since cybersecurity plays a vital role in the most different sectors of life and economy, this variety is also reflected in the articles of the current issue.

One article is dedicated to cybersecurity in the transformation of the energy system and the question how the resilience of digital energy systems can be improved. Another contribution analyzes the security of increasingly digitalized urban water management. The automotive industry is also considered, since the transition to e-mobility and (semi-)autonomous driving increases the focus on cybersecurity.

Interview: Science and policy advice

Societal transformation processes present politics with complex challenges too. Ernst Dieter Rossmann, Chairman of the Committee on Education, Research, and Technology Assessment at the German Bundestag, talks in the interview about the demands on technology assessment, its role in democratic systems and the practice of scientific policy advice at the Office of Technology Assessment at the German Bundestag (TAB).

Also in the current TATuP: A pedagogical evaluation of chances and limitations of digitalization of classes, reviews, conference proceedings, and news from the TA community. (30.03.2020)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Neue TATuP-Ausgabe „Cybersicherheit“

Moderne Gesellschaften hängen an digitalen Infrastrukturen und müssen sich gegen Cyberattacken wehren. Welche Möglichkeiten und Risiken die eingesetzten Technologien mit sich bringen, beschäftigt die Autorinnen und Autoren des aktuellen TATuP-Themas.
TATuP 1/2020 „Cybersicherheit“
TATuP 1/2020 „Cybersicherheit“

Die monetären Kosten, die jährlich rund um den Globus durch Cyberattacken entstehen, wachsen stetig. Sie bewegen sich in der Dimension öffentlicher Haushalte ganzer Staaten. Cyberattacken treffen Individuen, Unternehmen, öffentliche Einrichtungen, Behörden und Regierungen gleichermaßen. Sie treffen eine Infrastruktur, ohne die moderne Gesellschaften kaum mehr funktionieren.

Cybersicherheit ist essentiell, doch sie zu garantieren, kann zu Zielkonflikten führen. „Die Technologien zur Herstellung von Sicherheit und Resilienz dieser Infrastruktur sollten daher Gegenstand der Technikfolgenabschätzung sein“, so die Gastherausgeber von TATuP 1/2020 „Cybersicherheit. Bedrohung, Verwundbarkeit, Werte und Schaden“.

Von autonomen Fahrzeugen bis zur Wasserversorgung

Da Cybersicherheit in unterschiedlichsten Lebens- und Wirtschaftsbereichen eine zentrale Rolle spielt, spiegelt sich diese Vielfalt auch in den Beiträgen der aktuellen Ausgabe.

So widmet sich ein Artikel der Cybersicherheit bei der Transformation des Energiesystems und der Frage, wie die Resilienz von digitalisierten Energiesystemen erhöht werden kann. Ein weiterer Beitrag analysiert die Sicherheit der zunehmend digitalisierten Siedlungswasserwirtschaft. Auch die Fahrzeugindustrie wird behandelt. Hier gerät mit dem Umstieg auf E-Mobilität und (teil-)autonomes Fahren Cybersicherheit verstärkt in den Fokus.

Interview: Wissenschaft und politische Beratung

Gesellschaftliche Transformationsprozesse stellen auch die Politik vor komplexe Herausforderungen. Ernst Dieter Rossmann, Vorsitzender des Ausschusses für Bildung, Forschung und Technikfolgenabschätzung im Deutschen Bundestag, spricht im Interview unter anderem über die Ansprüche an Technikfolgenabschätzung, ihre Rolle in demokratischen Systemen und die Praxis der wissenschaftlichen Politikberatung am Büro für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung beim Deutschen Bundestag (TAB).

Außerdem in der neuen TATuP: eine pädagogische Bewertung der Chancen und Limitierungen der Digitalisierung von Unterricht, Rezensionen, Tagungsberichte und Neuigkeiten aus der TA-Szene. (30.03.2020)

Weiterführende Links: