Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Technology monitoring: Preventing extremism

What is the potential of new IT and communication technologies with regard to radicalization processes? In the BMBF project MOTRA, ITAS deals with innovation dynamics and examines their side effects and ethical aspects.
Logo of the BMBF-project MOTRA
Logo of the BMBF-project MOTRA

Violent groups and extremists rely on modern technologies to network effectively. As a partner in the project “Monitoring System and Transfer Platform Radicalization” (MOTRA), ITAS identifies and examines technical tools that can be used for this purpose. The aim of the overall project is to analyze radicalization processes, to network governmental and non-governmental actors, and to strengthen preventive work in Germany.

ITAS identifies development potentials and trends in new IT and communication technologies. “In our monitoring, we also take into account innovation dynamics that arise when security authorities and potential criminals use digital technologies. In particular, we reflect on possible side effects and ethical aspects of surveillance,” says Armin Grunwald, head of ITAS. MOTRA is coordinated by the Federal Criminal Police Office (Bundeskriminalamt, BKA) and funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research as part of the “Research for Civil Security” program. Also involved are Universität Hamburg, the WZB Berlin Social Science Center, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, the Centre for Criminology (KrimZ), and the Berghof Foundation. (02.03.2020)

Further information:

  • MOTRA website of the Federal Criminal Police Office (only in German)

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Technologiemonitoring: Extremismus vorbeugen

Welche Potenziale haben neue IT- und Kommunikationstechnologien im Hinblick auf Radikalisierungsprozesse? Im BMBF-Projekt MOTRA beschäftigt sich das ITAS mit Innovationsdynamiken und reflektiert deren Nebenfolgen und ethische Aspekte.
Logo des BMBF-Projekts MOTRA
Logo des BMBF-Projekts MOTRA

Gewaltbereite Gruppierungen und Extremisten setzen auf moderne Technologien, um sich effektiv zu vernetzen. Welche technischen Hilfsmittel das sein können, analysiert das ITAS als ein Partner im Projekt „Monitoringsystem und Transferplattform Radikalisierung“ (MOTRA). Ziel des Gesamtvorhabens ist, Radikalisierungsprozesse zu analysieren, staatliche und nichtstaatliche Akteure miteinander zu vernetzen und die praktische Präventionsarbeit in Deutschland zu stärken.

Das ITAS ermittelt dabei Entwicklungspotenziale und -trends neuer IT- und Kommunikationstechnologien. „Bei dem Monitoring nehmen wir auch Innovationsdynamiken in den Blick, die entstehen, wenn Sicherheitsbehörden und potenzielle Straftäter auf digitale Technologien zurückgreifen. Dabei reflektieren wir vor allem mögliche Nebenfolgen und ethische Aspekte der Überwachung“, sagt Armin Grunwald, der Leiter des ITAS. Das Bundeskriminalamt (BKA) koordiniert MOTRA, das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung fördert das Vorhaben im Rahmen des Programms ‚Forschung für die zivile Sicherheit’“. Beteiligt sind außerdem die Universität Hamburg, das Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung, die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München sowie die Kriminologische Zentralstelle (KrimZ) und die Berghof Foundation. (02.03.2020)

Weitere Informationen: