Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

New TATuP issue on Energy Futures

How can the transformation to a climate-neutral energy system succeed? The contributions in TATuP 3/2019 address the question of how to generate and communicate knowledge about possible future paths.
TATuP 3/2019 “Energy futures. Knowing, advising, and shaping”
TATuP 3/2019 “Energy futures. Knowing, advising, and shaping”

Addressing climate change requires a transformation of our energy supply toward a system without fossil fuels. This goal is clear, but there are many ways to achieve it. Moreover, the necessary transformation is not limited to solving technical and economic issues. The population’s approval and the participation of a wide range of social actors are crucial to its success. The task of science is to describe possible paths for the future and to introduce this knowledge into public discourse.

Empirical and conceptual approaches

The TATuP special topic “Energy futures. Knowing, advising, and shaping” brings together innovative approaches that address this task empirically and conceptually – from the perspectives of inter- and transdisciplinary future research, technology assessment, and systems analysis. The editors of the special topic are Dirk Scheer, Lisa Nabitz, and Witold-Roger Poganietz from the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology.

Interview: Privacy in the digital context

What are the implications of the increasing use of “smart” devices for the privacy of their users? Bernadette Kamleitner, head of the Institute for Marketing and Consumer Research at the Vienna University of Economics and Business, talks about this issue in the TATuP interview. With her expertise as psychologist and economist she argues that privacy should be understood as a complex relationship not only of technical but also of social aspects.

Also in the winter issue of TATuP: a research article on the political aspects of technology assessment, a review of the TA19 conference in Vienna, as well as other conference reports, reviews, and news from the community. (18.12.2019)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Neue TATuP-Ausgabe „Energiezukünfte“

Wie kann die Transformation zu einem klimaneutralen Energiesystem gelingen? Einen eindeutigen Weg gibt es nicht. Die Beiträge in TATuP 3/2019 gehen daher der Frage nach, wie Wissen über mögliche Zukunftspfade generiert und vermittelt werden kann.
TATuP 3/2019 „Energiezukünfte. Wissen, beraten, gestalten“
TATuP 3/2019 „Energiezukünfte. Wissen, beraten, gestalten“

Der Klimawandel erfordert eine Umgestaltung unserer Energieversorgung hin zu einem System ohne fossile Energieträger. Während dieses Ziel klar ist, sind die Wege dorthin vielfältig. Die notwendige Transformation beschränkt sich zudem nicht auf die Lösung technischer und ökonomischer Fragen. Entscheidend für ihr Gelingen ist die Zustimmung der Bevölkerung sowie das Mitwirken vielfältiger gesellschaftlicher Akteure. Hierfür mögliche Zukunftspfade zu beschreiben und dieses Wissen in den öffentlichen Diskurs einzubringen, ist Aufgabe der Wissenschaft.

Empirische und konzeptionelle Ansätze

Das TATuP-Thema „Energiezukünfte. Wissen, beraten, gestalten“ versammelt innovative Ansätze, die dieser Aufgabe empirisch wie konzeptionell begegnen –  aus Perspektive der inter- und transdisziplinären Zukunftsforschung, der Technikfolgenabschätzung und der Systemanalyse. Herausgebende des Themas sind Dirk Scheer, Lisa Nabitz und Witold-Roger Poganietz vom Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie.

Interview: Privatsphäre im digitalen Kontext

Welche Folgen hat die zunehmende Verwendung „intelligenter“ Geräte im Hinblick auf die Privatsphäre ihrer Nutzerinnen und Nutzer? Darüber spricht im TATuP-Interview Bernadette Kamleitner, Leiterin des Institute for Marketing and Consumer Research an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien. Die Psychologin und Wirtschaftswissenschaftlerin plädiert dafür, Privatsphäre als komplexen Zusammenhang nicht nur technischer, sondern auch sozialer Aspekte zu verstehen.

Außerdem in der Winterausgabe von TATuP: ein Forschungsbeitrag über das Politische in der Technikfolgenabschätzung, ein Rückblick auf die TA19-Konferenz in Wien sowie weitere Tagungsberichte, Rezensionen und Neuigkeiten aus der Community. (18.12.2019)

Weiterführende Links: