Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Guest Professor from the US

At the beginning of the new year ITAS welcomes philosopher Carl Mitcham in Karlsruhe. The Professor Emeritus is internationally renowned for his work in the field of philosophy of technology. He will give a public talk on 13 January 2020.
Portrait of Carl Mitcham (Source: Wikimedia)
Philosopher Carl Mitcham will visit ITAS in January 2020. (Source: Wikimedia)

Carl Mitcham will visit ITAS from 8 to 17 January 2020. He is a Professor Emeritus in the Department of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences at the Colorado School of Mines in Golden (Colorado, USA) and an international Professor of Philosophy of Technology at Renmin University of China in Beijing. At ITAS, the Research Group “Philosophy of Engineering, Technology Assessment and Science” (PhilETAS) will host Carl Mitcham.

Internationally renowned for his work on the philosophy of engineering, energy ethics and philosophy of technology, he will participate in a series of events (workshops, seminars and lectures). On Monday, 13 January 2020, at 2 p.m. he will give a public talk entitled "Science Policy and Its Discontents: Some American Perspectives”. The event will take place at ITAS in the Colloquium Room (room 418). For further information on Carl Mitcham’s activities at ITAS, please contact Giovanni Frigo. (17.12.2019)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Gastprofessor aus den USA

Zum Beginn des neuen Jahrs begrüßt das ITAS den Philosophen Carl Mitcham. Der emeritierte Professor ist für seine Arbeit im Feld der Technikphilosophie international bekannt. Am 13. Januar 2020 hält er einen öffentlichen Vortrag in Karlsruhe.
Portrait des Philosophen Carl Mitcham (Quelle: Wikimedia)
Der Philosoph Carl Mitcham wird das ITAS im Januar 2020 besuchen. (Quelle: Wikimedia)

Carl Mitcham wird vom 8. bis 17. Januar 2020 am ITAS zu Gast sein. Er ist emeritierter Professor am Department of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences an der Colorado School of Mines in Golden (Colorado, USA). Darüber hinaus ist Mitcham Professor für Technikphilosophie an der Renmin-Universität in Peking (China). Ans ITAS kommt Carl Mitcham auf Einladung der Forschungsgruppe „Philosophie der Technik, Technikfolgenabschätzung und Wissenschaft”.

Der für seine Arbeit im Bereich der Ingenieurs- und Technikphilosophie sowie der Energieethik international anerkannte Wissenschaftler wird während seines Besuchs an einer Reihe von Veranstaltungen teilnehmen, darunter Workshops, Seminare und Vorlesungen. Am Montag, den 13. Januar 2020, um 14:00 Uhr wird er unter dem Titel „Science Policy and Its Discontents: Some American Perspectives” einen öffentlichen Vortrag halten. Die Veranstaltung findet im ITAS statt (Raum 418). Für weitere Informationen zu Carl Mitchams Aktivitäten am ITAS wenden Sie sich gerne an Giovanni Frigo. (17.12.2019)

Weiterführende Informationen:

  • Webseite von Carl Mitcham an der Colorado School of Mines