Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

International TA network introduced in Bratislava

The European TA community has launched “global TA” to cross-link beyond the continent’s borders. The network was now presented at the 4th European TA Conference in Bratislava. Initiators and members shared their motivations and visions in a video.
Quelle: Screenshots aus Video von Thomas Beyer/ITA
The initiators of “globalTA”: Miltos Ladikas, Michael Nentwich und Julia Hahn.
Quelle: Screenshots aus Video von Thomas Beyer/ITA
Member of the network: Peta Ashworth, TA expert from the University of Queensland, Australia. (Source: Screenshots from the video by Thomas Beyer/ITA)

The new network globalTA introduced itself at the 4th European Technology Assessment (TA) Conference, which was held in Bratislava in November. Its initiators explained the importance of international links and contacts to master the global challenges in technology assessment in a video by the Austrian Institute of Technology Assessment (ITA). Members of the network from Europe, Asia, and Australia described their experiences and hopes for globalTA.

Cooperation across political systems and regimes

According to Michael Nentwich from ITA, the topic is interesting because of numerous cultural differences, but also for of strategic reasons: “It is going to be a learning experience aiming at the exchange of expert knowledge to make TA known at a high level and beyond the different methods. We want to find out – maybe, at the beginning, in an experimental way – if it is possible at all to carry out TA on a global level across various cultures, political systems, regimes, by applying different practices and approaches.”

For ITAS colleague Miltos Ladikas this expansion is a logical step: “The experience gained within Europe with different cultures, different nations, even different value systems was really important to think beyond the European borders. When it comes to science and technology, we have to act in concert. Therefore, technology assessment at a global level is a natural development.”

There are no national answers anymore

Peta Ashworth from the University of Queensland, Australia, emphasized the importance of reflecting global topics together: “Whenever technological solutions are suggested – whether it’s in the field of energy or climate or for the ageing population – there are a lot of challenges. A global TA network provides the opportunity to exchange views and opinions with those researchers who share the same problems.”

Russia was represented by Natalia Cherepanova from Tomsk Polytech University. She underlined the uniqueness of every single participating country and wants to find joint answers: “A major advantage of belonging to the global TA network is not only the opportunity to ask technical questions and discuss limitations and boundaries, but also to find answers with the help of our colleagues.” (18.11.2019)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Internationales TA-Netzwerk stellt sich vor

Mit „globalTA“ will sich Europas TA-Szene über die Grenzen des Kontinents hinaus vernetzen. Bei der 4. Europäischen TA-Konferenz in Bratislava hat sich das Netzwerk vorgestellt. In einem Videobeitrag berichten Initiatoren und erste Mitglieder.
Quelle: Screenshots aus Video von Thomas Beyer/ITA
Die Initiatoren von „globalTA“: Miltos Ladikas, Michael Nentwich und Julia Hahn.
Quelle: Screenshots aus Video von Thomas Beyer/ITA
Mitglied im Netzwerk: Peta Ashworth, TA-Expertin an der University of Queensland, Australien. (Quelle: Screenshots aus Video von Thomas Bayer/ITA)

Bei der 4. Europäischen Konferenz für Technikfolgenabschätzung (TA), die im November in Bratislava stattfand, präsentierte sich das neue Netzwerk globalTA erstmalig der Community. Wie wichtig internationale Verbindungen in der Technikfolgenabschätzung sind, um globale Herausforderungen zu meistern, erklären die Initiatoren in einem Videobeitrag des österreichischen Instituts für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung (ITA). Auch erste Mitglieder des Netzwerks aus Europa, Asien und Australien kommen darin zu Wort.

Zusammenarbeit über politische Systeme und Regime hinaus

Gerade die vielen kulturellen aber auch strategischen Unterschiede machen es für Michael Nentwich vom ITA interessant: „Es wird eine Lernerfahrung mit dem Ziel, dass sich Fachleute austauschen, damit TA auf einem hohen Niveau und über die verschiedenen Methoden hinaus verbreitet wird. Wir wollen – vielleicht am Anfang auf experimentelle Weise – herausfinden, ob es überhaupt möglich ist, TA auf globaler Ebene über verschiedene Kulturen, politische Systeme, Regime, aber auch Praktiken und Ansätze hinweg durchzuführen.“

Für Miltos Ladikas vom ITAS ist die Erweiterung ein logischer Schritt: „Die Erfahrung, die wir in Europa in verschiedenen Kulturen, verschiedenen Nationen, ja sogar Wertesystemen gemacht haben, war wirklich wichtig, um über die europäischen Grenzen hinaus zu denken. Wir müssen zusammenarbeiten, wenn es um Wissenschaft und Technologie geht. Technikfolgenabschätzung auf globaler Ebene ist daher eine natürliche Entwicklung.“

Es gibt keine nationalen Antworten mehr

Peta Ashworth von der University of Queensland in Australien unterstrich die Wichtigkeit, globale Themen gemeinsam zu durchdenken: „Wenn technologische Lösungen vorgeschlagen werden – ob im Energie- oder Klimabereich oder für eine immer älter werdende Bevölkerung – gibt es viele Herausforderungen. Ein globales TA-Netzwerk bietet die Möglichkeit, sich mit den verschiedenen Forscherinnen und Forschern auszutauschen, die gemeinsame Probleme teilen.“

Auch Russland war durch Natalia Cherepanova von der Tomsk Polytech University vertreten. Sie strich die Einzigartigkeit jedes einzelnen Teilnehmerlandes hervor und will gemeinsame Antworten finden: „Ein großer Vorteil der Zugehörigkeit zum globalen TA-Netzwerk ist die Möglichkeit, nicht nur technologische Fragen zu stellen und Einschränkungen zu diskutieren, sondern auch mit Hilfe unserer Kolleginnen und Kollegen Antworten zu finden.“ (18.11.2019)

Weitere Informationen: