Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Energy as a Sociotechnical Problem

The new book edited by ITAS scientists presents the ongoing transformation of energy supply as a multi-dimensional process. It focuses on the thesis that analytical dimensions interact with each other in shaping the energy future.
Cover Energy as a Sociotechnical Problem
Source: Routledge

“Energy as a Sociotechnical Problem” presents the ongoing transformation of the energy complex as a multidimensional process. The editors from ITAS, Christian Büscher, Jens Schippl, and Patrick Sumpf, emphasize sociotechnical problems in three analytical dimensions, which interact in shaping the energy future in Germany, Europe, and worldwide:

  • In the control dimension, contributing authors examine how control can be maintained despite increasing complexity and uncertainty, e.g., in power grid operations or on energy markets.
  • In the change dimension, the authors explore if and how change is possible despite the need for stable orientation, e.g., regarding discourses, real-world labs, and learning.
  • Finally, in the action dimension, the authors analyse how the ability to act on a permanent basis is sustained despite opaqueness and ignorance, exemplified by the work on trust, capabilities, or individual motives.

Drawing on contributions from engineering, economics, philosophy, political science, psychology, and sociology, the book assembles a range of classic and current themes including innovation, resilience, institutional economics, design, or education. It addresses students and scholars of energy transitions, energy science, and environmental social science as well as practitioners working in the field of energy policy. (27.11.2018)

Bibliographic data:

Büscher, Christian; Schippl, Jens; Sumpf, Patrick (Eds.)
Energy as a Sociotechnical Problem. An Interdisciplinary Perspective on Control, Change, and Action in Energy Transitions. Oxford: Routledge 2018, ISBN 9781138735828
Further information

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Energy as a Sociotechnical Problem

Das von ITAS-Wissenschaftlern herausgegebene Buch beschreibt die aktuelle Transformation der Energieversorgung als multidimensionalen Prozess. Im Mittelpunkt steht die These, dass analytische Dimensionen bei der Gestaltung der Energiezukunft interagieren.
Cover Energy as a Sociotechnical Problem
Quelle: Routledge

„Energy as a Sociotechnical Problem“ beschreibt die gegenwärtige Transformation des Energiekomplexes als einen multidimensionalen Prozess. Die Herausgeber Christian Büscher, Jens Schippl und Patrick Sumpf vom ITAS konzentrieren sich auf soziotechnische Probleme in drei analytischen Dimensionen, die sich bei der Gestaltung der Energiezukunft in Deutschland, Europa und weltweit gegenseitig beeinflussen:

  • In der Steuerungsdimension untersuchen die mitwirkenden Autoren, wie trotz zunehmender Komplexität und Unsicherheit, z.B. beim Betrieb von Stromnetzen oder auf den Energiemärkten, eine Steuerung aufrechterhalten werden kann.
  • In der Veränderungsdimension erforschen die Autoren, ob und wie trotz der Notwendigkeit einer stabilen Orientierung, z.B. in Bezug auf Diskurse, Reallabore und Lernen, Veränderungen möglich sind.
  • In der Handlungsdimension analysieren die Autoren schließlich am Beispiel von Vertrauen, Fähigkeiten und individuellen Motiven, wie trotz Intransparenz und Unwissenheit dauerhafte Handlungsfähigkeit gewährleistet werden kann.

Mit Beiträgen aus der Ingenieurwissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Philosophie, Politikwissenschaft, Psychologie und Soziologie greift das Buch eine Reihe klassischer und aktueller Themen auf, wie Innovation, Resilienz, Institutionenökonomik, Design und Bildung. Es richtet sich an Studierende und Forschende in den Bereichen Energiewende, Energiewissenschaft und Umweltsozialwissenschaften sowie an Praktikerinnen und Praktiker, die in der Energiepolitik tätig sind. (27.11.2018)

Bibliographische Angaben:

Büscher, Christian; Schippl, Jens; Sumpf, Patrick (Hrsg.)
Energy as a Sociotechnical Problem. An Interdisciplinary Perspective on Control, Change, and Action in Energy Transitions. Oxford: Routledge 2018, ISBN 9781138735828
Verlagsinformationen