Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

ITAS Yearbook 2018 published

Scarcity of resources, converging infrastructures, digital transformation, and long-term governance: The first purely English Yearbook of the institute highlights selected topics and projects related to major societal issues.
ITAS Yearbook 2018 Cover
ITAS Yearbook 2018 Mindmap
The Yearbook´s mindmap shows a selection of recent fields of research at ITAS linked to major problem areas.

Thinking in problems is at the core of the work at the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS). The Yearbook 2018 reflects this premise and concentrates on recent challenges for modern society:   

  • the problem of limited resources combined with climate change, which raises questions of sustainable ways of life, i.e., sufficiency, substitution, efficiency, and of finding a balance between ecology, economics, and human needs;
  • the ongoing process of digitalization and digital transformation, promising more efficiency and productivity as well as new business cases and applications, which poses problems of the allocation of data, information, and knowledge;
  • the emergence of large systems, networks of systems, and networks of networks (webs), which push forward the convergence of vital infrastructures such as energy, transportation, mobility, the world wide web, industrial production, etc.;
  • the long-term governance required to tackle these issues which itself is confronted with short cycles of annual balance sheets in economy and election periods in politics. 

Those major societal issues require an international endeavor. Over the last years, ITAS has therefore participated in numerous European projects and expanded cooperation from the US to Russia, China, India, and Australia. Additionally the institute welcomes a variety of international scholars and (postgraduate) students every year.

This is reason enough to present ITAS for the first time with a purely English yearbook. The publication highlights selected topics and projects that are at the core of ITAS’ current research agenda, which is continuously challenged to develop new creative methods and approaches. (25.10.2018)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

„ITAS Yearbook 2018“ erschienen

Knappe Ressourcen, konvergierende Infrastrukturen, digitale Transformation und langfristige Steuerung des technischen Wandels: Das erste englischsprachige ITAS-Jahrbuch beleuchtet Aktivitäten und Projekte zu zentralen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen.
ITAS Yearbook 2018 Cover
ITAS Yearbook 2018 Mindmap
Die Mindmap des Jahrbuchs zeigt eine Auswahl aktueller Forschungsaktivitäten des Instituts im Kontext großer gesellschaftlicher Probleme.

Das Denken in Problemen steht im Mittelpunkt der Arbeit des Instituts für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS). Das Jahrbuch 2018 reflektiert diese Prämisse und konzentriert sich auf aktuelle Herausforderungen für die moderne Gesellschaft:

  • das Problem begrenzter Ressourcen in Verbindung mit dem Klimawandel, das Fragen nach einer nachhaltigen Lebensweise aufwirft –  d.h. nach Suffizienz, Substitution, Effizienz und nach einem Gleichgewicht zwischen Ökologie, Ökonomie und menschlichen Bedürfnissen;
  • der fortschreitende Prozess der Digitalisierung und digitalen Transformation, der mehr Effizienz und Produktivität sowie neue Geschäftsmodelle und Anwendungen verspricht, was zu Problemen beim Zugang zu Daten, Informationen und Wissen führt;
  • die Entstehung großer Systemen, von Netzwerken von Systemen und Netzwerken von Netzwerken, die die Konvergenz lebenswichtiger Infrastrukturen wie Energie, Verkehr, Mobilität, World Wide Web und industrieller Produktion vorantreiben;
  • die langfristige Governance, die erforderlich ist, um diese Probleme anzugehen, die aber ihrerseits mit kurzen Zyklen von Jahresbilanzen in der Wirtschaft und Wahlperioden in der Politik konfrontiert sind.

Diese großen gesellschaftlichen Probleme erfordern internationale Anstrengungen. In den letzten Jahren hat das ITAS daher an zahlreichen europäischen Projekten teilgenommen und seine Kooperationen von den USA über Russland und bis nach China, Indien und Australien ausgeweitet. Zusätzlich begrüßt das Institut jedes Jahr eine Vielzahl internationaler Wissenschaftler, Doktoranden und Studierenden.

Grund genug, ITAS erstmals mit einem rein englischen Jahrbuch zu präsentieren. Die Publikation beleuchtet ausgewählte Themen und Projekte, die im Zentrum der aktuellen Forschungsagenda des Instituts stehen –  eine Agenda, die ständig gefordert ist, neue kreative Methoden und Ansätze zu entwickeln. (25.10.2018)

Weiterführende Links: