Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Guidance for the energy transition

The ENavi Kopernikus project combines the expertise of more than 80 institutions. An “inventory” of their diverse inter- and transdisciplinary methods and models will help jointly identify sustainable development paths for the future energy system.
Wortwolke Kopernikus-Projekt ENavi

The energy system with its electricity, heat, and mobility sectors is complex, highly networked, and dynamic. For a successful energy transition, it is therefore important to be able to estimate potential developments as well as direct and indirect consequences of interventions as precisely as possible in advance. Only in this way can a socially acceptable, ecologically sustainable, and technically advanced and secure transformation take place which is politically legitimate and economically efficient.

This is where the integrated impact assessment of the ENavi Kopernikus project comes in. The project aims to generate important orientation knowledge for shaping the energy transition. Its roadsmap and navigation approach integrates disciplinary and social knowledge in order to demonstrate plausible development paths of the energy system and to simulate and estimate the effects of political decisions.

Inventory of ENavi models, methods, and interventions

The ENavi process involves more than 80 institutions in 195 subprojects. Flexibly combining their diverse expertise is a key strength of the project. ITAS and its project partners have now systematically recorded the consortium’s entire content and methodological expertise. The database not only includes information on quantitative and qualitative models and methods, but also on the interventions in the energy system analyzed in the project, for example, through state control or the actions of decentralized actors.

The inventory helps bundling competencies and structuring the complex ENavi process. Depending on the research question in the key topics of electricity, heat, and mobility, researchers can now network various qualitative and quantitative methods in the best possible way. This is necessary to address social, economic, and health consequences as well as legal, political, and technical implications and prerequisites for transformation, for example, in the areas of fossil fuel phase-out or decarbonization of the transport system.

Short report and profiles

The inventory includes a short report and a total of 90 profiles of models, methods, and interventions, which are now available for download.

In addition to ITAS, the Institute of Energy Economics and Rational Energy Use (IER), the German Aerospace Center (DLR), the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ), and the Center for Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies (ZIRIUS) were involved in creating the inventory. (24.09.2018)

 

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Orientierung für die Energiewende

Das Kopernikus-Projekt ENavi verbindet die Expertise von mehr als 80 Institutionen. Eine „Inventur“ ihrer vielfältigen inter- und transdisziplinären Methoden soll helfen, gemeinsam tragfähige Entwicklungspfade für das künftige Energiesystem aufzuzeigen.
Wortwolke Kopernikus-Projekt ENavi

Das Energiesystem mit seinen Sektoren Strom, Wärme und Mobilität ist komplex, stark vernetzt und dynamisch. Für eine erfolgreiche Energiewende ist es daher wichtig, mögliche Entwicklungen sowie direkte und indirekte Folgen von Interventionen möglichst genau im Voraus abschätzen zu können. Nur so kann eine sozial verträgliche, ökologisch tragfähige und technisch ausgereifte Transformation stattfinden, die politisch legitim und wirtschaftlich effektiv ist.

Hier setzt die Folgenabschätzung des Kopernikus-Projekts ENavi an. Das Projekt soll wichtiges Orientierungswissen für die Gestaltung der Energiewende generieren. Sein Roadsmap-und-Navigation-Ansatz integriert dafür disziplinäre und soziale Wissensbestände, um plausible Entwicklungspfade des Energiesystems aufzuzeigen und die Wirkungen von politischen Entscheidungen zu simulieren und abzuschätzen.

Inventur der ENavi-Modelle, Methoden und Interventionen

An dem ENavi-Prozess sind mehr als 80 Institutionen in 195 Teilprojekten beteiligt. Ihre vielfältige Expertise flexibel zu kombinieren, ist eine wesentliche Stärke des Projekts. Sämtliche inhaltliche und methodische Kompetenzen des Konsortiums wurden nun vom ITAS und seinen Projektpartnern systematisch erfasst. Die Datenbasis umfasst nicht nur Informationen zu quantitativen und qualitativen Modellen und Methoden, sondern auch zu den im Projekt analysierten Interventionen im Energiesystem, etwa durch staatliche Steuerung oder Handlungen dezentraler Akteure.

Die Bestandsaufnahme hilft, Kompetenzen zu bündeln und den komplexen ENavi-Prozess zu strukturieren. Je nach Forschungsfrage in den Schwerpunktthemen Strom, Wärme und Mobilität können die Forschenden nun verschiedene qualitative und quantitative Methoden bestmöglich miteinander vernetzen. Dies ist nötig, um beispielsweise bei den Themen Kohleausstieg oder Dekarbonisierung des Verkehrssystems sowohl gesellschaftliche, wirtschaftliche und gesundheitliche als auch, rechtliche, politische und technische Folgen und Voraussetzungen für eine Transformation zusammen in den Blick zu nehmen.

Kurzbericht und Steckbriefe

Die Bestandsaufnahme umfasst einen Kurzbericht und insgesamt 90 Steckbriefe zu Modellen, Methoden und Interventionen, die nun zum Download bereitstehen.

An der Erstellung waren neben dem ITAS, das Institut für Energiewirtschaft und Rationelle Energieanwendung (IER), das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), das Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ) und das Zentrum für Interdisziplinäre Risiko - und Innovationsforschung (ZIRIUS) beteiligt. (24.09.2018)

Weitere Informationen