Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Scientific services for the EU Parliament

In June 2018, ITAS and its partners in the European Technology Assessment Group (ETAG) have been again selected as contractors for carrying out TA studies tailored towards the needs of the members of the European Parliament.
news_2018_027_ETAG

It is since 2005 that ITAS as the leading partner of ETAG, a consortium of European institutions active in the field of TA, has been providing scientific consultancy services on behalf of the European Parliament’s STOA Panel. ETAG in this period carried out around thirty TA studies on a broad scope of subjects such as Human Enhancement, Electronic Democracy, Cloud Computing, Assistive Technologies or Eco-efficient Transport. 

ITAS regards it to be an expression of STOA’s appreciation of those services delivered that after a new call for tenders ETAG has just been selected again as contractor of the European Parliament. The new period of 3 to 4 years started in June 2018. ETAG has been successful in applying for all five fields of expertise that have been subject of the call: 

  • Eco-efficient Transport and Modern Energy Solutions,
  • Sustainable Management of Natural Resources, 
  • Potentials and Challenges of the Information Society,
  • Health and New Technologies in the Life Sciences, 
  • and Science Policy, Communication and Global Networking.

STOA is made up by a panel of 15 MEPs representing different standing committees of the European Parliament. The Panel – established in 1985 – is the Parliament’s body responsible for identifying new developments in Science and Technology that might demand policy action. The Panel decides on setting up short to long-term TA studies meant to supply independent, up to date and scientifically sound knowledge to its members. (05.09.2018)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Wissenschaftliche Dienstleistungen für das EU-Parlament

Im Juni 2018 wurden ITAS und seine Partner in der European Technology Assessment Group (ETAG) erneut als Auftragnehmer für die Durchführung von TA-Studien ausgewählt, die auf die Bedürfnisse der Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments zugeschnitten sind.
Logo European Parliament

ITAS als federführender Partner der ETAG, einem Konsortium europäischer TA-Einrichtungen, erbringt seit 2005 wissenschaftliche Beratungsleistungen im Auftrag des STOA-Panels des Europäischen Parlaments. Die ETAG hat in diesem Zeitraum rund 30 TA-Studien zu einem breiten Spektrum an Themen wie Human Enhancement, elektronische Demokratie, Cloud Computing, assistive Technologien und öko-effizienter Transport durchgeführt.

ITAS sieht es als Ausdruck der Wertschätzung der erbrachten Leistungen, dass ETAG nach einem neuen Ausschreibungsverfahren von STOA erneut als Auftragnehmer des Europäischen Parlaments ausgewählt wurde. Die neue Laufzeit von drei bis vier Jahren begann im Juni 2018. ETAG bewarb sich erfolgreich in allen fünf Themenfeldern, die Gegenstand der Ausschreibung waren:

  • Öko-effizienter Transport und moderne Energielösungen
  • Nachhaltiges Management natürlicher Ressourcen
  • Potenziale und Herausforderungen der Informationsgesellschaft
  • Gesundheit und neue Technologien in den Lebenswissenschaften
  • Wissenschaftspolitik, Kommunikation und globale Vernetzung

Das 1985 gegründete STOA-Panel besteht aus einer Gruppe von 15 Abgeordneten, die verschiedene ständige Ausschüsse des Europäischen Parlaments vertreten. STOA ist zuständig für die Identifizierung neuer Entwicklungen in Wissenschaft und Technologie, die politische Maßnahmen erfordern könnten. Das Panel entscheidet über die Durchführung kurz- bis langfristiger TA-Studien, die seinen Mitgliedern unabhängiges, aktuelles und wissenschaftlich fundiertes Wissen bereitstellen sollen. (05.09.2018)

Weiterführende Links: