Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Degrowth and technology

Together with European degrowth experts, Linda Nierling from ITAS has edited a special issue of the Journal of Cleaner Production - the first in-depth collection of the role of technology on the path to a viable and convivial future.
Illustration
(Illustrated by Monika Rygálová and Kristýna Krejc ová, after a sketch by Christian Kerschner)

It is often assumed – partly also in the sustainability debate – that more technology leads to more economic growth, which in turn leads to more welfare and sustainability. With economic growth becoming ever more difficult and sustainability challenges ever more pressing, alternative post-growth and Degrowth discourses have gained momentum in the last decade. However, the role of technology on the path towards a ‘Degrowth Society’ is far from clear and subject to intense debate between enthusiasts and sceptics of technology.

This special issue of “Degrowth and Technology” published in the Journal of Cleaner Production presents the first overview of the diverse perspectives on the role and use of technology in the Degrowth community.

The contributions of this special issue co-edited by Linda Nierling suggest four research fields for a future “Degrowth and Technology” research agenda:

  1. theoretical and conceptual approaches,
  2. case studies of innovative socio-technical arrangements,
  3. evaluation of technologies according to their feasibility, viability, appropriateness and conviviality and
  4. and governance approaches.

Across these four research priorities, topics such as energy, agency and democratisation of technology play a central role in the debate.

Finally, the editors hope that this special issue can provide a sound basis for future research in this field. They also want to contribute to the development of a shared socio-technical imaginary of the role of technology in a post-growth society. (17.08.2018)

Further link:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Postwachstum und Technik

Gemeinsam mit europäischen Degrowth-Experten hat Linda Nierling vom ITAS einen Schwerpunkt im Journal of Cleaner Production herausgegeben – die erste eingehende Analyse zur Rolle von Technologie auf dem Weg in eine lebenswerte und konviviale Zukunft.
Illustration
(Illustration von Monika Rygálová and Kristýna Krejc ová, nach einer Zeichnung von Christian Kerschner)

Oft wird – zum Teil auch in der Nachhaltigkeitsdebatte – unhinterfragt voraus gesetzt, dass mehr Technologie zu mehr Wirtschaftswachstum führt, was wiederum zu mehr Wohlstand und Nachhaltigkeit führt. Da jedoch die gesellschaftlichen Folgen des Wirtschaftswachstums immer problematischer und somit auch die Herausforderungen einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung immer dringlicher werden, haben alternative Postwachstums- und Degrowth-Diskurse in den letzten zehn Jahren stark an Dynamik gewonnen. Die Rolle von Technik auf dem Weg zu einer „Postwachstumsgesellschaft“ ist jedoch keineswegs eindeutig, sondern vielmehr Gegenstand intensiver Diskussionen zwischen Technikbefürworten und -skeptikern.

Das Sonderheft „Degrowth and Technology“ im Journal of Cleaner Production stellt die erste Zusammenschau der vielfältigen Perspektiven auf die Rolle und die Verwendung von Technik der Degrowth-Community dar.

Die Beiträge der von der ITAS-Wissenschaftlerin Linda Nierling mitherausgegebenen Special Issue legen vier Schwerpunkte für eine zukünftige Forschungsagenda im Bereich „Degrowth and Technology“- Forschungsagenda nahe:

  1. theoretische und konzeptionelle Ansätze,
  2. Fallstudien zu innovativen sozio-technischen Arrangements,
  3. Bewertung von Technologien nach ihrer Machbarkeit, Lebensfähigkeit, Angemessenheit und Konvivialität
  4. und Governance-Ansätze.

Über diese vier Forschungsschwerpunkte hinweg spielen Themen wie Energie, Agency und Demokratisierung von Technologie eine zentrale Rolle in der Debatte.

Die Herausgeberinnen und Herausgeber hoffen, dass der Schwerpunkt „Degrowth and Technology“ eine Grundlage für zukünftige Forschung in diesem Feld darstellen kann. Außerdem ist das Ziel, zur Entwicklung einer gemeinsamen sozio-technischen Vision zur Rolle von Technik in einer Postwachstumsgesellschaft beizutragen. (17.08.2018)

Weiterführender Link: