Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Cooperation with “FrauenAkademie”

ITAS is breaking new ground to involve Karlsruhe citizens in civil dialogue and in research and development of knowledge. Within a course on “algae” at VHS Karlsruhe (Karlsruhe adult education center), participants also visited laboratories of the KIT.
FrauenAkadmie besichtigt Algen-Forschungseinrichtungen des KIT
Discussing future applications of algae: participants of the FrauenAkademie of VHS Karlsruhe (Photo: Anja Eigenmann)

In several projects, scientists at ITAS are working on the use of microalgae for biomass production, as an alternative source of food, or for the production of climate-friendly fuels. Due to the visionary applications, ITAS offered the course in cooperation with Karin Müller from VHS Karlsruhe in the first semester of 2018 as a component of the VHS FrauenAkademie (women’s academy). The cooperation aims to promote civil dialogue and knowledge sharing.

Unlike common event formats, Christine Rösch and Max Roßmann as lecturers from ITAS not only gave insights into the issues, methodology, and results of algae research at KIT. Rather, the researchers aimed to actively involve citizens in the research and to integrate their knowledge as well as their expectations and critical remarks. The findings gained in this way will, among other things, be used to formulate guidelines for decision makers in politics and business.

The offer at VHS included a tour of the algae research facilities at the Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology (IHM) at KIT Campus North in mid-July 2018, which also provided an opportunity for exchange with scientists from the KIT microalgae platform. Mirco Katzenmeyer (IBLT-BVT) and Aude Silve (IHM) participated in the discussion. The concept was met with great enthusiasm by the public and researchers alike. It is planned to offer similar formats also on other topics in the future. (26.07.2018)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Kooperation mit „FrauenAkademie“

Das ITAS geht neue Wege, um Bürgerinnen in Karlsruhe am Bürgerdialog und an der Forschung und Erarbeitung von Wissen teilhaben zu lassen. Ein Kurs zum Forschungsfeld „Algen“ an der VHS Karlsruhe führte die Teilnehmerinnen auch in Labors des KIT.
FrauenAkadmie besichtigt Algen-Forschungseinrichtungen des KIT
Diskutieren über künftige Anwendungsbereiche von Algen: Teilnehmerinnen der FrauenAkademie der VHS Karlsruhe. (Foto: Anja Eigenmann)

Gleich in mehreren Projekten beschäftigen sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des ITAS mit dem Einsatz von Mikroalgen für die Gewinnung von Biomasse, als alternative Quelle für Nahrungsmittel oder zur Produktion klimafreundlicher Treibstoffe. Aufgrund seiner visionären Anwendungsmöglichkeiten wurde das Thema in Kooperation mit Karin Müller von der Volkshochschule Karlsruhe im ersten Semester 2018 als Baustein der FrauenAkademie der VHS angeboten. Mit der Zusammenarbeit möchte das ITAS den Bürgerdialog und Wissensaustausch fördern.

Im Gegensatz zu gängigen Veranstaltungsformaten gaben Christine Rösch und Max Roßmann als Dozenten vom ITAS nicht nur Einblicke in die Problemorientierung, Methodik und zu Ergebnissen der Algenforschung im KIT. Ziel der Forschenden war es vielmehr, die Bürgerinnen aktiv in die Forschung einzubeziehen und ihr Wissen sowie ihre Erwartungen und kritischen Anmerkungen aufzunehmen. Die so zusammengetragenen Erkenntnisse sollen unter anderem helfen, Orientierungshilfen für Entscheidungsträger in Politik und Wirtschaft zu formulieren.

Als Ergänzung zu dem Angebot in der VHS fand Mitte Juli 2018 eine Besichtigung der Algen-Forschungseinrichtungen am Institut für Höchstleistungsimpuls- und Mikrowellentechnik (IHM) am Campus Nord des KIT statt, die auch für einen Austausch mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern der KIT-Mikroalgenplattform genutzt wurde. Mirco Katzenmeyer (IBLT-BVT) und Aude Silve (IHM) beteiligten sich an der Diskussion. Das Konzept stieß bei Bürgerinnen und Forschenden auf große Begeisterung. Es ist angedacht zukünftig ähnliche Formate auch zu anderen Themen anzubieten. (26.07.2018)

Weiterführende Informationen: