Home  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Personal Sustainability

The micro-level is crucial for the sustainability transformation, argue Oliver Parodi and Kaidi Tamm from ITAS. The book edited by them therefore focuses on human aspects of sustainability, up to now widely disregarded by mainstream academia.
Cover Personal Sustainability
Bild: Routledge

Transition to sustainability is stuck and academic research has not resulted in desired change so far. A large void in sustainability research and the understanding of sustainable development is an important reason for this. The new book “Personal Sustainability – Exploring the Far Side of Sustainable Development”, edited by ITAS scientists Oliver Parodi and Kaidi Tamm seeks to address this void, opening up a cosmos of sustainable development that has so far been largely unexplored. Mainstream academic, economic and political sustainable development concepts and efforts draw on the macro level and tend to address external, collective and global processes. By contrast, the human, individual, intra- and inter-personal aspects on the micro level are often left unaddressed.

The authors therefore focus on subjective, mental, emotional, bodily, spiritual and cultural aspects, which in their view have been systematically ignored by academia. To establish this new field in sustainability research means to leave the common scientific paths and expand the horizon. Together with authors from cultural studies, philosophy, anthropology, psychology, sociology, psychiatry, aesthetics and economics, and supported by contributions from practitioners, this book portrays different approaches to personal sustainability and reflects on their potentials and pitfalls, paving the way to cultures of sustainability.

Personal Sustainability aims on researchers, students and practitioners in the field of sustainable development, as well as researchers from related scientific fields. (18.06.2018)

Bibliographic data:

Parodi, Oliver; Tamm, Kaidi (eds)

Personal Sustainability, Exploring the Far Side of Sustainable Development. Oxford: Routledge 2018, ISBN 978-1-13-806508-6, 224 pp.

Further Information

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Personale Nachhaltigkeit

Entscheidend für eine Nachhaltigkeitstransformation ist auch die Mikroebene, argumentieren Oliver Parodi und Kaidi Tamm vom ITAS. Das von ihnen herausgegebene Buch fokussiert daher bislang weitgehend vernachlässigte menschliche Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit.
news_2018_018_personal_sustainability
Bild: Routledge

Die Wende zur Nachhaltigkeit steckt fest und auch die wissenschaftliche Forschung hat bislang nicht den erhofften Wandel herbeigeführt. Ein wichtiger Grund hierfür ist eine große Lücke in der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung – und im Verständnis (nicht) nachhaltiger Entwicklung generell. Das von den ITAS-Wissenschaftlern Oliver Parodi und Kaidi Tamm herausgegebene Buch „Personal Sustainability – Exploring the Far Side of Sustainable Development“ versucht, diese Lücke zu adressieren und einen bisher weitgehend unerforschten Kosmos nachhaltiger Entwicklung zu erkunden. Etablierte wissenschaftliche, ökonomische und politische Konzepte und Bemühungen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung setzen auf der Makroebene an und thematisieren überwiegend externe, kollektive und globale Prozesse. Die menschlichen, individuellen, intra- und interpersonellen Aspekte auf der Mikroebene bleiben hingegen oft unberücksichtigt.

Die Autorinnen und Autoren konzentrieren sich daher auf subjektive, mentale, emotionale, körperliche, geistige und kulturelle Aspekte, die aus ihrer Sicht von der Wissenschaft – auch der Verfasstheit von Wissenschaft wegen – systematisch vernachlässigt wurden. Dieses neue Feld in der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung zu etablieren bedeutet, die ausgetretenen wissenschaftlichen Pfade zu verlassen und den Horizont zu erweitern. Gemeinsam mit Autoren aus Kulturwissenschaft, Philosophie, Anthropologie, Psychologie, Soziologie, Psychiatrie, Ästhetik und Ökonomie und unterstützt durch Beiträge von Praktikern stellt dieses Buch verschiedene Ansätze für persönliche Nachhaltigkeit vor und erläutert deren Potenziale und Fallstricke, um den Weg zu künftigen Kulturen der Nachhaltigkeit zu ebnen.

Personal Sustainability richtet sich an Forschende, Studierende und Praktiker im Bereich nachhaltiger Entwicklung sowie aus verwandten Wissenschaftsgebieten. (18.06.2018)

Bibliographische Angaben:

Parodi, Oliver; Tamm, Kaidi (Hg.)

Personal Sustainability, Exploring the Far Side of Sustainable Development. Oxford: Routledge 2018, ISBN 978-1-13-806508-6, 224 pp.

Weitere Informationen