Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Real-world lab symposium in Karlsruhe

Politics, science, and civil society summed up three years of real-world laboratory research in Baden-Württemberg and discussed the future of the transdisciplinary approach. Significantly involved: the Karlsruhe District Future and Urban Transition Lab.
Reallabor Symposium in Karlsruhe
Real-world lab symposium (photo: MWK)
Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer mit Oliver Parodi und Astrid Ley
Minister for Science Theresia Bauer (center) receives the position paper of the real-world lab teams from ITAS project leader Oliver Parodi and Astrid Ley from the University of Stuttgart (photo: MWK)
BaWü-Lab Messe
BaWü labs exhibition (photo: MWK)
Scientific Theater Freiburg
Freiburg Scientific Theatre (photo: MWK)

Since 2015, the Baden Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts (MWK) has supported a large number of real-world laboratories in Baden-Württemberg. Representatives of all 14 of these BaWü labs presented the results of their research on 27 April 2018 at Südwerk Karlsruhe. Among them was the Karlsruhe real-world lab, consisting of the two projects “District Future – Urban Lab” and “Urban Transition Lab 131”, which co-organized the event of the MWK.

The day started with a sustainability walk organized by the Karlsruhe School of Sustainability. Then, after a short welcome, the BaWü labs exhibition was opened. At the exhibition, those who were interested could visit the stands of the various real-world laboratories, exchange ideas with the scientists, examine exhibits, and thus get a whiff of the various real-world labs.

Insights into everyday life in the Karlsruhe real-world labs

Subsequently, Minister for Science Theresia Bauer, Karlsruhe Mayor Frank Mentrup, and KIT Vice President Thomas Hirth welcomed the guests. First research results were presented by the “ForReal” and “Basel” research teams, who had accompanied other project teams in their work. Oliver Parodi, heading Karlsruhe’s real-world laboratories, gave insights into everyday life in the real-world lab and presented the Minister for Science with a position paper prepared by all 14 BaWü labs, which includes recommendations for the future establishment and promotion of real-world labs. 


Uwe Schneidewind, President and Scientific Director of the Wuppertal Institute, then called on the real-world labs and their funding bodies to remain critical and curious. The scientific part of the event closed with a fishbowl discussion on the topic “Real-world lab research, quo vadis?” with participants from politics, science, and civil society.

The evening concluded with a performance by the Scientific Theater Freiburg artistically interpreting the practice and everyday life of real-world laboratories and a fire show in front of Südwerk. (05.06.2018)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Reallabor Symposium in Karlsruhe

Politik, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft resümierten drei Jahre Reallaborforschung in Baden-Württemberg und diskutierten über die Zukunft des transdisziplinären Ansatzes. Maßgeblich beteiligt: die Karlsruher Projekte Quartier Zukunft und Reallabor 131.
Reallabor Symposium in Karlsruhe (Foto: MWK)
Reallabor-Symposium (Foto: MWK)
Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer mit Oliver Parodi und Astrid Ley
Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer (Mitte) nimmt von ITAS-Projektleiter Oliver Parodi und Astrid Ley von der Universität Stuttgart das Positionspapier der Reallaborteams entgegen. (Foto: MWK)
BaWü-Lab Messe
BaWü-Lab Messe (Foto: MWK)
Scientific Theater Freiburg
Scientific Theater Freiburg (Foto: MWK)

Seit 2015 fördert das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst (MWK) vielfältige Reallabore in Baden-Württemberg. Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aller 14 dieser BaWü-Labs stellten am 27. April 2018 im Karlsruher Südwerk die Ergebnisse ihrer Forschung vor. Unter ihnen war auch das Karlsruher Reallabor, bestehend aus den beiden Projekten „Quartier Zukunft − Labor Stadt“ und „Reallabor 131: KIT findet Stadt“, das die Veranstaltung des MWK mitorganisierte.

Der Tag startete mit einem von der Karlsruher Schule der Nachhaltigkeit des KIT entwickelten Nachhaltigkeitsspaziergang, bevor nach einer kurzen Begrüßung die BaWü-Lab Messe eröffnet wurde. Auf der Messe konnten Interessierte die Stände der verschiedenen Reallabore besuchen, mit den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern in Austausch kommen, Exponate begutachten und so in die verschiedenen Reallabore „hineinschnuppern“.

Einblicke in Karlsruher Reallabor-Alltag

Anschließend begrüßten Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer, Karlsruhes Oberbürgermeister Frank Mentrup und KIT-Vizepräsident Thomas Hirth die Gäste. Erste Forschungsergebnisse präsentierten die Forschungsteams „ForReal“ und „Basel“, die die übrigen Projektteams bei ihrer Arbeit begleitet hatten. Oliver Parodi, der die Karlsruher Reallabore leitet, gab Einblicke in den Reallabor-Alltag und überreichte der Wissenschaftsministerin ein von allen 14 BaWü-Labs erarbeitetes Positionspapier (PDF), in dem Empfehlungen für die künftige Einrichtung und Förderung von Reallaboren festgehalten sind.

Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident und wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des Wuppertal Instituts, forderte im Anschluss die Reallabore und ihre Fördergeber auf, kritisch und neugierig zu bleiben. Den wissenschaftlichen Abschluss des Abends bildete eine Fishbowl-Diskussion, die die Frage „Reallabor, wohin gehst du?“ mit Politik, Wissenschaft und zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuren zum Thema hatte.

Seinen Ausklang fand die Veranstaltung mit der Darbietung des Scientific Theater Freiburg, die die Praxis und den Alltag von Reallaboren darstellerisch interpretierten, und mit einer Feuershow vor dem Südwerk. (05.06.2018)

Weiterführende Informationen: