Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Autonomous driving in the border triangle

Supported by EUCOR, a consortium of five universities in the border triangle of Germany, France, and Switzerland, an interdisciplinary seminar on cross-border issues of autonomous driving was held on 29 and 30 May at ITAS.
EUCOR Logo

The event, initiated by lawyers Sabine Gless and Wolfgang Wohlers of the University of Basel in cooperation with ITAS, was attended by students and lecturers of philosophy, computer science, and law from the Universities of Basel and Strasbourg and the KIT. The two-day EUCOR seminar “Autonomous driving in the border triangle” was supported by judges from the Federal Court of Justice in Karlsruhe.

The topics revolved around ethical and legal issues as well as their possible implementation in software. Appropriate to the context of EUCOR, the focus of attention was on cross-border issues: Under what conditions may autonomous vehicles pass the borders? And how best to deal with the different driving cultures, deviating national traffic rules, and constitutional provisions? It became clear that there are significant differences between the three countries involved, for example, with regard to the principles that may or should be followed in dilemma situations – and that therefore interdisciplinary and cross-border communication plays an important role in shaping this field of technology. (05.06.2018)

Weiterführende Links:

  • Website of the trinational university consortium EUCOR

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Autonomes Fahren im Dreiländereck

Gefördert durch EUCOR, den Zusammenschluss von fünf Universitäten im Dreiländereck Deutschland, Frankreich und Schweiz, fand am 29. und 30 Mai am ITAS ein interdisziplinäres Seminar zu den grenzüberschreitenden Fragen autonomen Fahrens statt.
EUCOR Logo

Initiiert von den Rechtswissenschaftlern Sabine Gless und Wolfgang Wohlers von der Universität Basel und unter Beteiligung des ITAS nahmen Studierende und Dozenten aus Philosophie, Informatik und Rechtswissenschaft der Universitäten Basel und Straßburg sowie des KIT teil. Unterstützt wurde das zweitägige EUCOR-Seminar "Autonomes Fahren im Dreiländereck" durch Richter vom Bundesgerichtshof in Karlsruhe.

Die Themen rankten sich um ethische und rechtliche Fragen sowie ihre mögliche Implementierung in Software. Passend zum EUCOR-Kontext standen grenzüberschreitende Fragen im Mittelpunkt: Unter welchen Voraussetzungen dürfen autonome Fahrzeuge die Grenzen passieren? Und wie geht man am besten mit der unterschiedlichen Fahrkultur, abweichenden nationalen Verkehrsregeln und Verfassungsbestimmungen um? Es zeigte sich, dass zwischen den drei beteiligten Staaten nicht unerhebliche Unterschiede bestehen, etwa in Bezug auf die Prinzipien, nach denen in Dilemma-Situationen abgewogen werden darf oder soll – und dass daher der interdisziplinären und grenzüberschreitenden Kommunikation erhebliche Bedeutung zur Gestaltung dieses Technikfeldes zukommt. (05.06.2018)

Weiterführende Links: