Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Bioeconomy in Baden-Württemberg

Researchers at ITAS have formulated recommendations for developing a bio-based economy in Baden-Württemberg, which are also relevant at national and EU level. Among other things, traditional pathways of biomass use should be strengthened.
Logo Bioökonomie BW

Over the past two years, an ITAS project team analyzed the transformation process from a crude oil-based to a bio-based economy. The focus was on the three Baden-Württemberg fields of activity biogas, lignocellulose (woody biomass), and microalgae. The aim of the activities in the project “Bioeconomy in Baden-Württemberg” was to sharpen the system view in the field of bioeconomy and to provide orientation for the further development of a bio-based economy that is aligned with the concept of sustainability. To this end, visions, goals, and expectations of the bioeconomy were analyzed, involved and affected players and their potential conflicts of interest were systematically recorded, and potential effects on the environment, society, and the economy were discussed. The ITAS research team also examined the current legal framework and its consequences for the bioeconomy.

New options for action

The researchers formulated 13 options for policy making in Baden-Württemberg, which are also relevant for bioeconomy policy at national and EU level. In particular, they point out the importance of understanding and developing the bioeconomy as an adaptive socio-technical system in order to respond to changing conditions. The key prerequisite for this is to establish continuous societal dialogue that takes up debates about the future shaping of agriculture and forestry. 

Another important finding is that many activities are taking place around new uses of biomass, while the innovation potentials of traditional usage paths and non-technical approaches have been poorly explored. For example, the recycling of bio-based products such as construction materials or everyday items made of bioplastics and interfaces to the circular economy have so far been insufficiently addressed. To ensure that the bioeconomy is aligned with the concept of sustainable development, formative framework conditions (e.g., in the area of agri-environmental law) should be improved in terms of sustainability, and options for regional policy making should be used. 

The results were discussed in February 2018 at a workshop with representatives from politics, civil society, and science . A comprehensive final report is available for download. (09.05.2018)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Bioökonomie in Baden-Württemberg

Zur Ausgestaltung einer bio-basierten Wirtschaft in Baden-Württemberg haben Forschende des ITAS Empfehlungen formuliert, die auch auf nationaler und EU-Ebene relevant sind. Unter anderem sollten traditionelle Nutzungspfade von Biomasse gestärkt werden.
Logo Bioökonomie BW

In den letzten beiden Jahren hat sich ein ITAS-Projektteam mit der Analyse des Transformationsprozesses von einer Erdöl-basierten zu einer bio-basierten Wirtschaft befasst. Der Fokus lag dabei auf den drei baden-württembergischen Aktivitätsfeldern Biogas, Lignozellulose (holzartige Biomasse) und Mikroalgen. Ziel der Aktivitäten im Projekt „Bioökonomie in Baden-Württemberg“ war es, die Systemsicht im Themenfeld Bioökonomie zu schärfen sowie Orientierung für die weitere Gestaltung einer bio-basierten Wirtschaft zu geben, die sich am Prinzip der Nachhaltigkeit ausrichtet. Dazu wurden Visionen, Ziele und Erwartungen zur Bioökonomie analysiert, beteiligte und betroffene Akteure und deren möglichen Interessenskonflikte systematisch erfasst sowie potentielle Auswirkungen auf Umwelt, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft diskutiert. Auch geltende rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen und deren Folgen für die Bioökonomie hat das Forscherteam am ITAS untersucht.

Neue Handlungsoptionen

Die Forschenden haben insgesamt 13 Handlungsoptionen für die Politikgestaltung in Baden-Württemberg formuliert, die auch für die Bioökonomie-Politik auf nationaler und EU-Ebene relevant sind. Besonders wichtig sei es, dass die Bioökonomie als lernfähiges sozio-technisches System verstanden und entwickelt wird, das Anpassungen an sich verändernde Rahmenbedingungen zulässt. Zentrale Voraussetzung dafür: Die Schaffung eines kontinuierlichen gesellschaftlichen Dialogs, der Debatten über die zukünftige Ausrichtung der Land- und Forstwirtschaft aufgreift.

Ein wichtiges Ergebnis ist zudem, dass viele Aktivitäten im Feld neuartiger Biomassenutzungen stattfinden, während die Innovationspotenziale traditioneller Nutzungspfade und nicht-technischer Ansätze wenig erschlossen sind. So würden beispielsweise stoffliche Weiternutzungen von bio-basierten Produkten wie Baumaterialien oder Alltagsgegenständen aus Biokunststoff und Schnittstellen zur Kreislaufwirtschaft bisher nur unzureichend behandelt. Um die Ausrichtung der Bioökonomie am Leitbild nachhaltiger Entwicklung zu gewährleisten, sollten gestaltende Rahmenbedingungen (z. B. im Bereich des Agrarumweltrechts) im Hinblick auf Nachhaltigkeit verbessert und Möglichkeiten regionaler Politikgestaltung genutzt werden.

Die Ergebnisse wurden im Februar 2018 auf einem Workshop mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Politik, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft diskutiert. Ein umfassender Endbericht steht zum Download zur Verfügung. (09.05.2018)

Weiterführende Informationen: