Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Research as a hobby

Counting birds and observing the stars are the most well-known forms of citizen science: ITAS researchers investigated in the TechnoCitizenScience (TCS) project how citizen science could look like in the context of technosciences.
Spektrometer in einem DIY Bio Workshop
DIY spectrometer in use during a DIYBio workshop (Photo: Claudia Brändle)
Maker Szene Werkstatt
A look into a public workshop of the maker scene (Photo: Irina Westermann/KIT)
Leuchtende Mikroalgen in einem DIY Bio Workshop
Illuminated by a smartphone: Microalgae farming during a DIYBio workshop (Photo: Claudia Brändle)

Citizen science wants to involve citizens in research and experimentation. Projects which observe and count birds, for example, can provide science with important data. However, TechnoCitizenScience does not only take place outdoors, but also at home or in public labs. “To investigate TCS, it is important for the researchers to actually be there, join in and get to know the scene”, says ITAS member Claudia Brändle [Link Mitarbeiterseite]. Between 2015 and 2017, Brändle and her colleagues attended several workshops for do-it-yourself biology (DIYBio) with a focus, among others, on microbiology, genetics, and synthetic biology.

In order to be able to conduct certain experiments, participants had to build their own special tools – here DIYBio is similar to the maker scene, another branch of the TCS movement which was explored by project colleagues at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). So-called makers specialize in constructing equipment and the further development of existing inventions. The BMBF supports the researchers’ task of exploring the participants’ motives and the function of TCS.

Additional benefit and obstacles

According to Brändle, it is difficult to assess to what extent TCS can be a serious alternative to established institutes; however, she is sure that this format is well-suited for science communication. However, to further spread this form of science communication, support from established institutions and politics is required. The situation is similar with society in terms of DIYBio: Many citizens are afraid of biological experiments, thinking of controversial fields of genetic engineering. DIYBio experiments do not have to be seen so negatively: Dealing with DIYBio can clear away citizens’ reservations and give them more confidence.

However, one has to be aware of the fact that not only laypersons carry out their research in the DIYBio movement. “The majority of the participants have a scientific background. Most of them come from physics and IT. The rather small share of biologist really surprised me”, says Brändle. It is also not possible to speak of a citizen science in the true sense of the word without restrictions. Most of the participants are students and scientists who want to experiment in other fields. (22.02.2018)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Forschung als Hobby

Vögel zählen und Sterne beobachten sind die bekanntesten Formen von Citizen Science: Wie Bürgerwissenschaft in den Technikwissenschaften aussehen kann, haben Forschende des ITAS im Projekt TechnoCitizenScience (TCS) untersucht.
Spektrometer in einem DIY Bio Workshop
Spektrometer Marke Eigenbau im Einsatz während eines DIYBio-Workshops. (Foto: Claudia Brändle)
Maker Szene Werkstatt
Einblick in eine öffentliche Werkstatt der Maker Szene. (Foto: Irina Westermann / KIT)
Leuchtende Mikroalgen in einem DIY Bio Workshop
Vom Smartphone erleuchtet: Mikroalgenzucht in einem DIYBio-Workshop. (Foto: Claudia Brändle)

Citizen Science will Bürgerinnen und Bürgern in das Forschen und Experimentieren einbinden. Projekte, bei denen beispielsweise Vögel beobachtet und gezählt werden, können der Wissenschaft wichtige Daten liefern. TechnoCitizenScience findet jedoch nicht in der Natur statt, sondern zu Hause oder in öffentlichen Laboren. „Um TCS zu erforschen, ist es wichtig als Forschende vor Ort dabei zu sein, mitzumachen und selbst die Szene zu erleben“, so Claudia Brändle vom ITAS. Zwischen 2015 und 2017 besuchten Brändle und Ihre Kollegen mehrere Workshops für Do-it-Yourself-Biologie (DIYBio), unter anderem mit Fokus auf Mikrobiologie, Genetik und synthetische Biologie.

Damit die Teilnehmenden bestimmte Experimente durchführen konnten, mussten sie spezielle Geräte bauen – damit ähnelt DIYBio der Maker Szene, einem weiteren Zweig der TCS Bewegung. Diese untersuchten Projekt-KollegInnen von der Technischen Universität München (TUM). Sogenannte Maker spezialisieren sich auf das Konstruieren von Gerätschaften und das Weiterentwickeln von schon vorhandenen Erfindungen. Das BMBF unterstützte die Forschenden in ihrem Vorhaben, die Beweggründe der Teilnehmenden und die Funktion von TCS herauszufinden.

Mehrwert und Hindernisse

Inwieweit TCS eine ernstzunehmende Alternative zu etablierten wissenschaftlichen Instituten sein kann, sei dabei schwierig abzuschätzen, so Brändle, sicher sei, dass sich dieses Format gut zur Wissenschaftskommunikation eigne. Um diese Form der Wissenschaftskommunikation weiterzuverbreiten brauche es aber die Unterstützung von Seiten etablierter Institutionen und der Politik. Diese zweifeln aber zuweilen an dem Sinn von TCS-Projekten oder haben sogar Bedenken. Ähnlich verhält es sich mit der Gesellschaft in Bezug auf DIYBio: Viele Bürgerinnen und Bürger haben Angst vor biologischen Experimenten, weil sie an umstrittene Bereiche der Gentechnik denken. DIYBio Experimente muss man dabei nicht so negativ sehen: Die Auseinandersetzung von Bürgern mit DIYBio kann auch Vorbehalte aus dem Weg schaffen und ihnen mehr Vertrauen geben.

Allerdings muss einem bewusst sein, dass keineswegs nur Laien in der DIYBio-Bewegung forschen. „Die meisten Teilnehmenden haben einen wissenschaftlichen Hintergrund. Der Großteil kommt aus der Physik und der Informatik. Der eher kleine Anteil an Biologinnen und Biologen hat mich aber überrascht“, sagt Brändle. Auch von einer Bürgerwissenschaft wie es Citizen Science eigentlich sein will, könne man nicht ohne Vorbehalte sprechen. Die meisten Teilnehmenden seien Studierende und Wissenschaftlerinnen, die auch auf anderen Feldern experimentieren wollen. (22.02.2018)

Weiterführende Informationen: