Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Conflicting goals of sustainability

In his doctoral thesis Marc Dusseldorp develops a completely new perspective on the way to deal with conflicting goals of sustainability. Instead of decision-making or weighing procedures the ITAS researcher focuses on a scenario-based assessment.
Zielkonflikte der Nachhaltigkeit
Source: J.B. Metzler

Sustainable development is a controversial concept – justifiably so, because the questions which are discussed in the respective debates are of fundamental importance for social coexistence. However, sustainability conflicts are not always an indicator for a fruitful dispute. This is true, for example, if sustainability goals are depicted as incompatible even though their incompatibility is not proven, or if sustainability decisions are understood as unsolvable by argumentative means, thus causing blocks to action.

With his doctoral thesis Marc Dusseldorp wants to contribute to a better understanding of sustainability conflicts and thus to a successful sustainability-oriented practice. His focus is on the analysis of the Integrative Concept of Sustainable Development which was developed at ITAS (short version as PDF). The ITAS scientist concentrates on an aspect which has so far been neglected in the existing works on the theory of sustainability and at the same time turns out to be a crucial factor for solving the problem of conflicting goals: the question whether sustainability norms have to be understood as principles (which can be traded off) or as rules (which cannot be traded off).

The result shows that actors should not understand and apply the concept of sustainability as a system of principles but as a system of rules. Dusseldorp ties the fact that a popular intuition is diametrically opposed to this result to an unfortunate series of events, which originate especially from an ambiguous terminology. Among other things, it has to be clearly differentiated between the assessment of political or technological measures (“Which contribution do renewable energies provide to a sustainable development?”) and assessments of the societal situation (“What is the state of sustainable development in Germany?”). In his thesis the ITAS scientist developed a multi-level procedure for the practice which is based on an approach where the measures to be assessed are embedded into sustainability scenarios. (31.03.2017)

Bibliographic data:

Dusseldorp, Marc
Zielkonflikte der Nachhaltigkeit. Zur Methodologie wissenschaftlicher Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung. Stuttgart: J.B. Metzler 2017
Information by the publishing house – Description dissertation project

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Zielkonflikte der Nachhaltigkeit

In seiner Dissertation entwickelt Marc Dusseldorp eine gänzlich neue Perspektive auf den Umgang mit Zielkonflikten der Nachhaltigkeit. Statt auf Entscheidungs- oder Abwägungsverfahren setzt der ITAS-Forscher auf eine Szenarien basierte Bewertung.
Zielkonflikte der Nachhaltigkeit
Quelle: J.B. Metzler

Nachhaltige Entwicklung ist ein konfliktträchtiger Begriff – zu Recht, denn die Fragen, die in den einschlägigen Debatten verhandelt werden, sind von grundlegender Bedeutung für das gesellschaftliche Zusammenleben. Nicht immer jedoch sind Konflikte um Nachhaltigkeit Zeichen einer fruchtbaren Auseinandersetzung. Dies gilt etwa dann, wenn Nachhaltigkeitsziele als unvereinbar dargestellt werden, obwohl ihre Unvereinbarkeit nicht erwiesen ist, oder wenn nachhaltigkeitsrelevante Entscheidungen als nicht mit argumentativen Mitteln lösbar verstanden werden und so Handlungsblockaden entstehen.

Mit seiner Dissertation möchte Marc Dusseldorp zu einem besseren Verständnis der Problematik von Nachhaltigkeitskonflikten und damit zu einer gelingenden nachhaltigkeitsorientierten Praxis beitragen. Sein Fokus liegt auf der Analyse des am ITAS entwickelten Integrativen Konzepts nachhaltiger Entwicklung (Kurzform als PDF). Dabei rückt der ITAS-Wissenschaftler eine Frage in den Mittelpunkt, die in den bisherigen Arbeiten zur Theorie der Nachhaltigkeit außen vor geblieben ist und die sich zugleich als entscheidend für die Lösung des Zielkonfliktproblems erweist: die Frage, ob Nachhaltigkeitsnormen als (abwägungsfähige) Prinzipien oder als (nicht abwägungsfähige) Regeln verstanden werden müssen.

Akteure, so das Ergebnis, sollten das Nachhaltigkeitsleitbild nicht als Prinzipien-, sondern als Regelsysteme verstehen und anwenden. Dass die gängige Intuition diesem Ergebnis diametral entgegensteht, führt Dusseldorp auf eine Verkettung von Missverständnissen zurück, die vor allem in einer mehrdeutigen Terminologie gründen. So muss zwischen der Bewertung politischer oder technischer Maßnahmen („Welchen Beitrag leisten regenerative Energien zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung?“) und Bewertungen des gesellschaftlichen Zustands („Wie ist es um die nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland bestellt?“) klar unterschieden werden. Für die Praxis entwickelt der ITAS-Wissenschaftler in seiner Arbeit ein mehrstufiges Verfahren, das auf der Einbettung der zu bewertenden Maßnahmen in Nachhaltigkeitsszenarien basiert. (31.03.2017)

Bibliographische Angaben

Dusseldorp, Marc
Zielkonflikte der Nachhaltigkeit. Zur Methodologie wissenschaftlicher Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung. Stuttgart: J.B. Metzler 2017
VerlagsinformationenBeschreibung Dissertationsprojekt