Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

STOA project on Additive Biomanufacturing

Customized, economic, exact – the possibilities of 3D printing seem to be promising for the biomedical sector too. ITAS coordinates a consortium to research the new technology on behalf of the European Parliament.
individual hand prosthesis made by a 3D printer
One of numerous bio AM applications: individual hand prosthesis made by a 3D printer. (Source pixabay / CC0 Public Domain)

The manufacturing of individual, preferably cost-efficient products gains increasing importance in the biomedical sector. Therefore the use of 3D printing (also known as additive manufacturing) could be especially promising in this sector. Possible fields of application do not only include biological implants like organs and tissue, but also nutrients, drugs, and substances as well as their respective transport mechanisms. Even the precision-fit production of medical equipment like surgical instruments and drill guides or even the printing of individual prosthesis, support frames, or exoskeletons are conceivable.

The numerous possible uses for additive manufacturing in biomedicine (bio AM) are the subject of a new project which ITAS conducts on behalf of the STOA panel of the European Parliament. International project partners are the Danish Board of Technology (DBT), the Institute of Technology Assessment at the Austrian Academy of Sciences (ITA), the Rathenau Instituut (RI), and Responsible Technology (RT).

Future trends and possible scenarios

Together with external experts, the scientists systematically analyze the state of technology of these applications and the related regulatory questions. Future trends are also in the focus, for example the special emphasis on socio-technological ideas like in science fiction and their possible use in the field of "human enhancement" – the improvement of human performance by intervening into the human body with technological means.

Based on this a 360° envisioning approach is carried out – also supported by external experts. It is part of a so-called foresight process and allows a more detailed study of selected bio AM applications. The process is completed with designs for future scenarios which should demonstrate possible impacts and the political challenges of the AM applications to the members of the European Parliament. (07.11.2016)

Further information

  • "Additive bio-manufacturing" project page at the ITAS web page
  • Website of the Panel for Science and Technology Options Assessment (STOA) of the European Parliament

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

STOA-Projekt zu „Additive Bio-Manufacturing”

Individuell, kostengünstig, passgenau – auch im biomedizinischen Bereich scheinen die Möglichkeiten des 3D-Drucks vielversprechend. Das ITAS koordiniert ein Konsortium, das die neue Technik jetzt im Auftrag des Europäischen Parlaments untersucht.
Handprothese aus dem 3D-Drucker
Eine von vielen bio-AM Anwendungen: individuelle Handprothese aus dem 3D-Drucker. (Quelle: pixabay / CC0 Public Domain)

Die Fertigung individueller, möglichst kostengünstiger Produkte gewinnt im biomedizinischen Bereich immer größere Bedeutung. Daher könnte der Einsatz von 3D-Druck-Verfahren (engl. Additive Manufacturing) gerade in diesem Sektor besonders aussichtsreich sein. Mögliche Anwendungen umfassen nicht nur biologische Implantate wie Organe und Gewebe, sondern auch Nährstoffe, Medikamente und Wirkstoffe sowie deren Transportmechanismen. Denkbar sind auch die passgenaue Fertigung von medizinischen Gerätschaften wie Operationsbesteck und Bohrerführungen bis hin zum Druck individueller Prothesen, Stützgerüste und Exoskelette.

Die vielfältigen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für Additive Manufacturing im biomedizinischen Bereich (bio-AM) sind Gegenstand eines neuen Projekts, das das ITAS im Auftrag des STOA Panels des Europäischen Parlaments durchführt. Internationale Projektpartner sind das Danish Board of Technology (DBT), das Institut für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (ITA), das Rathenau Instituut (RI) und Responsible Technology (RT).

Künftige Trends und mögliche Szenarien

Unter Einbeziehung externer Fachleute untersuchen die Forscherinnen und Forscher systematisch den Stand der Technik dieser Anwendungen und damit verbundene regulatorische Fragen. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auch auf zukünftigen Trends, unter anderem mit einem Fokus auf soziotechnischen Vorstellungen wie Science Fiction und möglichen Verwendungen im Bereich des Human Enhancement – der Leistungssteigerung bzw. „Verbesserung“ des Menschen mit technischen Mitteln.

Darauf aufbauend wird ebenfalls unter Einbeziehung externer Expertinnen und Experten ein 360°-Envisioning-Verfahren durchgeführt. Es ist Bestandteil eines so genannten Foresight-Prozesses und erlaubt vertiefende Studien zu ausgewählten bio-AM-Anwendungen. Den Abschluss bilden Entwürfe zukünftiger Szenarien, die den Mitgliedern des Europaparlaments mögliche Folgen und die politischen Herausforderungen der untersuchten AM-Anwendungen aufzeigen sollen. (08.11.2016)

Weiterführende Informationen