Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Sustainability in research institutions

The three major non-university research institutions in Germany are committed to taking a pioneering role in sustainability management. Their recently presented guidelines also bear the signature of ITAS.
Reflexionsrahmen für Forschen in gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung
The framework for reflection includes criteria for socially responsible research. (Source: BMBF)
Übergabe der Handreichung "Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement"
Handing over of the document: Federal Minister Johanna Wanka with (from left) Reimund Neugebauer (Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft), Otmar D. Wiestler (Helmholtz Association) and Matthias Kleiner (Leibniz Association). (Picture: Thomas Imo / photothek)

Research institutions are contributing to sustainable development not only by their scientific results. As key players in the innovation system, large employers and mainly publicly funded organizations, they have to face the challenge of how to fulfil their responsibility towards the environment, society and employees also in their own research and operational processes.

Against this backdrop, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, the Helmholtz Association and the Leibniz Association have recently submitted guidelines on sustainability management in non-university research institutions ("Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement in außeruniversitären Forschungsorganisationen") within the framework of the project "LeNa – Leitfaden Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement" (LeNa – Guide to Sustainability Management). In early October, the presidents of the three research institutions, Reimund Neugebauer, Otmar D. Wiestler and Matthias Kleiner, passed the document to Federal Research Minister Johanna Wanka.

Framework for reflection on socially responsible research

Jürgen Kopfmüller and Markus Winkelmann from ITAS were also centrally involved in the first comprehensive elaboration and specification of the theme. In their subproject, they developed criteria for socially responsible research. On the other hand, they looked for ways to incorporate these criteria in everyday research – from the individual level of the researchers up to the level of political and institutional framework.

The main results of this subproject were documented in "Reflexionsrahmen für Forschen in gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung" (Framework for Reflection on Socially Responsible Research). In addition to a thematic integration, it contains the eight criteria developed: ethics, integrative approach, interdisciplinarity, user orientation, reflection on impacts, transdisciplinarity, transparency, and dealing with complexity and uncertainty. Moreover, the reflection framework includes justifications and methodological explanations of the criteria, instructions for their application, and options for implementation and institutionalization at different levels of the science system. (07.11.2016)

Further information:

  • Homepage of the joint project on sustainability management in non-university research institutions (LeNa) (only in German)
  • Reflexionsrahmen für Forschen in gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung (PDF German)
  • BMBF press release on the handing over of the document (only in German)

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Nachhaltigkeit in Forschungseinrichtungen

Eine Vorreiterrolle beim Thema Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement zu übernehmen, ist das Ziel der drei größten außeruniversitären Forschungsorganisationen in Deutschland. Ihre jetzt vorgestellte Handreichung trägt auch die Handschrift des ITAS.
Reflexionsrahmen für Forschen in gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung
Der Reflexionsrahmen umfasst Kriterien für eine gesellschaftlich verantwortliche Forschung. (Quelle: BMBF)
Übergabe der Handreichung "Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement"
Übergabe der Handreichung: Ministerin Johanna Wanka mit (v.l.) Reimund Neugebauer (Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft), Otmar D. Wiestler (Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft) und Matthias Kleiner (Leibniz-Gemeinschaft). (Foto: Thomas Imo/photothek)

Nicht nur durch ihre wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse tragen Forschungseinrichtungen zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung bei. Als wesentliche Akteure im Innovationssystem, große Arbeitgeber und in der Hauptsache öffentlich finanzierte Organisationen müssen sie sich damit auseinandersetzen, wie sie ihrer Verantwortung gegenüber Umwelt, Gesellschaft und Mitarbeitenden auch in den eigenen Forschungs- und Betriebsprozessen gerecht werden können.

Vor diesem Hintergrund haben die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft nun im Rahmen des Projekts „LeNa – Leitfaden Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement“ eine Handreichung zum „Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement in außeruniversitären Forschungsorganisationen“ vorgelegt. Anfang Oktober wurde das Dokument von den Präsidenten der drei Forschungseinrichtungen, Reimund Neugebauer, Otmar D. Wiestler und Matthias Kleiner, an Bundesforschungsministerin Johanna Wanka übergeben.

Reflexionsrahmen für gesellschaftlich verantwortliches Forschen

An der ersten umfassenden Betrachtung und Konkretisierung des Themas waren auch Jürgen Kopfmüller und Markus Winkelmann vom ITAS an zentraler Stelle beteiligt. In ihrem Teilprojekt wurden zum einen Kriterien für eine gesellschaftlich verantwortliche Forschung entwickelt. Zum anderen suchten sie nach Wegen, wie diese Kriterien Eingang in den Forschungsalltag finden können – angefangen von der individuellen Ebene der Forschenden bis hin zur Ebene politischer und institutioneller Rahmenbedingungen.

Die wesentlichen Ergebnisse dieses Teilprojekts wurden in einem „Reflexionsrahmen für Forschen in gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung“ niedergelegt. Er enthält, neben einer thematischen Einordnung, die acht erarbeiteten Kriterien: Ethik, integrative Herangehensweise, Interdisziplinarität, Nutzerorientierung, Reflexion von Wirkungen, Transdisziplinarität, Transparenz sowie Umgang mit Komplexität und Unsicherheit. Darüber hinaus umfasst der Reflexionsrahmen Begründungen und methodische Erläuterungen zu den Kriterien, Anleitungen zu ihrer Anwendung sowie Optionen zur Umsetzung und Institutionalisierung für unterschiedliche Ebenen des Wissenschaftssystems. (07.11.2016)

Weitere Informationen:

  • Homepage des Verbundprojekts Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement für außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen (LeNa)
  • Reflexionsrahmen für Forschen in gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung (PDF)
  • Pressemitteilung des BMBF zur Übergabe der Handreichung