Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Hybrid regimes of knowledge. Sketch of a sociological field theory

In his new book, Stefan Böschen, researcher at ITAS, examines the transformation of knowledge relations. He recommends the introduction of new analytical tools to capture the changing structures.
Stefan Böschen, ITAS, Hybride Wissensregime
(Source: Nomos)

Established systems of knowledge are currently eroding, opening up new areas of ambiguity. These processes are evident, for example, in the distributed production of knowledge, in the advent of citizen science and transformative science. However, for all their differences, says the sociologist Stefan Böschen in his new book, these phenomena have a common basis: the world of the hierarchical order of knowledge with science as the undisputed center no longer applies unconditionally. At the same time, the importance of science for social problem solving is growing. In order to grasp the paradoxical forms of structural dissolution and reformation of knowledge relations, new analytical tools are needed, says the author.

In the first part of his book, Böschen breaks down knowledge relations as figurations of knowledge regimes, which he understands as social spaces of problem-oriented knowledge production. The continued articulation, definition and solution of problems, which promotes the development of knowledge regimes, are illustrated by two examples: the chemical regime and the biopatenting regime, which are analyzed from their historical roots to the present day.

In order to understand not only the formation of knowledge regimes, but also to be able to reconstruct the overall processes of the transformation of knowledge relations, Stefan Böschen outlines a sociological field theory in the second part of the monograph. According to this theory, important steps are to make the transformation of structures comprehensible as a continuous transformation of the conditions of social problem solving, on the one hand, and to consider the role of stakeholders and structures in such formations in a more balanced way, on the other hand.

Finally, the book outlines three major future research projects which are highly relevant to the further development of this field theory: the analysis of real labs, the study of epistemic regimes, and the reconstruction of historical constellations of the knowledge society. (24.10.2016)

Bibliographic information

Böschen, Stefan
Hybride Wissensregime. Skizze einer soziologischen Feldtheorie, Baden-Baden: Nomos 2016 (Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung, Vol. 13)
Publisher information

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Hybride Wissensregime. Skizze einer soziologischen Feldtheorie

Der ITAS-Wissenschaftler Stefan Böschen beschäftigt sich in seinem neuen Buch mit dem Wandel von Wissensverhältnissen. Er empfiehlt die Einführung neuer analytischer Werkzeuge, um die sich verändernden Strukturen zu erfassen.
Stefan Böschen, ITAS, Hybride Wissensregime
(Quelle: Nomos)

Gegenwärtig erodieren etablierte Ordnungen des Wissens und es entstehen neue Zonen der Uneindeutigkeit. Diese Prozesse zeigen sich etwa in der verteilten Produktion von Wissen, im Aufkommen von Citizen Science oder der Transformativen Wissenschaft. Bei allen Unterschieden, so der Soziologe Stefan Böschen in seinem neuen Buch, liege diesen Phänomenen jedoch etwas gemeinsam zu Grunde: Die Welt der hierarchischen Wissensordnung mit der Wissenschaft als unwidersprochenem Zentrum gilt nicht mehr voraussetzungslos. Zugleich aber wächst die Bedeutung von Wissenschaft für gesellschaftliches Problemlösen. Um die paradoxen Formen der Strukturauflösung und -neubildung von Wissensverhältnissen erfassen zu können bedarf es nach dem Autor neue analytische Werkzeuge.

Im ersten Teil seines Buchs schlüsselt Böschen die Wissensverhältnisse als Figurationen von Wissensregimen auf, die er als soziale Räume problemzentrierter Wissensproduktion versteht. Die fortlaufende Artikulation, Definition und Lösung von Problemen, welche die Entwicklung von Wissensregimen vorantreibt, illustriert Böschen an zwei Beispielen: Dem Chemie-Regime und dem Biopatent-Regime, die jeweils von ihren historischen Wurzeln bis in die Gegenwart analysiert werden.

Um nicht nur die Formierung von Wissensregimen zu verstehen, sondern die übergreifende Entwicklung des Wandels von Wissensverhältnissen rekonstruieren zu können, skizziert Stefan Böschen im zweiten Teil der Monografie eine soziologische Feldtheorie. Diese sieht entscheidende Weichenstellungen darin, zum einen den Wandel von Strukturen als kontinuierlicher Wandel von Rahmenbedingungen gesellschaftlicher Problemlösung erfassbar zu machen, zum anderen die Rolle von Akteuren und Strukturen bei solchen Formierungen ausgeglichener zu betrachten.

Den Band abschließend werden drei zentrale künftige Forschungsvorhaben umrissen, welche für die weitere Entwicklung dieser Feldtheorie von hoher Relevanz sind: die Analyse von Reallaboren, die Untersuchung epistemischer Regime sowie die Rekonstruktion ausgesuchter wissensgesellschaftlicher Konstellationen. (24.10.2016)

Bibliographische Informationen

Böschen, Stefan
Hybride Wissensregime. Skizze einer soziologischen Feldtheorie, Baden-Baden: Nomos 2016 (Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung, Band 13)
Verlagsinformationen