Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

ERA fellow from Slovakia visits ITAS

Strengthening the scientific relations between Germany and Slovakia in the field of TA and policy advice – to this end, ITAS welcomed Tomas Michalek from the Slovak Academy of Sciences for four weeks in Karlsruhe and Berlin.
Tomas Michalek und ITAS-Leiter Armin Grunwald
ERA fellow Tomas Michalek with head of institute Armin Grunwald …
Tomas Michalek am Büro für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung beim Deutschen Bundestag (TAB)
… and with colleagues from the Office of Technology Assessment at the German Bundestag (TAB) (Pictures: ITAS)

The European Research Area (ERA) Fellowships program aims to strengthen cooperation between German research organizations and partner institutions from the new EU member states, the so-called EU13 countries. After successfully applying for one of the fellowships funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), ITAS invited Tomas Michalek, research manager at the Slovak Academy of Sciences (SAS), for a one month stay at the institute.

At SAS in Bratislava, Michalek is project manager of an EU-funded Horizon 2020 project named CIMULACT (Citizens and Multi-Actor Consultation on Horizon 2020), which aims at engaging citizens in innovation and research agenda setting processes. He is also a member of a scientific platform at SAS aimed at establishing a policy advice institution in Slovakia. The plan is to create a unit at the Slovak Academy of Sciences that will also deal with technology assessment topics. To gain experience in this area, Tomas Michalek met with several ITAS researchers during his stay in Karlsruhe from September 12 to October 7. He was especially interested in the EU policy advice project on assistive technologies for the inclusion of people with disabilities and in the BMBF project on participation and innovation (PartInno).

Visit at TAB in Berlin

Against the backdrop of a forthcoming panel discussion in the Slovak parliament at the end of October 2016, organized by the Slovak Academy of Sciences, Michalek also met with TAB colleagues in Berlin to learn more about the particularities of parliamentary TA. On October 11, during a meeting with members of the German Parliament, he also had an opportunity to discuss the topic with Patricia Lips, chair of the Committee for Education, Research and Technology Assessment.

ITAS also benefited from the fellowship: "Tomas Michalek gave us profound insights into the Slovakian efforts to establish and institutionalize parliamentary policy advice in the field of technology assessment. Furthermore, his visit has laid the foundations for future cooperation, for example as partners in EU projects," concluded Constanze Scherz, who as deputy head of the institute was in charge of applying for the fellowship. (18.10.2016)

Further information

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

ERA Fellow aus der Slowakei besucht ITAS

Die wissenschaftlichen Beziehungen zwischen der Slowakei und Deutschland im Bereich TA und Politikberatung stärken – mit diesem Ziel verbrachte Tomas Michalek von der Slowakischen Akademie der Wissenschaften vier Wochen in Karlsruhe und Berlin.
Tomas Michalek und ITAS-Leiter Armin Grunwald
ERA-Fellow Tomas Michalek mit Institutsleiter Armin Grunwald …
Tomas Michalek am Büro für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung beim Deutschen Bundestag (TAB)
… und mit Kollegen vom Büro für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung beim Deutschen Bundestag. (Fotos: ITAS)

Das Fellowship Programm European Research Area (ERA) hat das Ziel, die Kooperation zwischen deutschen Forschungseinrichtungen und Partnerinstitutionen aus den neuen EU-Mitgliedsstaaten, den so genannten EU13 Staaten, zu stärken. Nach der erfolgreichen Bewerbung für eines der vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) finanzierten Stipendien lud das ITAS den slowakischen Wissenschaftsmanager Tomas Michalek zu einem einmonatigen Gastaufenthalt ein.

An der Slowakischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (SAS) in Bratislava arbeitet Michalek als Projektmanager des europäischen Horizon 2020-Projekts CIMULACT (Citizens and Multi-Actor Consultation on Horizon 2020), das Formen der Bürgerbeteiligung in Bezug auf die Formulierung der europäischen Innovations- und Forschungsagenda untersucht. Michalek ist Mitglied einer am SAS angesiedelten Plattform, mit dem Ziel eine institutionelle Politikberatung aufzubauen, die sich auch mit Fragen der Technikfolgenabschätzung beschäftigt. Um Erfahrungen in diesem Bereich zu sammeln, tauschte sich Tomas Michalek während seines Aufenthalts am ITAS vom 12. September bis 7. Oktober mit zahlreichen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern am ITAS aus, beispielsweise über das europäische Beratungsprojekt zum Thema Assistive Technologien für Menschen mit Behinderungen oder das BMBF-Projekt zu Partizipation und Innovation (PartInno).

Besuch beim TAB in Berlin

Vor dem Hintergrund einer von der SAS organisierten Podiumsdiskussion im Slowakischen Parlament Ende des Monats, traf sich Michalek auch mit Kollegen des Büros für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung im Deutschen Bundestag (TAB), um sich über die Besonderheiten parlamentarischer TA auszutauschen. Am 11. Oktober hatte er zudem die Möglichkeit, mit einer Gruppe von Bundestagsabgeordneten um die Vorsitzende des Ausschusses für Bildung, Forschung und Technikfolgenabschätzung, Patricia Lips, zu diskutieren.

Auch das ITAS konnte auf vielfältige Weise von dem Fellowship profitieren: „Tomas Michalek vermittelte uns vielfältige Einsichten in die slowakischen Anstrengungen, eine parlamentarische Politikberatung zu etablieren und zu institutionalisieren. Darüber hinaus ermöglichte uns sein Aufenthalt, die Basis für künftige Kooperationen zu legen, beispielsweise als Partner in EU-Projekten“, resümierte Constanze Scherz, die sich als stellvertretende Institutsleiterin erfolgreich um die Teilnahme des ITAS an dem Fellowship-Programm bemüht hatte. (18.10.2016)

Weiterführende Informationen: