Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Dissertation: Energy balance of microalgae biofuels

The production of biofuels from microalgae requires currently more energy than is stored in the fuel. Can future developments overcome this hurdle? Annika Weiss’ analysis of the correlation between energy input and output provides new evidence.
Dissertation Annika Weiss ITAS

Microalgae are discussed as feedstock for biofuels. In contrary to land plants, they do not compete with food production for fertile soil. However, the energy demand to produce biofuels from microalgae is currently higher than the energy stored in the fuel – the quotient of these values, the so called net energy ratio (NER) is above one, but should be smaller one for an effective fuel production.

Annika Weiss analyses in her dissertation how the yield depends on the cultivation energy. Both parameters determine the NER. For her analysis, the ITAS scientist investigated aerated flat plate photobioreactors as promising systems for outdoor cultivation and biomethane as biofuel since its production requires comparably low energy.

Her results show: the more biomass is produced, the more energy is required in relation to the biomass. In other words: the energy-efficiency of microalgae cultivation sinks with increasing yield. Due to this correlation a low NER can – in contrary to the prevalent assumption – not be achieved with maximum biomass yields. In the investigated case, a NER below one is not achieved despite assumed technology development and a good relation between energy input and yield.

Annika Weiss analysed in her dissertation seven other LCA studies which partially predict a NER below one. She found two reasons for a NER below one: not all energy-relevant processes are considered in the calculation and/or the relation between operation energy and yield is neglected. (14.10.2016)

Bibliographic data:

Weiss, Annika
Energy balance of microalgae biofuels (Dissertation). Darmstadt: Technische Universität Darmstadt 2016
full text

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Dissertation: Energiebilanz von Biotreibstoff aus Mikroalgen

Die Produktion von Biotreibstoff aus Mikroalgen benötigt derzeit mehr Energie als im Treibstoff gespeichert ist. Kann Technologieentwicklung dies ändern? Annika Weiss’ Analyse des Zusammenhangs zwischen Energieinput und -output liefert neue Erkenntnisse.
Dissertation Annika Weiss ITAS

Aus Mikroalgen kann Biotreibstoff hergestellt werden. Sie konkurrieren im Gegensatz zu Landpflanzen nicht mit der Nahrungsmittelproduktion um fruchtbaren Boden. Derzeit wird allerdings mehr Energie benötigt, um den Mikroalgen-Treibstoff zu produzieren, als in ihm enthalten ist. Der Quotient dieser beiden Werte, der sogenannte NER ist größer eins, für eine effektive Treibstoffproduktion müsste er kleiner eins sein.

Annika Weiss untersucht in ihrer Dissertation, in welcher Weise der Biomasse-Ertrag von der Kultivierungsenergie abhängt. Beide Werte bestimmen maßgeblich den NER. Für ihre Analyse hat die ITAS-Wissenschaftlerin begaste flache Photobioreaktoren als vielversprechende Systeme für die Freilandkultivierung und Biomethan als Treibstoff untersucht, dessen Produktion vergleichsweise wenig Energie benötigt.

Ihre Ergebnisse zeigen: Je mehr Biomasse erzeugt wird, desto mehr Energie wird im Verhältnis dazu benötigt. In anderen Worten: die Energieeffizienz der Algenkultivierung sinkt mit steigendem Ertrag. Aufgrund dieses Zusammenhangs kann – im Gegensatz zur bisher gängigen Meinung – ein niedriger NER nicht mit maximalen Erträgen erreicht werden. Im untersuchten Fall wird selbst unter Berücksichtigung von Technologieentwicklungen und bei einem guten Verhältnis von Energieinput und Ertrag, kein NER unter eins erreicht.

Annika Weiss analysierte in ihrer Arbeit zudem sieben bestehende Studien, die teilweise einen NER unter eins in Aussicht stellen. Sie zeigt zwei Ursachen für einen NER unter eins: entweder werden nicht alle energierelevanten Prozesse berücksichtigt und/oder der Zusammenhang zwischen Kultivierungsenergie und Ertrag wird vernachlässigt. (14.10.2016)

Bibliographische Angaben:

Weiss, Annika
Energy balance of microalgae biofuels (Dissertation). Darmstadt: Technische Universität Darmstadt 2016
Volltext